$93.90 + FREE Delivery
Only 5 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by BuyGlobal.
$93.90 + FREE Delivery
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Strings of Murder Hardcover – 3 May 2016

4.3 out of 5 stars 148 ratings

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$93.90
$93.90

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • The Strings of Murder
  • +
  • A Fever of the Blood
  • +
  • The Darker Arts
Total Price: $149.14
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Hardcover: 412 pages
  • Publisher: Pegasus Books (3 May 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1681771322
  • ISBN-13: 978-1681771328
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 3.6 x 22.9 cm
  • Boxed-product Weight: 590 g
  • Customer Reviews: 4.3 out of 5 stars148 customer ratings

Product description

Review

A great Victorian gothic romp. This should build into a lovely series.

A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery.--Marilyn Stasio

De Muriel's debut offers nonviolinists ghostly, ghastly apparitions, unappealing accounts of unspeakable pub meals, and a steady drip of Had-I-But-Known foreshadowing and backshadowing.

Detailed historical context, spine-tingling occult overtones, and witty characterization create a gripping story. Fans of Alec Grecian's and Will Thomas' gritty Victorian tales will want to see more of Frey.

I enjoyed this--properly creepy and Gothic.--Ian Rankin, New York Times bestselling author

The numerous plot twists are likely to keep readers turning the pages. Entertaining and briskly paced.

The relationship between the two detectives and Oscar de Muriel's sparkling dialogue really elevate this murder mystery. Great wit and humor are on display as the cops gradually learn to appreciate each other's skills and intelligence, all the while sparring with great gusto. With such a colorful background, intriguing characters and a satisfyingly twisting plot, The Strings of Murder is a pleasure to read.

This is wonderful. A brilliant, moving, clever, lyrical book?. I loved it. Oscar de Muriel is going to be a name to watch.--Manda Scott

Well-written with colorful characters and relatable developments. Recommended without hesitation.

About the Author

Oscar de Muriel is a violinist, translator, and chemist--and the author of three other novels in this popular series, The Strings of Murder, A Fever of the Blood, and A Mask of Shadows. He lives in England.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
148 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
Reviewed in Australia on 14 August 2016
Verified Purchase
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 28 May 2016
Reviewed in Australia on 15 February 2015
Reviewed in Australia on 1 August 2017

Top international reviews

Kathy J
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock meets X-files
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 November 2018
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Matahari
5.0 out of 5 stars A great paradoxical telling of an original tale - more strings than you might think
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 March 2016
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Wonky Witch -
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Elaine Tomasso
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 February 2016
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
DarrenB
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
tallmanbaby
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillig were the slithy coves
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 January 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
penny
3.0 out of 5 stars THE STRINGS OF MURDER
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars This pulls no strings!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 October 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Prometheus
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Victorian thriller.......
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 April 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Odette
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A GEM!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 February 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Stromsgard III
5.0 out of 5 stars Good mix of Sherlock Holmes and X-Files
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 January 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
C A PEPPER
5.0 out of 5 stars well written
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 February 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Tone the Cone
4.0 out of 5 stars A great start to a Victorian Detective duo.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 April 2016
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Arthur
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed this refreshing new novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 March 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
High toned sob
5.0 out of 5 stars Victorian thriller
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 August 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse