Buying Options

Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $0.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
THE MAN IN THE PINK SUIT an enthralling crime mystery full of twists (Yorkshire Murder Mysteries Book 3) by [SILVERWOOD, ROGER]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


THE MAN IN THE PINK SUIT an enthralling crime mystery full of twists (Yorkshire Murder Mysteries Book 3) Kindle Edition

3.7 out of 5 stars 11 ratings

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$0.99

Length: 204 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English
  • Similar books to THE MAN IN THE PINK SUIT an enthralling crime mystery full of twists (Yorkshire Murder Mysteries Book 3)

Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite
The best device for reading, full stop. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

A DETECTIVE WHO’S NO ANGEL DESPITE HIS NAME.

Discover a gripping series of murder mysteries set in South Yorkshire.

MEET DETECTIVE INSPECTOR MICHAEL ANGEL. AN OLD-SCHOOL POLICEMAN WHO SOMETIMES RUBS HIS COLLEAGUES UP THE WRONG WAY. HE’S GOT HIS FLAWS, BUT HE NEVER GIVES UP ON A CASE.

Frank P. Jones, the celebrity art critic known nationally as “The Man In the Pink Suit,” is seen by four independent witnesses and recorded shooting industrialist Charles Tabor. Jones strongly denies the charge, but he has the motive, the opportunity, a Walter PPK/S automatic, and no alibi.

Detective Inspector Michael Angel is called in to unravel another nerve-jangling mystery in his quirky, unique way. But what is the truth? Was Jones hypnotized, drugged, or is he simply a liar?

Perfect for fans of R.D. Wingfield, Colin Dexter, Peter Robinson, Reginald Hill, and Agatha Christie.

THE DETECTIVE
Michael Angel is over fifty, married to Mary. They don’t have any children. They are a devoted couple but the relationship sometimes breaks down due to his job or due to the problems of Mary’s sister who lives in Edinburgh and imposes on their easygoing natures. Michael works at the small local police station and is devoted to defeating crime, murder, and dishonesty of any sort and has no personal ambition beyond being a good husband and a successful detective. He doesn’t want promotion with all the routine office work and stress that goes with it. He is incorruptible but always short of money. He is always at odds with his immediate chief, Detective Superintendent Horace Harker, who is lazy, a hypochondriac and not a bit interested in assisting Angel in serious police work.

THE SETTING
Bromersley is a market town at the bottom of the Pennines surrounded by stone and hawthorn-edged fields grazed by cattle and sheep. It is cold as anywhere in the winter but its closeness to the mountains protects it from many gales and heavy falls of snow. The town’s industry today includes the manufacture of ball bearings and whisky bottles, and a huge brewery produces Bromersley’s best bitter, which is considered the finest beer for miles around. Wednesday is market day, and the town centre is host to the frequent cries of stall-holders hawking their wares while the enticing smells of cheeses, coffees, foreign spices and fish and chips tempt your taste buds as you wander through the stalls. The police always find it difficult to catch pilferers and pickpockets in such a crowd. Bromersley folk are easy to befriend but many of the old people are stubborn and still buy their fruit and veg in pounds and ounces, not kilos and grams.

Praise for Roger Silverwood

“Solid plotting, unpretentious writing, thoroughly reliable entertainment.” Morning Star

“A cast of characters you really want to populate with familiar faces of actors you see each week on TV —  great fun. Angel is terrific.” Books Monthly

“Once again Silverwood combines a classic mystery plot with well-developed characters.” Publishers Weekly

DETECTIVE ANGEL SERIES
Book 1: THE MISSING NURSE
Book 2: THE MISSING WIFE
Book 3: THE MAN IN THE PINK SUIT
Book 4: THE MORALS OF A MURDERER
Book 5: THE AUCTION MURDERS
Book 6: THE MISSING KILLER
Book 7: THE UMBRELLA MURDERS
Book 8: THE MISSING MILLIONAIRE
Book 9: THE MISSING THIEF
Book 10: FIND THE LADY

Join the Joffe Books mailing list for updates on the next mystery coming soon!

About the Author

Roger Silverwood lives on the outskirts of Barnsley. After National Service he entered the toy trade where he became a sales director. Aged 50 he went into business with his wife as an antique dealer specialising in Victorian jewellery until he retired in 1997. This is his third novel featuring Michael Angel, set in the South Yorkshire town of Bromersley at the foot of the Pennines.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 986 KB
  • Print Length: 204 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Joffe Books crime mysteries (15 September 2019)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07XYCR44T
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Customer Reviews: 3.6 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #316 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
11 customer ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

4 customer reviews

12 October 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 100 REVIEWER
19 October 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
5 January 2020
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
14 November 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.6 out of 5 stars 16 reviews
Norma Den
5.0 out of 5 stars Good clean mystery series
28 January 2020 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars GC
31 January 2020 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
R. Douglas
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read
27 September 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Bills
5.0 out of 5 stars seven stars at least
14 January 2020 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
ronny runner
4.0 out of 5 stars page turner
19 November 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase