Buying Options

Kindle Price: $2.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Wyatt (Wyatt Series) by [Garry Disher]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Wyatt (Wyatt Series) Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 80 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$2.99

Length: 257 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

Praise for Wyatt

One of Booklist's 101 Best Crime Novels of the Last Decade

"Like an Australian Bob le Flambeur, Disher's titular robber is smooth, calm and planning a big heist."
--Entertainment Weekly

"The first U.S. appearance of this series, and it's just brilliant."
--Seattle Times

Once again Disher takes us back to the golden age of thrillers, a time when they were fast, taut and dependably suspenseful.
--Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

"A jewel heist that appears straightforward proves anything but in Australian author Disher's outstanding seventh thriller featuring Melbourne bank robber Wyatt Wareen, last seen in 1997's The Fallout.... The spare, economical prose perfectly suits this tale of mad love and crimes gone wrong ... and should boost the reputation of Disher, winner of Australia's Ned Kelly Award, in the U.S."
--Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"Wyatt Wareen has been away for awhile, but he's back in Melbourne and looking for a score.... Disher also writes the excellent Inspector Hal Challis procedurals (Chain of Evidence, 2007), but a new Wyatt novel--we've described the series as "criminal procedurals" (Kick Back, 1993)--is cause for celebration. Though the ensemble cast is sharply drawn, the heart of the story is Wyatt, a cool-headed, taciturn, unsentimental thief with a code ... Wyatt may be a man out of time, but crime fiction like this is timeless.
--Booklist, Starred Review

"Disher's depiction of Melbourne's underworld is a revelation--undeniably lurid and harsh yet humming with a vibrancy that lends a soulful note to the story. In his first Wyatt thriller in 13 years, Disher, author of the Hal Challis police procedurals (The Dragon Man; Blood Moon) excels at capturing the complexity and tension of life on the run, and his characters exude a visceral energy as they compete to survive. Highly recommended for readers who enjoy atmospheric, character-driven crime thrillers."
--Library Journal, Starred Review

"I've read my way across the landscape of caper novels. Somehow, though, I missed Australia, particularly Garry Disher's series with thief Wyatt. Thankfully, that has now been remedied. Although Wyatt is Disher's seventh featuring his inscrutable hero, it was a terrific place to start."
--Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel

"The plot is solid, pacing excellent, and the characterization first-rate. Fans of Barry Eisler and Ted Bell should also appreciate Disher."
--ForeWord Reviews

"If you want an armchair trip to Australia, try this cool caper.... Readers familiar with Garry Disher's procedural series featuring Hal Challis will recognize the author's straightforward style and his ability to create an ensemble cast of three-dimensional characters with a few deft strokes."
--Mystery Scene

"If you've read Ripley you'll understand..."
--Jeff Park, Front Row (BBC)

Praise for the Hal Challis series

This series boasts careful, realistic casework, but there's enough darkness and ambiguity to suit John Harvey fans and a kind of which-way-is-up sense of the police force that recalls early James Ellroy. Moody, inventive, and extremely hard to put down.
--Booklist --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Book Description

Wyatt's been away. Now he's back. --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • File size : 1316 KB
  • Print length : 257 pages
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Publisher : Text Publishing (1 February 2010)
  • ASIN : B005652A8O
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.1 out of 5 stars 80 ratings
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
80 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 7 February 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 2 November 2016
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 23 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 24 December 2016
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 5 January 2016
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

hans ulrich
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but:
Reviewed in Germany on 10 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Miki101.Micha 🐭
5.0 out of 5 stars Wyatt is back - and ready, willing and able to...,
Reviewed in Italy on 7 January 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Miki101.Micha 🐭
5.0 out of 5 stars Wyatt is back - and ready, willing and able to...
Reviewed in Germany on 7 January 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Brian Mortimer
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping
Reviewed in Canada on 22 September 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Alan A. Elsner
4.0 out of 5 stars Expertly plotted thriller
Reviewed in the United States on 10 October 2014
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse