You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $14.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Where the Crawdads Sing by [Delia Owens]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Where the Crawdads Sing Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 177,380 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$14.99
Length: 379 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $11.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite
The best device for reading, full stop. Learn more

Product description

Review

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world ― New York Times Book Review

Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is movingDaily Mail

For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievementThe Times

Kya is a compelling character, Owen's descriptive prose is lushly impressive, and the twist in the narrative's tail is neat ― Sunday Times Culture

Owens combines high tension with precise detail about how people dress, sound, live and eat - the case studies in her book are both human and natural . . . Surprise bestsellers are often works that chime with the times. Though set in the 1950s and 60s, Where the Crawdads Sing is, in its treatment of racial and social division and the fragile complexities of nature, obviously relevant to contemporary politics and ecology. But these themes will reach a huge audience though the writer's old-fashioned talents for compelling character, plotting and landscape descriptionthe Guardian

For sheer escapism pick up Where The Crawdads Sing . . . there is writing that takes your breath awayThe Times (separate review)

All is not as it seems in this heartbreaking coming-of-age bestsellerThe i newspaper

An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. ― Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review

Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet astonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising - with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn't put it downThe Lady

The strength of the story comes from the sympathetic portrait of its heroine who cannot fail to captivate, right up until the surprising endUK Press Association and Independent I

Review

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world - New York Times Book Review

An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. - Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review

Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. - People

This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver - Bustle

A nature-infused romance with a killer twist - Refinery29

Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is moving - Daily Mail

Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. - Entertainment Weekly

For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement - The Times

From the Publisher

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07JZH997Q
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Corsair; 1st edition (8 November 2018)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 3743 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 379 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 1472154665
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 177,380 ratings

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
177,380 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 12 April 2020
Verified Purchase
25 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 1 July 2019
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 1 September 2020
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 22 January 2020
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 3 February 2020
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 28 March 2019
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 30 May 2019
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 21 June 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Eliza
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 July 2019
Verified Purchase
1,285 people found this helpful
Report abuse
docholden
1.0 out of 5 stars Too unrealistic to enjoy
Reviewed in the United States on 29 October 2018
Verified Purchase
6,551 people found this helpful
Report abuse
countrygirl
1.0 out of 5 stars Total claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 April 2020
Verified Purchase
390 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Lou
1.0 out of 5 stars Most irritating book I've read in a long time!
Reviewed in the United States on 28 January 2019
Verified Purchase
3,478 people found this helpful
Report abuse
chocolateg
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 February 2019
Verified Purchase
348 people found this helpful
Report abuse