You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $3.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Witchfinder's Sister: The captivating Richard & Judy Book Club historical thriller 2018 by [Beth Underdown]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Witchfinder's Sister: The captivating Richard & Judy Book Club historical thriller 2018 Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 710 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$3.99

Length: 361 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Book Description

'VIVID AND TERRIFYING' Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Review

'A clever, pacey read that blends truth and fiction' * The Times * Beth Underdown grips us from the outset...at once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller * Patrick Gale * Beth Underdown cleverly creates a compelling atmosphere of dread and claustrophobia... Even from the distance of nearly four hundred years, her Matthew Hopkins is a genuinely frightening monster * Kate Riordan, author of The Girl in the Photograph * THE MOST THRILLING HISTORICAL DEBUT OF 2018 Based on the true story of the infamous witchfinder Matthew Hopkins, with one of the most memorable heroines in recent historical fiction, this haunting novel is perfect for fans of The Miniaturist, Sarah Waters and The Essex Serpent. -- From the publisher Atmospheric and filled with foreboding, it's a novel that draws you under its spell * Stylist * 'Anyone who liked Cecilia Ekback's Wolf Winter is going to love this. [It's] about tiny braveries and small courage... a real David and Goliath story, but far less straightforward' * Natasha Pulley, author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street * Entertaining and thought-provoking, with a valuable message for our own times * Washington Post * A chilling, creeping novel with parallels to more modern forms of witch-hunts * Red * Thumpingly good -- Lucy Mangan 'A clever novel with a slow burn of horror' * Guardian * 'An accomplished debut novel... this is a powerful, disturbing book, full of drama, with a masterly evocation of England in the 1640s and a sickening final twist' * Sunday Express * 'A compelling debut from a gifted storyteller' -- Sarah Perry * author of The Essex Serpent * A richly told and utterly compelling tale, with shades of Hilary Mantel -- Kate Hamer 'Superb: dark, terrifying and utterly compelling' -- Tracy Borman A haunting, brooding debut * Psychologies * 'Alice's voice reaches us with admirable clarity and she tells a truly horrifying story with compassion and intelligence. This is a truly accomplished and satisfying debut novel' -- Adele Geras A novel for our times. Beth Underdown's The Witchfinder's Sister explores another time and another place to lay bare the visceral horror of what a witch hunt truly is * New York Times Book Review * A tense, surprising and elegantly-crafted novel * Ian McGuire * Chilling, gripping, terrifying and exquisitely written * Susan Barker * --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN : B01M7QBBLN
  • Publisher : Penguin (2 March 2017)
  • Language : English
  • File size : 5904 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 361 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN : 0241978041
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.1 out of 5 stars 710 ratings
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
710 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 22 February 2018
Verified Purchase
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 31 May 2017

Top reviews from other countries

Pappa Dont Preach
1.0 out of 5 stars Writing by numbers - cashed in on Witchfinder General but had nothing interesting to say
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 September 2018
Verified Purchase
22 people found this helpful
Report abuse
M Woodley
3.0 out of 5 stars Talented Writing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 February 2018
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
wife of rhtp
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but flawed.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 June 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Dee
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, atmospheric, edge of your seat read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 August 2017
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Marianthy Riga
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 May 2017
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse