Learn More Learn More Learn More Shop now Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More



on 13 March 2017
decided not to finish it (40%). mostly due to a matter of taste. it was a little soft around the edges. but the characters bothered me most.

some positive reviews note a strength of this story is that it is not centred around a 'white male'. i agree. the problem however is that the characters are such gender specific cliche's that it is no much more sophisticated than an Iain Banks 80's hero objectifying a seductive young woman.

this came across (again i didn't finish it) as a story that preferred not to indulge in technological details in favour of focusing on individuals, nuanced relationships and difficult decisions - 'Aurora' did this especially well. Unfortunately here the elements were too simplistic and uninteresting for me to want to stick around.

Should you read it?
If you felt like the Red Rising trilogy was fast food garbage but at the other end Aurora was maybe too dense or even boring then maybe this will hit a sweet spot for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2016
Sci-Fi has traditionally been pretty bad at character development. Classic books are filled with grand and interesting ideas, exciting stories, and boringly competent straight white men. Becky Chambers has delivered questions of identity, xenophobia, love and war. She has given us moments of pathos and terror, sadness and joy. She gave us the old 'adventure in a spaceship', but made it something unique with excellent but understated world building and a superb cast. That's where this book truly shines, with multifaceted characters who genuinely feel like real people, despite their alien cultures, ideals, and appearances. 'The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet' has received numerous awards nominations and many excellent reviews, and it deserves them all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2017
I was almost surprised to love this as much as I did - as a fan of hard sci-fi and often very bleak futuristic fiction, this book was a complete departure from my usual reading. However the humour was brilliant, the characters were interesting and likeable and whilst the life lessons were sometimes simplistic it was a thoroughly fun and enjoyable read. I'm keen to enjoy the sequel!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2016
This was an interesting novel, sometimes sinking into pure space opera, sometimes surprising with characterisation. In that dichotomy, it sometimes failed to surface. Pure space opera, with goodies and baddies, big guns and small members is all pretty passé. Strong women characters are always appreciated, maybe not in the same space. But the women are good, so if you like resilient women, then this just may be for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2016
This is the book you are looking for, trust me. This is the binge-all-night, take-into-the-loo, oh-crap-the-sun-is-peeking-through-my-window book that you need in your life. If you love Star Trek or Firefly or Mass Effect, or any of the above combination you will love this book. If found-family, exploring the human condition, badass women, POC, unique alien species, and extraordinarly written ensemble casts are your thing, then you will love this book. Am I getting through yet? YOU WILL LOVE THIS BOOK. Buy the book, thank me later.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2018
A rollicking space opera of exotic aliens, strange planets, and even stranger humans.

The scientific basis for the technology was strong. This should mollify even the hard-core hard sci-fi fan.

The characterisation was well done and believable. These are characters one would care about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 September 2016
I have never been a reader of Sci-Fi and only read this on the recommendation of someone whose reading knowledge I find of interest.
Any book that leaves me wanting more as I come to the last page is one I think deserves 4 stars. A really good read and I trust it won't be Becky Chambers last on the crew of the Wayfarer - all of whom deserve further exploration of their characters, so bring on the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2018
So unexpected! How good this book is to read. Love the style of writing and the storyline, great characters and great ending;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2017
20% of the way into this and I had to stop. Just could not read anymore of it. BORING. The story line is extremely weak, rambling dialogue. Boring situations - pages of sitting round the crew table, walking around markets to buy soap! Don't waste your money. Don't know how this ever got published.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 March 2015
A real character driven story that holds your interest from front to cover. I would certainly buy a sequel.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse