You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Buying Options

Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
Kindle Price: $4.14
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Where No Man Rules (The Poudre Canyon Saga Book 1) by [Fisher, Dave P.]
Kindle App Ad

Where No Man Rules (The Poudre Canyon Saga Book 1) Kindle Edition

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from

Length: 340 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English
  • Similar books to Where No Man Rules (The Poudre Canyon Saga Book 1)

Find your next great read with Kindle Unlimited
Check out Cosy Winter Fiction reads, Cookery and more with this month's featured titles, now available to read for $0.00. Browse this month's selection.

Product description

Product Description

The Poudre Canyon Saga – Book 1

Behind Jean and Andre Pelletier lay Quebec, their livelihoods as Voyageurs, and the body of Claude LeSueur who had flung his final insult in Jean’s face. In a sudden flash of rage, witnessed only by his brother, Andre, Jean had plunged his knife into the heart of wealthy fur merchant Maurice LeSueur’s son. Together, the young trappers flee westward ahead of the hangman and the wrath of Maurice LeSueur, a controller for the powerful Northwest Fur Company.
As the brothers make their way along the wilderness waterways they learn that LeSueur has engaged two murderous river pirates, Joseph Quesnel and his partner Carcajou, to hunt them. Quesnel, who harbors his own hatred for Jean Pelletier, manipulates LeSueur and his money for his own dark purposes. Jean knows the race has become even more desperate and makes the decision to escape into the American West, a decision that establishes the pattern for the men they will become.
Making their way into the Rocky Mountains of 1824, the brothers meld into the world of free trappers and Indians, becoming one with them. Years pass and thoughts of Canada and the LeSueurs become faded memories until the day Jean's past comes back and threatens the new life he has so carefully built.

Note: Formerly titled "Where Free Men Gather", published by Bottom of the Hill Publishing. The rewritten and enhanced novel is now published by Double Diamond Books under the title "Where No Man Rules".

About the Author

Mountain men, Voyageurs, pioneers, and explorers make up the branches of Dave's family tree. His mother's side was from Canada where the men plied the fur trade in the Canadian wilderness. Others moved down into the wilds of Northern Minnesota and established trading posts among the Chippewa. On his father's side were veterans of the War of 1812, and the Spanish American War. His natural grandfather died out West while working as a telegrapher for the railroad. His step grandfather, born in the 1800's, was Native Blackfoot from Montana. He was a hunter and horseman who brought a great deal of Old West influence into the Fisher family. As a lifelong Westerner Dave inherited that pioneer blood and followed in the footsteps of his ancestors. Originally from Oregon, he worked cattle and rode saddle broncs in rodeos. His adventures have taken him across the wilds of Alaska as a horsepacker and hunting guide, through the Rocky Mountains of Montana, Wyoming, and Colorado where he wrangled, guided and packed for a variety of outfitters. Dave weaves his experience into each story. His writing, steeped in historical accuracy and drawing on extensive research, draws his readers into the story by their realism and Dave's personal knowledge of the West, its people, and character. He has near to 500 fiction and non-fiction works published. Included are western action/adventure, outdoor novels, and short story collections, 70 short stories, and inclusion in 18 anthologies. He is the first, and currently the only, writer to win the Will Rogers Medallion Award three times for outstanding Western Fiction. Nine of his short stories have earned Reader's Choice Awards. You can learn more about Dave's background and writing at his website:

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3703 KB
  • Print Length: 340 pages
  • Publisher: Double Diamond Books (25 May 2016)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01G7VT66Y
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #314,529 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on 4.4 out of 5 stars 13 reviews
5.0 out of 5 a piece of chocolate you can't stop with one bite...
27 August 2016 - Published on
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Larry D. Sherman
5.0 out of 5 starsGreat read.
10 August 2016 - Published on
Verified Purchase
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsExcellent descriptive language
18 August 2016 - Published on
3 people found this helpful
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsReally Good
31 July 2016 - Published on
6 people found this helpful
T.C. Jones
5.0 out of 5 starsGreat Read!!
29 January 2019 - Published on