<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter: Volume 1 Paperback – 1 August 2017

4.2 out of 5 stars 278 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback, 1 August 2017
$72.00

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Product details

Product description

Review

"Theodora Goss is a wonder. Her elegance, wit and powerful voice pull no punches. A brilliant, deeply felt, and nimble book."--Catherynne M. Valente, Hugo-Award winning author "Theodora Goss' The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter provides a new and altogether mesmerizing revelation for fans of Watson & Holmes, Van Helsing, Jeckyll & Hyde, and Victor Frankenstein: until now, you've only heard half the story. Goss' deft, poetic interweaving of edge-of-the-seat adventure with the artful voices of her characters creates a matryoshka doll of hidden Gothic fiction in the best sense. The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter proves the point that behind every evil genius you'll find a team of fantastic women working to set things right. As if Charlie's Angels, as written by Mary Shelley, took over the Bluestocking Society, with bonus well-mannered explosions. An utterly delightful, transformative read."--Fran Wilde, award-winning author of Updraft, Cloudbound, and Horizon "Theodora Goss' splendid debut novel is a whipsmart look at the truths hiding in the stories - Jekyll and Hyde, Frankenstein, and others - that you might think you know. Full of bravery, adventures, monsters, and sisters, The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter is a rich delight. I loved it, and I can't wait to read the next book."--Kat Howard, author of ROSES AND ROT Theodora Goss' splendid debut novel is a whipsmart look at the truths hiding in the stories - Jekyll and Hyde, Frankenstein, and others - that you might think you know. Full of bravery, adventures, monsters, and sisters, The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter is a rich delight. I loved it, and I can't wait to read the next book. --Kat Howard, author of ROSES AND ROT"

About the Author

Theodora Goss is the World Fantasy Award–winning author of many publications, including the short story collection In the Forest of Forgetting (2006); Interfictions (2007), a short story anthology coedited with Delia Sherman; Voices from Fairyland (2008), a poetry anthology with critical essays and a selection of her own poems; The Thorn and the Blossom (2012), a novella in a two-sided accordion format; and the poetry collection Songs for Ophelia (2014); and the novels, The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter (2017) and European Travel for the Monstrous Gentlewoman (2018). She has been a finalist for the Nebula, Locus, Crawford, Seiun, and Mythopoeic Awards, as well as on the Tiptree Award Honor List, and her work has been translated into eleven languages. She teaches literature and writing at Boston University and in the Stonecoast MFA Program. Visit her at TheodoraGoss.com.

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
278 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
Reviewed in Australia on 19 February 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 8 September 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 27 October 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 17 January 2019

Top international reviews

Carol F
2.0 out of 5 stars Carelessly written modern take on four classic novels
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 May 2019
Verified Purchase
29 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
D. Beecher
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 October 2018
Verified Purchase
25 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
PDH
3.0 out of 5 stars Torn, because of style not substance
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 May 2019
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
twinkletoes
4.0 out of 5 stars Annoying writing style but great storytelling
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 May 2019
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Sam_S
3.0 out of 5 stars Too American to be English
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 August 2019
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Joyless, dull, and borders on the xenophobic
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 June 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kevin Davidson
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun feminist Victorian romp
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 August 2018
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Aspidistra
4.0 out of 5 stars A cheerful romp for the #metoo generation
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 March 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
mrs stone
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 October 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Claire L.
2.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, poorly executed
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 July 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Dr. W. L. Lyon
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Idea, Poor Execution
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 October 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
kat42
4.0 out of 5 stars Good characters and a pleasant read.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 June 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Voirrey
5.0 out of 5 stars My book of the year.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 October 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Mick
1.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea but awful delivery.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 June 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse