Learn More Learn More Learn More Shop now Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn more Learn More Learn More

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
11

on 12 January 2017
Very engaging read with an initial hook that keeps you glued to the page. A young girl falls down a hole in the woods and lands on a giant metal hand. Years later she is the scientists charged with learning more about the mysterious artefact, and tracking down similar pieces across the world.
I was surprised by the format of the novel, where every chapter is essentially some written record or transcript of an interview. But I have to say it worked out very well, both as a way to give info dumps about the science fiction portion of the story, but also to elicit the thoughts and introspections of the main characters.
I look forward to the sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2017
very well done.

i enjoyed the interview style of story telling. i imagine that might not work for some. perhaps i would've avoided it if i had known beforehand but I'm glad i gave this one a shot. the characters were all very sharp with engaging dialogue. things moved along quickly.

nothing overly sweeping or profound has happened yet, but much has been learned and i look forward to more in book 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2016
Intriguing, fantastic idea, well-paced story, the mystery of the find is held over for along time but gives you a little bit more each chapter. The 'interview' style of the book gets you to the guts of the story and seems to cut out a lot of extra stuff you probably didn't want to read about anyway, so it moves along at a steady pace. Easy to read and fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 September 2016
I liked this book very much and spent time between reading and the audio version. Hoping to see the characters fleshed out a little more in book two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2018
Written as a series of interviews, has echoes of Agents of Shield, a little of The Blacklist, and something akin to Chicago Justice. Reminiscent of Matthew Reilly but rather less densely action packed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2018
Clever format and inventive take on the sci-fi novel, including some genuinely shocking and intriguing moments. Some of the dialogue is really interesting. I raced through it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2018
Solid and rapid character development.
I enjoy the alternative writing style of linked interview reports.
A few twists along the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2017
I got to say that the layout and writing style took a bit to get used to but by the end i can't wait for the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2016
Great premise, the interview style made it a quick read without losing too much character development and I can't wait for the next instalment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2017
A young girl falls into a sinkhole; when she is rescued, it is from a deep hole with a giant-sized hand in a room of huge wallpanels of a mysterious substance, which display strange glowing symbols. She grows up to become a highly-trained physicist — but her mind never escapes the mystery of the ancient buried artifact. As an adult with an advanced degree, she is tasked with studying the object; she discovers that there are matching giant body parts distributed all over the earth, which can be assembled into a robot-like “body” driven by a “control room” located in the torso.

This debut novel consists solely of people relating the details of what has occurred in their presence and their thoughts about those events. It's mainly told through interview transcripts, with some personal journal entries — but that seems to work pretty well. It’s a fast, enjoyable read, with some interesting worldbuilding. The ending is clearly a setup for the next book in the series, but I enjoyed it enough not to mind that, and will definitely be picking up the second book, Waking Gods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here