<Embed>
$47.40
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Ships from and sold by Books Mela Aus.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$31.87
+ $3.90 delivery
Sold by: Amazon US
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Wonderblood Hardcover – 8 May 2018

3.9 out of 5 stars 7 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$47.40
$31.87
FREE delivery: 23 Dec - 4 Jan

Pre-order Books. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Shop now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Wonderblood
  • +
  • Senlin Ascends: Book One of the Books of Babel
Total Price: $66.25
Buy the selected items together

Pre-order Books. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Shop now

Product details

  • Hardcover : 304 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1250066069
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1250066060
  • Product Dimensions : 16.28 x 2.92 x 24.38 cm
  • Publisher : St Martin's Press (8 May 2018)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.9 out of 5 stars 7 ratings

Product description

Review

Whicker has imagined a fierce future...Dense, dark, haunting. --Booklist

Whicker's debut sets the stage for a possible series full of bloodlust, court intrigue, and unforgettable characters. For fans of Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven, N.K. Jemisin's Broken Earth series, and George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire books. --Library Journal

Told in rich, dense prose, Whicker's fantasy feels like a blood-steeped dream: there are mummified heads and a religion based on astronauts. The story's voice is vibrant and warm as the Florida heat --Publishers Weekly

In a novel marked with heart-stopping violence, brutal ritual, surreal courtly intrigue, and moments of piercing beauty, Julia Whicker imagines a clash of religions in a broken future. The characters, and their world, are unforgettable. --Vivien Shotwell, author of Vienna Nocturne

Visceral and intense... a fully built-out world, rich with color and detail. --Charles Yu, author of How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe

Wonderblood is a richly imagined, otherworldly tale about the power - and danger - of faith and belief. I loved this book's beautiful prose and its startling, brutal, and poetic images; I loved its unique premise and masterful worldbuilding; I loved its complicated, passionate, and mesmerizing characters. Julia Whicker is a genius. This is a strange, daring, and masterful first novel. --Edan Lepucki, New York Times bestselling author of California

A richly imagined broken world, one whose land, customs, history, and people are so sharply conveyed that they seem almost to have been incised into the page. I admire Wonderblood for its absorbing and unsettling story, for the uncanny beauty of its prose, but above all else for the daring of its tone, which begins in pitch darkness and brightens not to white but to a more lustrous black. --Kevin Brockmeier, New York Times bestselling author

In fiercely glittering prose Julia Whicker evokes an apocalyptic America where medicine is illegal, everyone is searching for portents and only a severed head can offer protection. I love how richly imagined this novel is and I love how relentlessly it moves towards its amazing climax. Wonderblood is a stunning debut. --Margot Livesey, New York Times bestselling author

Book Description

"Fiercely glittering prose...I love how richly imagined this novel is...amazing climax. Wonderblood is a stunning debut." - Margot Livesy, New York Times bestselling author.

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5
7 global ratings
5 star
62%
4 star 0% (0%) 0%
3 star
19%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star
19%
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

K.
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book. Reminded me of Dune. Best new science fiction I've read in years.
Reviewed in the United States on 9 April 2018
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
sythy
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful meditation on faith and doubt in a cruel, unknowable, beautiful world. One of the best books I've read in ages
Reviewed in the United States on 16 April 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Linda S.
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad
Reviewed in the United States on 28 September 2020
Verified Purchase
LoriTP
5.0 out of 5 stars she could love him or not
Reviewed in the United States on 11 April 2018
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Chelsey Mueller
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal
Reviewed in the United States on 17 April 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse