You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Pre-order price: $5.13
includes tax, if applicable
This title will be auto-delivered to your Kindle on 2 January 2020.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Loading recommendations for you
Recommendations for you

Adding to Cart...

Added to Cart

Not Added

Item is in your Cart

View Cart

Not Added

There was a problem adding this item to Cart. Please try again later.
Sorry, we're having trouble showing recommendations right now. Please try again later.
Continue shopping
The Surplus Girls: An enthralling saga of love and bravery, perfect for fans of Lyn Andrews and Lily Baxter by [Heron, Polly]
Kindle App Ad

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Surplus Girls: An enthralling saga of love and bravery, perfect for fans of Lyn Andrews and Lily Baxter Kindle Edition


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$5.13

Amazon Outlet Store
Shop thousands of discounted overstock products from Amazon Outlet Store Shop now

Product description

Product Description

Manchester, 1922.

Belinda Layton is a surplus girl. One of the many women whose dreams of marriage perished in the Great War, with the death of her beloved fiancé Ben. After four years of mourning, she finally feels ready to face whatever her future holds without him. But Ben's family can't countenance her putting him to rest, while her own family - well, all they care about is getting hold of her meagre factory wages.

When Belinda joins a secretarial class to try to better herself, little does she imagine that it will open up a whole new world to her. For not only does she learn to type, but she meets the beguiling bookshop owner Richard Carson... And falls head over heels in love. But who is this man that she has trusted with her heart, and what does he really want?

As Belinda fights to follow her dreams, can she move forwards from all the devastation and loss, and take a chance at happiness?

About the Author

Polly Heron has worked as a librarian specialising in work with schools and children, an infant teacher, a carer and a cook. She lives in Llandudno in North Wales with her husband and two rescue cats, but her writing is inspired by her Mancunian roots. She enjoys reading, gardening, needlework and cooking and she loves living by the sea.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Publisher: Corvus (2 January 2020)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07V39X5BB
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #306,707 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

No customer reviews

5 star (0%) 0%
4 star (0%) 0%
3 star (0%) 0%
2 star (0%) 0%
1 star (0%) 0%

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers