Learn More Learn More Learn More Shop now Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
10
Sleeping Giants: Themis Files Book 1
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:A$12.99

on 12 January 2017
Very engaging read with an initial hook that keeps you glued to the page. A young girl falls down a hole in the woods and lands on a giant metal hand. Years later she is the scientists charged with learning more about the mysterious artefact, and tracking down similar pieces across the world.
I was surprised by the format of the novel, where every chapter is essentially some written record or transcript of an interview. But I have to say it worked out very well, both as a way to give info dumps about the science fiction portion of the story, but also to elicit the thoughts and introspections of the main characters.
I look forward to the sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2017
very well done.

i enjoyed the interview style of story telling. i imagine that might not work for some. perhaps i would've avoided it if i had known beforehand but I'm glad i gave this one a shot. the characters were all very sharp with engaging dialogue. things moved along quickly.

nothing overly sweeping or profound has happened yet, but much has been learned and i look forward to more in book 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2016
Intriguing, fantastic idea, well-paced story, the mystery of the find is held over for along time but gives you a little bit more each chapter. The 'interview' style of the book gets you to the guts of the story and seems to cut out a lot of extra stuff you probably didn't want to read about anyway, so it moves along at a steady pace. Easy to read and fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 September 2016
I liked this book very much and spent time between reading and the audio version. Hoping to see the characters fleshed out a little more in book two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2018
Clever format and inventive take on the sci-fi novel, including some genuinely shocking and intriguing moments. Some of the dialogue is really interesting. I raced through it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2018
Solid and rapid character development.
I enjoy the alternative writing style of linked interview reports.
A few twists along the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2017
I got to say that the layout and writing style took a bit to get used to but by the end i can't wait for the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2016
Great premise, the interview style made it a quick read without losing too much character development and I can't wait for the next instalment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2017
A young girl falls into a sinkhole; when she is rescued, it is from a deep hole with a giant-sized hand in a room of huge wallpanels of a mysterious substance, which display strange glowing symbols. She grows up to become a highly-trained physicist — but her mind never escapes the mystery of the ancient buried artifact. As an adult with an advanced degree, she is tasked with studying the object; she discovers that there are matching giant body parts distributed all over the earth, which can be assembled into a robot-like “body” driven by a “control room” located in the torso.

This debut novel consists solely of people relating the details of what has occurred in their presence and their thoughts about those events. It's mainly told through interview transcripts, with some personal journal entries — but that seems to work pretty well. It’s a fast, enjoyable read, with some interesting worldbuilding. The ending is clearly a setup for the next book in the series, but I enjoyed it enough not to mind that, and will definitely be picking up the second book, Waking Gods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 28 August 2016
This is easily going to be one of the top 5 books of 2016.
With its clever ‘Interview’ style, and somewhat mysterious main character, to the awe inspiring Giant Hand that only gets more awe inspiring as the story goes on, this is one of the best ‘We are not alone’ stories I have read.
I am going to try and do this review without giving too many spoilers away, which might be difficult, so if there are any parts with Spoilers, they will be clearly marked in a section with a heading ***SPOILERS**** and an ending ***END SPOILERS*** so you can dodge that part.
The story starts with a little girl falling into a pit and finding a giant hand. From there it leaps forward several years, and falls into this fast paced Interview style of book. The interviews are conducted by the same man, who is on a mission to work out what is going on. It’s difficult to give you more without spoilers sorry.
Needless to say, the story itself is exceptionally well written. The interviews themselves are incredibly clever, giving you pieces of the story, but not all of it, based on different characters. As you hear the different interviews, you can slowly (or quickly in some cases) piece together what is/has occurred. This is where the story is so clever, in that the Interviewer asks the questions that you would like to hear, sometimes getting the answer you want, and sometimes not, because it's not known, it's left to your imagination, or you don’t need to know right now.
Because of the nature of this book, the characters needed to be good, and they are better than good, they are exceptional. I can’t really go into each of the characters without giving away spoilers (see next section).
However, I can say, that the characters had all the qualities you would want for this type of story. There is the appropriate amount of humour, sarcasm and the like sort of emotional responses to situations. The Interviewer is probably one of the best characters I have read in a Sci-Fi story for some time, with all the correct amounts of arrogance, that air of authority that says he has the power to do what he will and there is nothing you can do about it, but at the same time, he is completely cool, calm and collected at all times, never out of control in any situation. He is always in front, and the information he is gathering is simply to keep him there. This character is brilliant.

****SPOILERS*****
The other characters in the story are just as good. There is Rose Franklin, the young girl who found the hand, and is now a Physicist and a part of the team working on studying the artefact. Rose is the project leader, and often comes across as determined, strong, but very soft as well, caring of her subordinates. She is an intelligent character.
One of my favourite characters of this entire book is Kara Resnik. Kara is a helicopter pilot with an attitude. She is somewhat acerbic, sarcastic, and less than friendly most of the time. However, this is a front if you can get past it. And that is how clever these characters are. They are multi-layered, with in-depth personalities.
There are two other major characters, Vincent Couture a linguist, and Ryan Mitchell, a Soldier. These two are involved with the project and have a major impact on the story at several levels. Their stories are utterly fascinating, and again, so multi-layered that it shows the skill that the Author has.
******END SPOILERS******

The Characters in this story are easily the best part of this story. Each character in this story is utterly brilliant, and as already stated, is a multi-layered cleverly developed piece of the plot that you only see towards the end.
This is a wonderfully intelligent, and very creative piece of story telling, giving a new twist on the ‘we are not alone’ genre. This should not be missed by anyone who loves their Sci-Fi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Dark Matter
A$12.99
Only Human: Themis Files Book 3
A$12.99
American War
A$12.99

Need customer service? Click here