Learn More Learn More Learn More Shop now Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
11
Last Woman Hanged
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:A$2.99


on 17 November 2014
Very well researched and full of fascinating detail but very easy to read. I cried and I haven't cried over a book in a very long time.

It's book I could read twice - once for the story and again just to get all that history clear in my head.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2015
A fairly slow read, you know the outcome! Easy to pick up and put down to come back to armt a later time. It is sadly insightful into the patriarchal society of colonial Sydney and a glaringly obvious inept and unjust legal system. I enjoyed reading the other sociologocal facts from that era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2017
Interesting tale of the unfairness of capital punishment and the life and role of women in the late 19th, early 20th century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 March 2015
What a wonderful piece of investigative journalism. Easy to read this captivating book. Wow. High recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2016
I enjoyed not just the story of Louisa Collins (The Last Woman Hanged) but the insight into the Women's movement in Australia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2015
A good presentation of our past
What a tragic life
Shows how politicians protect their reputation just like
In Victoria with the Ronald Ryan case
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2015
thoroughly researched and very interesting
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2015
Very interesting reading, does leaves the question open as to whether or not she was guilty of not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2015
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2015
Well researched and well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse