Buying Options

Kindle Price: $14.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Where the Crawdads Sing by [Delia Owens]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Where the Crawdads Sing Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 40,876 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$14.99

Length: 379 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $9.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world - New York Times Book Review

An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. - Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review

Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. - People

This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver - Bustle

A nature-infused romance with a killer twist - Refinery29

Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is moving - Daily Mail

Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. - Entertainment Weekly

For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement - The Times --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Book Description

Fans of Barbara Kingsolver will love this stunning debut novel from a New York Times bestselling nature writer, about an unforgettable young woman determined to make her way in the wilds of North Carolina, and the two men that will break her isolation open. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From the Publisher


Product details

click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
40,876 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Reviewed in Australia on 12 April 2020
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 18 February 2020
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 28 March 2019
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 30 May 2019
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 1 July 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 3 February 2020
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 10 June 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 22 January 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

docholden
1.0 out of 5 stars Too unrealistic to enjoy
Reviewed in the United States on 29 October 2018
Verified Purchase
5,461 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Eliza
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 July 2019
Verified Purchase
634 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Lou
1.0 out of 5 stars Most irritating book I've read in a long time!
Reviewed in the United States on 28 January 2019
Verified Purchase
2,491 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Don Meyers
1.0 out of 5 stars Did I read the same book as others?
Reviewed in the United States on 2 October 2018
Verified Purchase
2,438 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
chocolateg
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 February 2019
Verified Purchase
160 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Emily O
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Reviewed in the United States on 17 September 2018
Verified Purchase
1,623 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Diane Parker
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll NEVER Want To Leave
Reviewed in the United States on 1 February 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
1,159 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
rickeitt
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one - this is THE book you cannot put down
Reviewed in the United States on 20 August 2018
Verified Purchase
1,547 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Debbie
5.0 out of 5 stars Take your time and savor every sentence.
Reviewed in the United States on 4 September 2018
Verified Purchase
1,135 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
TripFiction
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant novel set in NORTH CAROLINA
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 March 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
78 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning masterpiece of literature!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 March 2019
Verified Purchase
79 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
P Wilson
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving story about survival in a way that most of us can't imagine.
Reviewed in the United States on 26 August 2018
Verified Purchase
895 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
countrygirl
1.0 out of 5 stars Total claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 April 2020
Verified Purchase
35 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Wee Mo
5.0 out of 5 stars My book of the year
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 December 2018
Verified Purchase
36 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Joy of Reading
1.0 out of 5 stars Really? Not a thumbs up from me.
Reviewed in the United States on 31 December 2018
Verified Purchase
580 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse