9 New from $23.23
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Taster Paperback – 30 January 2018

4.4 out of 5 stars 469 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback
$23.23
Digital

Releases March 2, 2021. Pre-order Beyond Order: 12 More Rules for Life now with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Order now
click to open popover

Releases March 2, 2021. Pre-order Beyond Order: 12 More Rules for Life now with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Order now

Product details

  • ASIN : 1496712277
  • Publisher : Kensington (30 January 2018)
  • Language: : English
  • Paperback : 336 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 9781496712271
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1496712271
  • Dimensions : 13.97 x 2.21 x 20.93 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 469 ratings

Product description

Review

"An absorbing, well-researched story that brings to life an extraordinary period in history, told from within the inner circle of one of the twentieth-century's most notorious characters." --Gill Paul, USA Today bestselling author of The Secret Wife

"Alexander tells the thrilling stories of Magda's rise through the upper echelon of Nazi loyalists, the intrigue and rumors swirling around the German war effort, and the downfall of the party, in 1945. He does not glorify Hitler and the horrors of the Nazis but marries history and fiction in an attempt to humanize the citizens swept up in the turbulence of the times. This haunting and engrossing novel will appeal to fans of Anthony Doerr and Kristin Hannah." --Booklist

"Alexander's intimate writing style gives readers openings to wonder about what tough decisions they would have made in Magda's situation. The 'taster's' story adds to a body of nuanced World War II fiction such as Elizabeth Wein's Code Name Verity, Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See, and Tatiana de Rosnay's Sarah's Key. Book clubs and historical fiction fans will love discussing this and will eagerly await more from Alexander." --Library Journal

"Alexander sweeps readers into a different WWII novel, exploring the inner circle at Hitler's mountain retreat through the eyes of a German girl. This well-researched novel allows readers an intimate glimpse into Hitler's mental state, Eva Braun's place in his life, and his war strategies. Alexander deliberately changes what could be a tense portrait of the era into a calm picture of the bucolic lifestyle of the retreat. Yet, readers still feel the tension between the Nazis, the ordinary German people, and the resistance, as one woman is caught in a mora dilemma with only her courage to keep her alive. Certainly, this book is an interesting reimagining of a key moment in history." --RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars

"A totally gripping and credible imagining of how a young German woman was affected by the building chaos and cruelty during the late stages of Hitler's rule. It gains its power through the very special perspective of its main character, who is also the narrator...Through her, Mr. Alexander creates an impressive and engaging novel that humanizes historical events and provides the rich texture of a life meeting momentous challenges in momentous times. The Taster has a few similarities with his earlier The Magdalen Girls. Both involve a community of women living in severely confined situations. Both offer an unusually complex, nuanced rendering of a young woman's personality (unusual, that is, for a male writer). And both demonstrate a great talent for blending recovered fact with vivid imagination." --Florida Weekly

About the Author

V.S. Alexander is an ardent student of history with a strong interest in music and the visual arts. Some of V.S.'s writing influences include Shirley Jackson, Oscar Wilde, Daphne du Maurier, or any work by the exquisite Brontë sisters. V.S. lives in Florida and is at work on a third historical novel for Kensington.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
469 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Sue R
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 July 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
random
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor writing and a weak plot
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 October 2019
Verified Purchase
dollydrops
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring simple book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 July 2020
Verified Purchase
MR A F LOVE
1.0 out of 5 stars My struggle on the Obersalzburg.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 September 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Sarahj
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 February 2019
Verified Purchase