Buying Options

Kindle Price: $14.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Where the Crawdads Sing by [Delia Owens]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Where the Crawdads Sing Kindle Edition

4.8 out of 5 stars 38,699 ratings

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$14.99

Length: 379 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $9.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

"A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders--and dangers--of her private world."--The New York Times Book Review

"Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut."--People

"This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle

"A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It's clear she's from this place--the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain--you can feel it in the pages. A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely."--Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight

"Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story."--Entertainment Weekly

"This wonderful novel has a bit of everything--mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina."--Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

"Delia Owen's gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit."--Real Simple

"Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine."--Publishers Weekly

"The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut."--Southern Living

"A nature-infused romance with a killer twist."--Refinery29

"Anyone who liked The Great Alone will want to read Where the Crawdads Sing....This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It's the first novel in a long time that made me cry."--Kristin Hannah, author of The Great Alone and The Nightingale

"Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya's story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives."--Vanity Fair

"Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya's deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures."--Booklist

"This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing."--AARP

"Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time."--ShelfAwareness

"With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!"--Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

"A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud."--Augusta Chronicle

"Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls."--David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

About the Author

Delia Owens is the co-author of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa--Cry of the Kalahari, The Eye of the Elephant, and Secrets of the Savanna. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and International Wildlife, among many others. She currently lives in Idaho, where she continues her support for the people and wildlife of Zambia. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.

From the Publisher


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3743 KB
  • Print Length: 379 pages
  • Publisher: Corsair; 01 edition (8 November 2018)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07JZH997Q
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #5 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
38,699 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Reviewed in Australia on 18 February 2020
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 30 May 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 1 July 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 28 March 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 22 January 2020
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 3 February 2020
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 17 March 2020
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 3 January 2020
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Top international reviews

docholden
1.0 out of 5 stars Too unrealistic to enjoy
Reviewed in the United States on 29 October 2018
Verified Purchase
4,546 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Eliza
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 July 2019
Verified Purchase
255 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Don Meyers
1.0 out of 5 stars Did I read the same book as others?
Reviewed in the United States on 2 October 2018
Verified Purchase
1,993 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Lou
1.0 out of 5 stars Most irritating book I've read in a long time!
Reviewed in the United States on 28 January 2019
Verified Purchase
1,739 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
rickeitt
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one - this is THE book you cannot put down
Reviewed in the United States on 20 August 2018
Verified Purchase
1,426 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Diane Parker
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll NEVER Want To Leave
Reviewed in the United States on 1 February 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
972 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Emily O
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Reviewed in the United States on 17 September 2018
Verified Purchase
1,335 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Debbie
5.0 out of 5 stars Take your time and savor every sentence.
Reviewed in the United States on 4 September 2018
Verified Purchase
1,048 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
chocolateg
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 February 2019
Verified Purchase
55 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
P Wilson
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving story about survival in a way that most of us can't imagine.
Reviewed in the United States on 26 August 2018
Verified Purchase
822 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
TripFiction
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant novel set in NORTH CAROLINA
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 March 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
37 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Joy of Reading
1.0 out of 5 stars Really? Not a thumbs up from me.
Reviewed in the United States on 31 December 2018
Verified Purchase
518 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning masterpiece of literature!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 March 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
27 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
island reader
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG Wonderful Wonderful!
Reviewed in the United States on 30 August 2018
Verified Purchase
538 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Wee Mo
5.0 out of 5 stars My book of the year
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 December 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
22 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse