$22.34
& FREE Delivery on orders over $39.00 . Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
The Water Cure has been added to your Cart
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Water Cure Paperback – 28 May 2018

3.6 out of 5 stars 181 ratings

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$22.34
$22.34
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Free expedited shipping on products sold by Amazon AU when you purchase select books. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently bought together

  • The Water Cure
  • +
  • Normal People
Total Price: $34.34
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Hamish Hamilton; 1 edition (28 May 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0241337348
  • ISBN-13: 978-0241337349
  • Product Dimensions: 15 x 1.6 x 20 cm
  • Boxed-product Weight: 349 g
  • Customer Reviews: 3.6 out of 5 stars181 customer ratings
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 111,284 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product description

Review

Bold, inventive, haunting... With shades of Margaret Atwood and Eimear McBride, you'll be bowled over by it (Stylist (61 Books to Read This Spring))

Tempest-like... [An] eerie, uncanny literary debut... Beautifully written, pared down [and] hypnotic (Sunday Times Culture)

In raw, visceral prose, Mackintosh probes at ideas of the threat of male violence, the ways women are told to protect ourselves, love and sisterhood and survival. A hypnotic, stormy book, with one of my favourite endings I've read in a long while (The Pool)

Stunning... A haunting story of abuse, death, and desire... Chilling and topical, a breathtaking debut (Dazed)

Compulsive, eerily gorgeous prose, [it] will have you gripped until the end... A film adaptation feels inevitable... As far as debuts go, this is superb (Irish Times)

Powerfully unsettling, immensely assured, calmly devastating. It conjures a world both alien and familiar, exploring the physical and psychological cruelties enacted on women, by men, in the name of their protection, and the noble and ignoble uses to which anger can be put in a perverse world. This is a gem of a novel, and I was bowled over by it (Katherine Angel, author of 'Unmastered')

Eerily beautiful, this strange, unsettling novel creeps up and grabs hold of you (Paula Hawkins, author of 'The Girl on the Train')

[A] wildly confident debut... Take the strange social ceremonies of Yorgos Lanthimos' The Lobster and the pheromone-rich claustrophobia of Sophia Coppola's The Beguiled and you come close to the world Sophie Mackintosh conjures (AnOther Magazine)

Searing, richly drawn, eerily compelling... As foreboding in what it holds back as in what it reveals (Stylist)

Electric [and] beautifully strange... Her novel is an exercise in minimalism (Times Literary Supplement)

Book Description

Dreamlike and compulsive, a blazing literary debut about love, violence and survival at any cost. For fans of Hot Milk, The Girls and The Handmaid's Tale.

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5
181 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 20 August 2018
Verified Purchase

Top international reviews

Audrey Haylins
2.0 out of 5 stars Like being on a slow train to nowhere on a foggy day
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 July 2019
Verified Purchase
18 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Zubs J Malik
4.0 out of 5 stars Very different to anything I have ever read before
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 May 2019
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Rosie
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 November 2018
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Gemma - Read A Book Gem
2.0 out of 5 stars Did not live up to the hype
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 May 2019
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Allie
4.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary and thought provoking book.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 July 2019
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Jane Aland
3.0 out of 5 stars A languid, feminist fable.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 May 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Ms. S. Baxter
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing read but I didn’t agree / understand the blurb ...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 June 2018
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
HLeuschel
5.0 out of 5 stars Otherworldly, haunting and unsparing!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 May 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
David Westbrooke
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent but was hoping for something slightly more
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 January 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
PP Prong
4.0 out of 5 stars Curious Liquid
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
sg99
4.0 out of 5 stars Clean cut, touching novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 February 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
LJBentley
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Maisey
1.0 out of 5 stars I didn’t get it 😔
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 July 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Mrs R Buntwal
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 June 2018
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
F B.
5.0 out of 5 stars One of best books I've read for a long time
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 May 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse