$19.14
& FREE Delivery on orders over $49. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
The Strange Case of the A... has been added to your Cart
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$19.14
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Add to Cart
$14.99
+ $11.23 Delivery
Sold by: Amazon US
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter Paperback – 1 Apr 2018

4.6 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$19.14
$14.99
click to open popover

Product details


Product description

Review

“Theodora Goss is a wonder. Her elegance, wit and powerful voice pull no punches. A brilliant, deeply felt, and nimble book.” (Catherynne M. Valente, Hugo-Award winning author)

“Theodora Goss' splendid debut novel is a whipsmart look at the truths hiding in the stories - Jekyll and Hyde, Frankenstein, and others - that you might think you know. Full of bravery, adventures, monsters, and sisters, The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter is a rich delight. I loved it, and I can't wait to read the next book.” (Kat Howard, author of ROSES AND ROT)

"Theodora Goss' The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter provides a new and altogether mesmerizing revelation for fans of Watson & Holmes, Van Helsing, Jeckyll & Hyde, and Victor Frankenstein: until now, you've only heard half the story.  Goss' deft, poetic interweaving of edge-of-the-seat adventure with the artful voices of her characters creates a matryoshka doll of hidden Gothic fiction in the best sense. The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter proves the point that behind every evil genius you'll find a team of fantastic women working to set things right.

 As if Charlie's Angels, as written by Mary Shelley, took over the Bluestocking Society, with bonus well-mannered explosions. An utterly delightful, transformative read." (Fran Wilde, award-winning author of Updraft, Cloudbound, and Horizon)

* "A tour de force of reclaiming the narrative, executed with impressive wit and insight." (Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW)

"An enormously accomplished delight of a book...a brilliant novel." (Liz Bourke)

"A pleasure, especially for fans of Victorian detective stories, classic sf and horror literature, and feminist remakes." (Booklist)

"A delightful romp through Victorian gothic literature, with a decidedly feminist slant." (Library Journal)

"A swiftly paced, immaculately plotted mystery full of winning characters you always thought you knew, as well as ones you would never have imagined." (NPR)

"If you’re looking for adventure, kick-ass ladies, a good mystery, and a touch of the monstrous, look no further—The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter is the brainy, gleefully madcap literary mashup of your dreams." (B&N SciFi & Fantasy Blog)

" Like a literary magpie, Goss snaps up some of the shiniest bits of Victorian popular culture, but she makes them her own, seeing the possibilities beyond the efforts of their original creators and constructing an intelligent and engrossing 21st-century adventure." (The Portland Press Herald)

About the Author

Theodora Goss is the World Fantasy Award–winning author of many publications, including the short story collection In the Forest of Forgetting (2006); Interfictions (2007), a short story anthology coedited with Delia Sherman; Voices from Fairyland (2008), a poetry anthology with critical essays and a selection of her own poems; The Thorn and the Blossom (2012), a novella in a two-sided accordion format; and the poetry collection Songs for Ophelia (2014); and the novels, The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter (2017) and European Travel for the Monstrous Gentlewoman (2018). She has been a finalist for the Nebula, Locus, Crawford, Seiun, and Mythopoeic Awards, as well as on the Tiptree Award Honor List, and her work has been translated into eleven languages. She teaches literature and writing at Boston University and in the Stonecoast MFA Program. Visit her at TheodoraGoss.com.

3 customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

19 February 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
8 September 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
17 January 2019
Format: Kindle Edition

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars 245 reviews
Spooty
3.0 out of 5 starsAn entertaining, light read
27 August 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
42 people found this helpful.
Rene Sears
5.0 out of 5 starsSo happy there's going to a sequel
29 June 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
26 people found this helpful.
Amy
4.0 out of 5 starsThe Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter
4 July 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
22 people found this helpful.