Buying Options

Kindle Price: $5.54
includes tax, if applicable
kindle unlimited logo
Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Facebook Twitter Pinterest <Embed>
Torch Song: A Kickass Heroine, A Post-Apocalyptic World: Book One Of The Blackjack Trilogy by [Singer, Shelley]
Kindle App Ad

Torch Song: A Kickass Heroine, A Post-Apocalyptic World: Book One Of The Blackjack Trilogy Kindle Edition


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$5.54
Audible, Unabridged

Length: 409 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English
  • Similar books to Torch Song: A Kickass Heroine, A Post-Apocalyptic World: Book One Of The Blackjack Trilogy

Summer Sale
Choose from over 200 Kindle Books on sale at up to 70% off. Sale ends on 24 February 2019 at 11:59 pm AEDT. Shop now

Product description

Product Description

IT’S 2066. AND YOU CAN'T TRUST ANYBODY…

"Fast-paced action and a decisive, strong-minded heroine make this a good choice for fans of the postapocalyptic thrillers." --Library Journal
Fans of Lisbeth Salander of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Katniss Everdeen of The Hunger Games will love Rica Marin, a new kickass, gunslinging heroine.
Rica Marin’s a mercenary—a hired gun, soldier, and spy who answers only to whoever can keep her in the meds she and her only living relative need to survive the plagues that scourge the earth after biological warfare’s wiped out pretty much everything.

It’s a strange world that’s left—composed of tiny city-states like Redwood, Sierra, and Rocky—run with a variety of futuristic machines and broken-down ones. Fancy new cars float as well as roll, but the Internet’s now so glitchy you can't even blog properly—newspapers have come back! So many machines are in disrepair that a fixer in this world isn't someone who rigs elections or cleans up after murders—it’s a person who can repair both an elevator and an ancient toilet. But roving bands of bandits, godders, causies, breeders, khakis, and toxies threaten to destroy what’s just been fixed.

Anywhere there are people—however few—there’ll be power plays, and Rica’s current job at the Blackjack Casino is to run interference between the warring clans of Tahoe, in tiny Sierra. But then the city-state of Rocky gets ambitious. And that means war.

" ...truly one of those books that the reader simply cannot set aside until completion. A story whose pace is akin to the speed of a rocket-launcher missile, Blackjack will grasp any reader by the throat and hang on till the end. What characters! What plotting! ... (Torch Song) will linger in the mind for long after the completion, with the question ringing: Could a near-future like this actually occur?" —Euro-Reviews

WHO WILL LIKE IT: Fans of THE HUNGER GAMES Trilogy, The Millennium Trilogy, and post-apocalyptic thrillers and dystopian fiction. Think LEGEND for adults, or a literary expansion of THE BOOK OF ELI.

"Shelley Singer does an excellent job of describing a bleak future of the US.... Shelley’s world is dark and gritty with complex characters and an intriguing theme." -- Night Owl Reviews

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 4395 KB
  • Print Length: 409 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: booksBnimble (14 February 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00IGK6UNW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #278,429 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

click to open popover

No customer reviews


Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.8 out of 5 stars 52 reviews
Karen
3.0 out of 5 starsGood and bad balanced out in this slow-paced, well-written post-apocalyptic tale
1 September 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful.
Kindle Customer
2.0 out of 5 starsNot Impressed
1 July 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
Marla Burke
4.0 out of 5 starsWell paced, plausible plot, leaves you wanting the next one
5 July 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful.
Marissa
2.0 out of 5 starsHad the potential for greatness, fell short.
29 March 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful.
Homesteader
5.0 out of 5 starsDifferent, in a good way
22 March 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful.