Learn More Learn More Learn More Shop now Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
Captain James Cook
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:A$3.99


on 18 May 2014
This book is full of facts written in such a way that I retained much of it without trying. At times it seemed a bit repetitive with one storm flowing into another and island discoveries on every page. I would have liked to have read more about his time at home but understand that information was limited. I come away with an appreciation of how great a man Cook was.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2014
entertaining and very informative regarding cooks character and the loyalty of his crew who respected him implicitly. cook was very intelligent regarding crew health and was very cautious when navigating and dealing with unknown natives, he was not adequately rewarded for his efforts and banks was given more credit than he deserved, an enthralling read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 September 2014
Very interesting book. The story of Captain James Cook is dealt with in a readable and highly engaging manner in this treatment. I have recommended it to friends who have also enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2014
Mundle has given us a well-balanced and thoughtful narrative without hero-worshipping Cook. He does not detract from his achievements but does demonstrate Cook's character and foibles very well. Even though I know Cook's life well I enjoyed this new approach very much. A very readable book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2016
Great read, well researched and well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2014
excellent And historically correct as far as I know with my limited knowledge?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2015
A fantastic book, couldn't put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2015
Great adventure - well written...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2015
Great tale by a great teller of tales.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2014
learnt a lot about Cook that I did not know
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here