Buying Options

Kindle Price: $4.74
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Summer in Greece: Escape to paradise this summer with the perfect romantic holiday read by [Patricia Wilson]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Summer in Greece: Escape to paradise this summer with the perfect romantic holiday read Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 223 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.74

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

This book would for me have been a perfect beach read. Instead it made a great lockdown read as I sat in my garden with a glass of rose, imagining I was on holiday ― Fab After Fifty

We race to the end with our hearts thumping. Full of local colour and tradition this is a little slow to start but certainly builds to unexpected conclusions. Terrific stuff ― Love Reading, on Villa of Secrets

Full of raw emotion ― Sunday Post, on Villa of Secrets

One for the suitcase - whether real or imaginary. You'll feel you're in Greece as soon as you start reading ― Frost Magazine, on Secrets of Santorini

Packed with intrigue, danger and romance, Wilson's passion for the classics and an endless fascination with foraging into the vibrant corners of history, this is a poignant and beautifully written story best read on a sunlounger with a glass of chilled ouzo ― Lancashire Telegraph, on Secrets of Santorini

Wilson delves into Greece's war-torn history, weaving the past and present together to create an evocative and emotional drama that tugs at the heartstrings. It's an equally enjoyable novel whether you're hiding inside from the British rain or lounging outside in the sun ― Culture Fly --This text refers to the paperback edition.

About the Author

Patricia Wilson was born in Liverpool, has lived on Crete and is now settled on Rhodes. She was first inspired to write when she unearthed a rusted machine gun in her garden - one used in the events that unfolded during World War II on the island of Crete. The now elderly women involved in those events told Patricia their story, and her celebrated debut Island of Secrets (150k copies sold) was the result. --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08L7MLDM7
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Zaffre (15 April 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 3435 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 478 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 223 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Hi there,

This is where I tell you about myself and my books? Okay, here goes. I’m English, the eldest of seven, six amazing brothers and sisters; born on the Wirral, Merseyside. I retired to Greece 25 years ago. While living in a remote mountain village on the island of Crete, I dug up a rusted machine gun in my garden. After investigating the tragic story behind the weapon, I wrote ISLAND of SECRETS, a family saga - historical fiction, which sold 125,000 copies in Europe in twelve weeks.

I have since moved to the Greek island of Rhodes and written my second novel, VILLA of SECRETS also a family saga based on a true story of injustice. Walk through the castellated city of Rhodes and see the places where it all happened. Even as I was writing the story, new things came to light, a door in the main police station was unlocked for the first time in 70 years and some amazing information appeared. VILLA of SECRETS received rave reviews and went straight into the Sunday Times top 15 books.

My next novel was influenced by a piece of pottery bearing strange symbols. While investigating what it might be about, I discovered the ancient history of Santorini according to myth and legend. Santorini, an island ruled by women, had a strong connection to Crete, and involved a great mystery regarding the disappearance of its people. SECRETS of SANTORINI came out in 2019 and remains a best seller to date.

2020 brought my novel, GREEK ISLAND EXCAPE, and the coronavirus! The closure of all bookshops arrived with the pandemic. Nevertheless, the reviews have been outstanding. I think this is because we can all put ourselves in the position of a mother searching for her missing daughter. This tearjerker revolves around Athens and Crete and takes place in the most difficult times in Greek history, 60's to 70's. Once again, it is inspired by a true story though I am sworn under oath to keep the singer's name a secret. This is my favourite novel so far. Such an agonizing love story! And the end... well...

At this point in time, May 2020, I am writing my next novel which will be released in the spring of 2021. It's such a lovely story, based on the smaller Greek islands, history, and present day events. I can't wait to see it published and on the shelves, and I hope some people who are connected to the real live event contact me. Watch this space for a release date.

I’m thrilled when a reader tells me she enjoys my novel, particularly if she leaves a review on Amazon. After all, I spend a whole year researching and writing for my audience, it's good to know I haven't wasted my efforts. Best wishes, Patricia X

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
223 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Lucy
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant book from Patricia Wilson
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 April 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant book from Patricia Wilson
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 April 2021
I love books that awaken my interest in parts of history I previously knew nothing about and I have read all of Patricia's books (apart from Secrets of Santorni) and have gotten so much out of each of them. Patricia's books will appeal to anyone who loves novels that entwine a modern day story with a historical foundation, in a similar vein of Victoria Hislop and some of Rosanna Ley's books too. I knew nothing about the WW1 hospital ships in WW1 and thanks not only to this great novel but the informative notes offered by Patricia at the end of the book, I have been able to learn so much more about nursing in WW1 plus loggerhead turtles and dolphins too!
Amazon often say Patricia Wilson's books are perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Lucinda Riley, and they may well. But for me Patricia offers so much more than fictional escapism. You will love this book if you love Greece, but as with Patricia's previous books, you'll get more than an entertaining read that transports you to the blue skies and seas of the Aegean, as it will also transport you back in time and maybe awaken your interest in a ship that has been overshadowed by it's sister ship, the Titanic.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
S Wood
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer in Greece
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 September 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
ScotsgirlinWales
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting story of love and sacrifice.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 June 2021
Verified Purchase
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Another intriguingly intertwined story from Patricia
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 October 2021
Verified Purchase
Tiggywinkle
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 June 2021
Verified Purchase