You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $14.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Where the Crawdads Sing by [Owens, Delia]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Where the Crawdads Sing Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 28 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$14.99

Length: 379 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $9.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Winter Sale
Up to 70% off on over 300 Kindle Books. Sale ends on 31st August 2019 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Review

"A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders--and dangers--of her private world."--The New York Times Book Review

"Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut."--People

"This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle

"A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It's clear she's from this place--the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain--you can feel it in the pages. A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely."--Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight

"Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story."--Entertainment Weekly

"This wonderful novel has a bit of everything--mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina."--Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

"Delia Owen's gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit."--Real Simple

"Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine."--Publishers Weekly

"The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut."--Southern Living

"A nature-infused romance with a killer twist."--Refinery29

"Anyone who liked The Great Alone will want to read Where the Crawdads Sing. . . . This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It's the first novel in a long time that made me cry." - Kristin Hannah, author of The Great Alone and The Nightingale

"Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya's story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives."--Vanity Fair

"Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya's deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures."--Booklist

"This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing."--AARP

"Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time."--ShelfAwareness

"With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!"--Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

"A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud."--Augusta Chronicle

"Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls."--David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

Book Description

Fans of Barbara Kingsolver will love this stunning debut novel from a New York Times bestselling nature writer, about an unforgettable young woman determined to make her way in the wilds of North Carolina, and the two men that will break her isolation open.

From the Publisher


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3743 KB
  • Print Length: 379 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0735219095
  • Publisher: Corsair (8 November 2018)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07JZH997Q
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 28 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #77 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

28 customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 28 reviews

30 May 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
1 July 2019
Verified Purchase
18 June 2019
Verified Purchase
28 March 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
18 July 2019
Verified Purchase
9 January 2019
Verified Purchase
10 May 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
1 May 2019
Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?