Buy new:
$39.36
FREE delivery: 22 Dec - 3 Jan
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
$$39.36 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$39.36
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Book Depository UK
Sold by
Ships from
Book Depository UK
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$39.35
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Shinning_Books
Sold by: Shinning_Books
(90 ratings)
85% positive over last 12 months
Only 5 left in stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$43.01
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: BuyGlobal
Sold by: BuyGlobal
(15296 ratings)
82% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$44.25
& FREE Delivery. Details
Sold by: Amazon AU
Sold by: Amazon AU
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Delivery Rates and Return policy

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Widow Queen: 1 Hardcover – 8 June 2021

4.1 out of 5 stars 19 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$39.36
$34.64
Paperback

Enhance your purchase

The new series from Matilda’s captain Sam Kerr
Discover the new books by Soccer superstar Sam Kerr. Perfect for sports lovers and readers aged 7 and up, the Kicking Goals series is out now. Buy now.

Frequently bought together

  • The Widow Queen: 1
  • +
  • The Women of Chateau Lafayette
  • +
  • The Personal Librarian
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

"Elzbieta Cherezinska writes with great depth and imagination, bringing to life seductive and detailed worlds.--Olga Tokarczuk, Nobel Prize Laureate and Man Booker Prize winning author of Flights

The Widow Queen is the story of a woman standing strong in a world run by men, and of the sacrifices we must make for power and love. Elzbieta Cherezinska brings epic history to life with her own unique and recognizable voice. Her stories have emotion, drama, and make even the most well-known historical events feel exciting and fresh.--Tomek Baginski, Executive Producer, The Witcher, Netflix

"A fascinating and forgotten corner of history . . . Cherezinska brings to life a world of violence and beauty, superstition and intrigue."--Linnea Hartsuyker, author of The Half-Drowned King

"Fascinating, authentic, and beautifully told, The Widow Queen is the story of a forgotten Polish princess in an era of warriors, the headstrong, clever Swietoslawa--twice a queen, mother of kings. An impressive and compelling story brought vividly to life!"--Susan Fraser King, author of Lady Macbeth and Queen Hereafter

THE WIDOW QUEEN is a genuine gift for historical fiction enthusiasts: a deeply-detailed story of power, politics, and love--and the impossibility of keeping all three. In Swietoslawa, Elzbieta Cherezinska reveals to us a complex woman who was ignored by historians, rightfully elevating her to an equal standing with her more-famous allies and enemies. This carefully-crafted novel lives up to its protagonist's title: the Bold One.--Nathan Makaryk, author of Nottingham

"Look no further for your next great adventure. The Widow Queen unspools the true history of two courageous siblings, Boleslaw--the first and future King of Poland, and his daring sister Swietoslawa, fated to a royal destiny in a great Norse kingdom. Ranging across Baltic shores to the northern reaches of Scandinavia, and far West to King Ethelred's England, Cherezinska propels us through a tale of great personal and social transformation, from pagan to Christian, and private to political. This hidden history of a forgotten yet vitally important heroine brings Swietoslawa into the limelight she so richly deserves."--Octavia Randolph, author of The Circle of Ceridwen Saga

Review

<i>The Widow Queen</i> is the epic story of a Polish queen whose life and name were all but forgotten until now. It's a sweeping saga perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Bernard Cornwell, and the <i>Vikings </i>tv series<i>.</i>

Black Friday Sale
Discover deals on Electronics, Home, Books, Fashion, Video Games, Pantry and more. Explore now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Forge (8 June 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 512 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1250218004
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1250218001
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 16.51 x 3.94 x 24.31 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.1 out of 5 stars 19 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Discover more of the author’s books, see similar authors, read author blogs, and more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
19 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

TOP 50 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 11 June 2021
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable
Reviewed in the United States on 29 April 2021
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jean
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my favorite
Reviewed in the United States on 19 July 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse