Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Embed>
Uprooted by [Novik, Naomi]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Uprooted Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 32 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Length: 448 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $12.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

New Year New You Sale
Choose from over 100 top-rated Self-Help, Fitness and Health books on sale to kick start your new year. Sale ends on 31 January 2019 at 11:59 pm AEDT. Shop now

Product description

Review

"Uprooted has leapt forward to claim the title of Best Book I've Read Yet This Year. . . . Moving, heartbreaking, and thoroughly satisfying, Uprooted is the fantasy novel I feel I've been waiting a lifetime for. Clear your schedule before picking it up, because you won't want to put it down."--NPR

"A very enjoyable fantasy with the air of a modern classic . . . Naomi Novik skillfully takes the fairy-tale-turned-bildungsroman structure of her premise . . . and builds enough flesh on those bones to make a very different animal. . . . The vivid characters around her also echo their fairy-tale forebears, but are grounded in real-world ambivalence that makes this book feel quietly mature, its world lived-in."--The New York Times Book Review

"Novik here delivers a tale that is funny and fast-paced, laced with hair-raising battle scenes and conspiracies; it also touches on deeper ecological concerns we grapple with today."--The Washington Post

"Novik takes us on a surprise-filled journey. . . . The resulting warmth and intimacy provide a nicely nurturing environment for her heroine's unusual adventures."--The Seattle Times

"Breathtaking . . . [Novik] weaves a tale that is both elegantly grand and earthily humble, familiar as a Grimm fairy tale yet fresh, original, and totally irresistible. This will be a must-read for fantasy fans for years to come."--Pubilshers Weekly (starred review)

"Drawing on her Polish heritage and fairy-tale tropes, [Novik] has penned an original and fully realized fantastical place guaranteed to enthrall her longtime fans and attract new readers. This exceptional fantasy for adult and teen readers should appeal to those who love fairy-tale influenced stories such as Robin McKinley's Spindle's End."--Library Journal (starred review)

"Every so often you come upon a story that seems like a lost tale of Grimm newly come to light. Uprooted is such a novel. Its narrative spell is confidently wrought and sympathetically cast. I might even call it bewitching."--Gregory Maguire, bestselling author of Wicked and Egg & Spoon

"The magic in Uprooted, with its realistic moral dimension, is so vividly believable that it almost seems you could work the spells. But the book will do that for you."--Ursula K. Le Guin, award-winning and bestselling author of The Earthsea cycle

"Uprooted has everything I love: a great heroine, new takes on old myths and legends, and surprising twists and turns. A delight."--Cassandra Clare, New York Times bestselling author of The Mortal Instruments series

"Magical and practical, otherworldly and planted in the real, I could not stop reading this book and neither will you!"--Tamora Pierce, New York Times bestselling author of Trickster's Choice and Trickster's Queen

"Wild, thrilling, and deeply, darkly magical. An instant classic."--Lev Grossman, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Magicians Trilogy

Book Description

From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2005 KB
  • Print Length: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Tor UK; Air Iri OME edition (1 June 2015)
  • Sold by: Macmillan (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00UBL1GGK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 32 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #10,327 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

32 customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 32 reviews

10 September 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
12 April 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
1 January 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
13 June 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
17 May 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
23 November 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
25 June 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
4 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?


Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?