Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

When Breath Becomes Air by [Kalanithi, Paul]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

When Breath Becomes Air Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 52 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 258 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $7.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

"A vital book about dying. Awe-inspiring and exquisite. Obligatory reading for the living." (Nigella Lawson)

"Rattling. Heartbreaking. Beautiful." (Atul Gawande, author of BEING MORTAL)

"A great, indelible book ... as intimate and illuminating as Atul Gawande’s “Being Mortal,” to cite only one recent example of a doctor’s book that has had exceptionally wide appeal ... I guarantee that finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option ... gripping from the start ... None of it is maudlin. Nothing is exaggerated. As he wrote to a friend: “It’s just tragic enough and just imaginable enough.” And just important enough to be unmissable." (New York Times)

"Powerful and poignant." (The Sunday Times)

"Less a memoir than a reflection on life and purpose… A vital book." (The Economist)

"Extraordinary…Remarkable… luminous, revelatory memoir about mortality and what makes being alive meaningful ... Lyrical, intimate, insistent and profound. Kalanithi had the mind of the polymath and the ear of a poet." (Heather Hodson Daily Telegraph)

"Powerful and poignant… Elegantly written posthumous memoir… Should be compulsory for anyone who intends to be a doctor… A profound reflection on the meaning of life." (Daisy Goodwin Sunday Times)

"A stark, fascinating, well-written and heroic memoir." (Stefanie Marsh The Times)

"The power of this book lies in its eloquent insistence that we are all confronting our mortality every day, whether we know it or not. The real question we face, Kalanithi writes, is not how long, but rather how, we will live – and the answer does not appear in any medical textbook." (Alice Okeeffe Guardian)

"Exceptional." (Katie Law Evening Standard)

Book Description

For readers of Atul Gawande?s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh?s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1811 KB
  • Print Length: 258 pages
  • Publisher: Vintage Digital (4 February 2016)
  • Sold by: PRH UK
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0165X8WN2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 52 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #2,166 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

TOP 500 REVIEWER
20 June 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
28 March 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
3 May 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
1 June 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
11 March 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 August 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
2 February 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
6 August 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews


Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?