You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $16.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
That Sugar Book by [Gameau, Damon]
Kindle App Ad

That Sugar Book Kindle Edition

3.7 out of 5 stars 10 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$16.99

Browse our most popular books based on sales
Find your next great read. Shop best selling books

Product description

Book Description

BASED ON THE DOCUMENTARY, THAT SUGAR FILM, THIS IS AN EXPLOSIVE EXPOSÉ OF THE DANGERS OF SUGAR.

Product Description

Fun, feisty and fired up, That Sugar Book is set to change the eating habits of a generation.

"A definite must-read!" Jamie Oliver

When Australian actor and filmmaker Damon Gameau met a girl he was keen to impress he decided to get healthy by dramatically reducing his sugar intake. In no time he was slimmer, calmer, fitter and happier. He was also very curious: why did the elimination of sugar have such beneficial effects on his health and wellbeing? He decided to experiment and film the results. He would eat 40 teaspoons of sugar a day for 60 days. Crucially, he would only consume perceived 'healthy' foods like muesli bars, breakfast cereals, low-fat yoghurts, juices and smoothies.

The results were staggering. Although his caloric intake was the same as his regular diet, he put on nearly 9 kilograms in 60 days. Within a couple of weeks, he had the beginnings of fatty liver disease. Doctors who monitored his health throughout warned him that he was on the road to obesity, diabetes and heart disease. His journey took him not just down a path to ill health, but to outback Australia and to the backblocks of the USA. He interviewed food manufacturers, health experts and large-scale consumers of the white stuff. He discovered that 80 per cent of products on our supermarket shelves contain sugar, and that 5.5 million Australians have fatty liver disease directly linked to their sugar consumption.

That Sugar Book follows Damon on his journey and blows the lid on how the food industries make and sell our food, and how they are complicit in, and indeed determined to, maintain the status quo on the world's alarming and health-destroying sugar consumption. In also contains sensible advice on kicking the habit, foods to avoid, how to shop, how to read labels and how to cook sugar-free food, with the help of over thirty delicious, nurturing and easily prepared recipes.

Released in conjunction with That Sugar Film, the book contains all the information from the film plus the wonderful bits they were forced to leave out.

"This book will have you sprinting away from sugar faster than Usain Bolt in a 100m race." Courier Mail

Fans of Sarah Wilson and David Gillespie will love That Sugar Book.

This is a specially formatted fixed layout ebook that retains the look and feel of the print book.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 73746 KB
  • Print Length: 239 pages
  • Publisher: Macmillan Australia (3 June 2015)
  • Sold by: Macmillan (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00YRC396E
  • Text-to-Speech: Not enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars 10 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #112,879 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

10 customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

14 September 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 February 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
25 September 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
13 November 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
21 May 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
14 August 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
2 October 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 February 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?