Buying Options

Kindle Price: $4.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
When We Danced at the End of the Pier: A heartbreaking novel of family tragedy and wartime romance (Brighton Girls Trilogy Book 1) by [Sandy Taylor]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


When We Danced at the End of the Pier: A heartbreaking novel of family tragedy and wartime romance (Brighton Girls Trilogy Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 329 ratings

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.99

Length: 362 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English
  • Similar books to When We Danced at the End of the Pier: A heartbreaking novel of family tragedy and wartime romance (Brighton Girls Trilogy Book 1)

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Product Description

Brighton 1930: Maureen O’Connell is a carefree girl, but her family is on the brink of tragedy, war is looming and life will never be the same again.

Jack and Nelson have always been dear friends to Maureen. Despite their different backgrounds, they’ve seen each other through thick and thin.

As Maureen blossoms from a little girl into a young woman, the candle she’s always held for Jack burns bright. But just as she’s found love, war wrenches them apart. The man she cherishes with all her heart is leaving.

When the bombs start to fall, Maureen and her family find themselves living in the most dangerous of times. With Jack no longer by her side and Nelson at war, Maureen has never felt more alone. Can she look to a brighter future? And will she find the true happiness she’s dreamt of?

An utterly gripping and heart-wrenching story about the enduring power of love, hope and friendship during the darkest of days. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costeloe, Kitty Neale and Ellie Dean.

What readers are saying about When We Danced at the End of the Pier:

A beautiful and emotional read. I don’t think I can remember the last time a book moved me to tears so many times whilst reading it. I shed tears of happiness as well as sadness. This is one author who creates characters that will totally capture the readers hearts and I know that them and their story will remain with me for a very long time to come.’ By the Letter Book Reviews

What an amazing, sensitively written, emotional, poignant and absolutely wonderful story! The author's writing is exquisite and we are drawn into Maureen's world, feeling for all the characters every step of the way.’ Renita D’Silva

Oh my word I honestly can't remember the last time a book made me feel so emotional. Well this book made me laugh one minute and bawl my eyes out the next. It was absolutely brilliant. Right from the first page I was glued to it and just didn't want to put it down. Sandy Taylor is one amazing writer and the way she writes and describes the character really pulls you into the story. I can't recommend this book highly enough. It is simply amazing.’ Goodreads Review

‘The story was deeply emotional and moving…All the characters are endearing and touching. The dramatic scenes are heart-wrenching…The author really managed to write a beautiful tale about family, true love and friendship. If you are a bit of a softie, expect a few tears rolling down your cheeks!La Biblio De Caro

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2490 KB
  • Print Length: 362 pages
  • Publisher: Bookouture (31 March 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01MS4446F
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #48,028 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
329 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 20 April 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 28 February 2019
Format: Audible AudiobookVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 9 June 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 13 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 13 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 13 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Top international reviews

Lynette Burgess
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandy Taylor Triology Books.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 May 2017
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Brenda
5.0 out of 5 stars "Bloody"loved this book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 April 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Ms. N. Franklin
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Story, makes you laugh and cry throughout
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 January 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Sue.Ok
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 May 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
harveysmum
5.0 out of 5 stars A “must read” for people of Brighton in the 1940s to the end of WW2. But please read in order.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 January 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
craggie
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 June 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
penny
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 March 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Rosalind Fry
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 January 2020
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Elaine Fryatt
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 July 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Vivi48
5.0 out of 5 stars When we danced at the end of the pier
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 September 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Real life as it was then
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 April 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Bruce Townsend.
5.0 out of 5 stars Latest read.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 January 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Sharon Maas
5.0 out of 5 stars A four-hanky read! Pure nostalgia. Set in Brighton ...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 April 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
lilly
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 December 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
jean
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow bloody brilliant.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 May 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse