You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Digital List Price: $30.41
Kindle Price: $10.69

Save $19.72 (65%)

includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Stray by [Craw, Rachael]
Kindle App Ad

Stray Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$10.69

Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled
Language: English

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

Evie is a Shield: designed to kill in order to protect, and the Affinity Project have finally come for her. But Evie isn’t ready for the sinister organisation to take control of her life, her body, her mind. She isn’t ready to follow their rules about who may live and who must die – not when it condemns the innocent. She has one option: risk losing everything and everyone – including Jamie – and run.



Stray is the second novel in a gripping young adult science fiction series by award-winning New Zealand author Rachael Craw. This thriller is perfect for fans of Vampire Academy, Matched and Divergent. Love, chaos, murder ... it all began with a spark. How will it end? Read Shield (Book 3) to find out! Discover more about the Affinity Project in the short story Black Room or enter into the mind of a Stray in Kill Switch.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1407 KB
  • Publisher: Walker; 1 edition (1 September 2015)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00YDLLXTY
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #88,021 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

click to open popover

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
Stray opens a short while after Spark ends. Evie has recovered from her injuries, and she and Kitty are heading to the school dance. Unfortunately, neither of them realise the effect that alcohol has on Evie's enhanced metabolism, and things get a little out of hand before Jamie needs to take her home. This opening injects some much needed lightness, and romance, into what quickly becomes an action packed thrill ride of a book.

Evie has plans to free her newly found brother, but Affinity are not going to make it easy. Neither is Jamie, who is worried about the possible threat to Kitty. Evie will have to choose sides and risk those she loves most in order to uphold her principles.

There are more surprises for Evie in this installment, as well as her fair share of heartbreak. Spark managed some surprising revelations and Stray continues in this vein, with twists and turns aplenty.

There are some great new characters introduced in Stray, in particular The Proxy, who is a strange and chilling character.

It really is best to read Stray in as few sittings as possible. My reading of it was quite disjointed, and because the action is quite fast paced at times, it took some effort on my part to get back into the story. So if you can devote a block of time to reading this all in one go, I would highly recommend it.
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Wow! I was left shell-shocked and breathless after reading this book. I loved Spark and expected Stray to be just as good, but WOW! Craw out did herself.

This series, this book, is outstanding. It has everything - romance, mystery, excitement, twists and turns and thrills. There's nothing I don't like. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Nic w on 9 October 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
loved it
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liked Spark. LOVED Stray 4 September 2015
By Kate - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
After anticipating the release of Stray for so long I was anxious to see if it would meet my rather high expectations.

Truth is it doesn’t meet them – it exceeds them in every way possible.

Spark ended with Evie starting a relationship with Jamie, neutralizing the threat against Kitty and generally being a bit of a bad-arse. So where does a story with such a strong beginning go from here?

To a fancy dress party of course!

Craw does a fantastic job at combining the futuristic DNA altered superhuman storyline with the real life Evie tries to maintain. For all her specialness, she is still a teenage girl with many of the same pressures and issues teens face. There’s family drama (although Evie’s family is anything but traditional), boyfriend problems and balancing her new life as a super protector with being a good friend.

And there’s the fast paced action and adventure I loved from the first novel. Stray will keep you guessing just what will happen right up until the end.

One of the things I like most about Stray (and this series in general) is the action and reactions. Evie is not someone who will just sit around when someone she cares about is in trouble. She will do what she thinks is necessary even if it’s dangerous and will land her in trouble. And what’s what I like – there are consequences. Some books you read and it seems that as long as the hero/heroine saves the day then all is forgotten. Not the case for Evie. Her actions all have a cost. After the events in Spark, Affinity are on the scene and Evie is forced to face up to her actions. I loved reading about the somewhat shady Affinity and how their organization works.

Evie’s relationships evolve in Stray. She’s still coming to terms with the secret about her mother and how to deal with her identity. Other members of her family cause Evie much emotional turmoil and it is interesting to see just how Evie deals with it all. I love her interactions with Kitty. Despite everything that has changed in Evie’s life I like that Kitty remains strong as her BFF and encourages Evie to maintain a somewhat typical teenage existence.

And then there’s Jamie. Okay, so I still have issues with his name but I have to admit I adore the boy. He’s a great match for Evie and not just because of their connection on a purely genetic level. Their relationship was a pleasure to read and not just because of the romance. There is romance but there’s also so much more. Their relationship hasn’t changed them as people nor has it fixed all which is wrong with their world. The fact that everything isn’t just sunshine and rainbows because they kissed adds to the realism in this book.

I liked Spark but I absolutely LOVED Stray. This is a series which keeps getting better with each instalment. The characters evolve and the plot gets more exciting with each chapter. After reading this book I can say I’m definitely a lifelong Rachael Craw fan and I can’t wait for the release of Shield (Spark #3).
5.0 out of 5 stars Write Faster Rachael, I want to read Part three ASAP!! 8 October 2015
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A great second installment! Can't wait for the next part. Get writing, Rachael!
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 27 January 2016
By Fiona Boyd - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Excellent read.