You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
When Breath Becomes Air by [Kalanithi, Paul]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

When Breath Becomes Air Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 62 customer reviews

See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 258 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $7.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Browse our most popular books based on sales
Find your next great read. Shop best selling books

Product description

Review

"I guarantee that finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option. . . . Part of this book's tremendous impact comes from the obvious fact that its author was such a brilliant polymath. And part comes from the way he conveys what happened to him--passionately working and striving, deferring gratification, waiting to live, learning to die--so well. None of it is maudlin. Nothing is exaggerated. As he wrote to a friend: 'It's just tragic enough and just imaginable enough.' And just important enough to be unmissable."--Janet Maslin, The New York Times

"Paul Kalanithi's memoir, When Breath Becomes Air, written as he faced a terminal cancer diagnosis, is inherently sad. But it's an emotional investment well worth making: a moving and thoughtful memoir of family, medicine and literature. It is, despite its grim undertone, accidentally inspiring."--The Washington Post

"Paul Kalanithi's posthumous memoir, When Breath Becomes Air, possesses the gravity and wisdom of an ancient Greek tragedy. . . . [Kalanithi] delivers his chronicle in austere, beautiful prose. The book brims with insightful reflections on mortality that are especially poignant coming from a trained physician familiar with what lies ahead. . . . The narrative voice is so assured and powerful that you almost expect him to survive his own death and carry on describing what happened to his friends and family after he is gone."--The Boston Globe

"Devastating and spectacular . . . [Kalanithi] is so likeable, so relatable, and so humble, that you become immersed in his world and forget where it's all heading."--USA Today

"It's [Kalanithi's] unsentimental approach that makes When Breath Becomes Air so original--and so devastating. . . . Its only fault is that the book, like his life, ends much too early."--Entertainment Weekly

"[When Breath Becomes Air] split my head open with its beauty."--Cheryl Strayed

"Rattling, heartbreaking, and ultimately beautiful, the too-young Dr. Kalanithi's memoir is proof that the dying are the ones who have the most to teach us about life."--Atul Gawande

"Thanks to When Breath Becomes Air, those of us who never met Paul Kalanithi will both mourn his death and benefit from his life. This is one of a handful of books I consider to be a universal donor--I would recommend it to anyone, everyone."--Ann Patchett

"Dr. Kalanithi describes, clearly and simply, and entirely without self-pity, his journey from innocent medical student to professionally detached and all-powerful neurosurgeon to helpless patient, dying from cancer. Every doctor should read this book--written by a member of our own tribe, it helps us understand and overcome the barriers we all erect between ourselves and our patients as soon as we are out of medical school."--Henry Marsh, author of Do No Harm: Stories of Life, Death, and Brain Surgery

Book Description

For readers of Atul Gawande?s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh?s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1811 KB
  • Print Length: 258 pages
  • Publisher: Vintage Digital (4 February 2016)
  • Sold by: PRH UK
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0165X8WN2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 62 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #3,258 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

62 customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 62 reviews

TOP 1000 REVIEWER
20 June 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
3 May 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
15 September 2018
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
review imagereview image
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
28 March 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
1 January 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
22 October 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
11 March 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
1 June 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?