Learn More Learn More Learn More Shop now Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More Learn More

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
Can You Keep A Secret?
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:A$12.99


TOP 100 REVIEWERon 17 January 2017
OMG this girl cracks me up! Just laughed my head off with the antics of Emma as Marketing Assistant wanna be Marketing Executive. She was so zany, it was difficult to take her seriously as a grown up and having a relationship with her self made millionaire boss. Just couldn't picture the mix. But it did work in the end. Just loved this book, absolutely loved the humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2016
Loved this book. I actually laughed out loud to a lot of scenes! I still chuckle to myself when recommending this book to friends. A good light hearted book. Thoroughly enjoyed this book and LOVE the way the author writes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2016
This is the first book I have read by Sophie Kinsella but wont be the last, really enjoyed it funny, sad, characters you could relate to, totally recommend. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2015
Light Reading as always but very entertaining and very funny. I love Sophie's books and have read every one she has written. If you are looking for a book that is not to taxing, romantic and a good story line then this is the book for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2016
Very funny.

I am don't usually read romances but this was so funny in parts I was getting weird looks from other passengers on the bus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2016
Fairly predictable but an easy read that is still a page turner. Recommended for a quiet night in with a cup of tea or glass of wine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2017
Easy to read and highly entertaining! Emma is a very likable narrator, her dialogue is the best part of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2014
Loved this book. The storyline had a different spin to it. I was hooked from the start, couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 October 2017
The Shopaholic series was a guilty pleasure of mine last year, and was just the thing to read while, e.g., sitting in the vet's office when my dog was terribly ill (he's okay now, thanks for asking), so I approached "Can You Keep a Secret" with both interest and a certain amount of trepidation. Kinsella has a formula that works for her, so I assumed that this latest book would be formulaic. But would it be intolerably so?

The answer for me was both yes and no. "Can You Keep a Secret?" definitely follows the pattern that Kinsella set with the original Shopaholic series, of a ditzy and insecure young woman stumbling into good fortune, figuratively and literally, by meeting a high-powered executive and charming the socks and everything else off of him. This SHOULD be complete BS, but somehow Kinsella makes it work.

No, not somehow. She makes it work because her heroines are indeed extremely charming, full of high spirits and keenly aware of the ridiculousness of the positions in which they find themselves, and are always able to overcome their external obstacles and internal insecurities to come out on top, save the day, and get the guy. Kinsella also sprinkles on the glitz and glamor with a liberal hand, but is still able to provide a pretty sharp critique of modern consumerist society and the way it can brainwash people into overspending and chasing after things that aren't actually that important. And she's got a great eye for the ways in which people feed themselves false narratives that they then cling to long past all sense. Not to mention a sparkling prose style.

"Can You Keep a Secret?" did, however, strike me as a little formulaic. What felt surprisingly groundbreaking in the early Shopaholic books felt a little more like retreading the same ground here. Furthermore, there were some things that gave me the sense that neither she nor her editor could be bothered to smooth out the details: e.g., Emma is 25, but if Jack actually started his company back in the 1980s, he must be twice her age, but the age difference never really comes up. Maybe I just wasn't paying attention, but a 25-year age gap between partners is a biggish deal in my book.

Still, "Can You Keep a Secret?" goes down very smoothly, like cake or one of the Panther colas that Emma is supposed to be selling. If you're looking for some hard-hitting realism or an in-depth examination of the dark side of the human soul, you'll probably want to keep on looking, but if you enjoy Kinsella's other books or the genre in general, you're likely to enjoy this quite a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2015
Can You Keep A Secret? Tells the hilarious story of Emma Corrigan and one plane ride that changes her life. After a disastrous meeting in Scotland, Emma has a few drinks in the airport. When the plane hits some turbulence and Emma thinks she is about to die, she blurts out ALL of her secrets to the man sitting next to her. She tells him everything assuming at worst she will die at best she'll never see him again. Come Monday morning, Emma thinks everything is Ok until the owner of the company she works for shows up and is none other than the man from her flight, the one who knows all of her secrets. This is witty, fun and fresh. You will absolutely adore Emma and the situations she finds herself in! This is the best of Sophie Kinsella's work - I've read it 3 times. A great beach read, puts a smile on your face for hours.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Remember Me?
A$12.99
Twenties Girl
A$12.99

Need customer service? Click here