$19.75
  • RRP: $26.99 Details

    Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

    The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
  • You Save: $7.24 (27%)
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter (Volume 1) Paperback – 1 April 2018

4.3 out of 5 stars 660 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$19.75
$19.75
FREE delivery: Friday, 16 April on first order.
Fastest delivery: Thursday, 15 April
Order within 21 hrs and 46 mins

Enhance your purchase


Save on selected Bestselling Children's books.
Includes Bluey, Peter Rabbit, Spot, Peppa Pig, Roald Dahl and more. Click to explore.

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

Frequently bought together

  • The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter (Volume 1)
  • +
  • European Travel for the Monstrous Gentlewoman (Volume 2)
Total Price: $37.45
Buy the selected items together

Save on selected Bestselling Children's books.
Includes Bluey, Peter Rabbit, Spot, Peppa Pig, Roald Dahl and more. Click to explore.

Product details

  • Publisher : Gallery / Saga Press; Reprint edition (1 April 2018)
  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 432 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1481466518
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1481466516
  • Dimensions : 13.97 x 2.79 x 20.96 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 660 ratings

Product description

Review

“Theodora Goss is a wonder. Her elegance, wit and powerful voice pull no punches. A brilliant, deeply felt, and nimble book.” -- Catherynne M. Valente, Hugo-Award winning author

“Theodora Goss' splendid debut novel is a whipsmart look at the truths hiding in the stories - Jekyll and Hyde, Frankenstein, and others - that you might think you know. Full of bravery, adventures, monsters, and sisters, The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter is a rich delight. I loved it, and I can't wait to read the next book.” -- Kat Howard, author of ROSES AND ROT

"Theodora Goss' The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter provides a new and altogether mesmerizing revelation for fans of Watson & Holmes, Van Helsing, Jeckyll & Hyde, and Victor Frankenstein: until now, you've only heard half the story.  Goss' deft, poetic interweaving of edge-of-the-seat adventure with the artful voices of her characters creates a matryoshka doll of hidden Gothic fiction in the best sense. The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter proves the point that behind every evil genius you'll find a team of fantastic women working to set things right.

 As if Charlie's Angels, as written by Mary Shelley, took over the Bluestocking Society, with bonus well-mannered explosions. An utterly delightful, transformative read." -- Fran Wilde, award-winning author of Updraft, Cloudbound, and Horizon

* "A tour de force of reclaiming the narrative, executed with impressive wit and insight." ― Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

"An enormously accomplished delight of a book...a brilliant novel." -- Liz Bourke

"A pleasure, especially for fans of Victorian detective stories, classic sf and horror literature, and feminist remakes." ― Booklist

"A delightful romp through Victorian gothic literature, with a decidedly feminist slant." ― Library Journal

"A swiftly paced, immaculately plotted mystery full of winning characters you always thought you knew, as well as ones you would never have imagined." ― NPR

"If you’re looking for adventure, kick-ass ladies, a good mystery, and a touch of the monstrous, look no further—The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter is the brainy, gleefully madcap literary mashup of your dreams." ― B&N SciFi & Fantasy Blog

" Like a literary magpie, Goss snaps up some of the shiniest bits of Victorian popular culture, but she makes them her own, seeing the possibilities beyond the efforts of their original creators and constructing an intelligent and engrossing 21st-century adventure." ― The Portland Press Herald

About the Author

Theodora Goss is the World Fantasy Award–winning author of many publications, including the short story collection In the Forest of ForgettingInterfictions, a short story anthology coedited with Delia Sherman; Voices from Fairyland, a poetry anthology with critical essays and a selection of her own poems; The Thorn and the Blossom, a novella in a two-sided accordion format; and the poetry collection Songs for Ophelia; and the novels, The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter, European Travel for the Monstrous Gentlewoman, and The Sinister Mystery of the Mesmerizing Girl. She has been a finalist for the Nebula, Locus, Crawford, Seiun, and Mythopoeic Awards, as well as on the Tiptree Award Honor List, and her work has been translated into eleven languages. She teaches literature and writing at Boston University and in the Stonecoast MFA Program. Visit her at TheodoraGoss.com.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
660 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 10 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 11 January 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 19 February 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 8 September 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 27 October 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 17 January 2019

Top reviews from other countries

Kindle Customer
2.0 out of 5 stars Carelessly written modern take on four classic novels
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 May 2019
Verified Purchase
35 people found this helpful
Report abuse
D. Beecher
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 October 2018
Verified Purchase
29 people found this helpful
Report abuse
PDH
3.0 out of 5 stars Torn, because of style not substance
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 May 2019
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Report abuse
twinkletoes
4.0 out of 5 stars Annoying writing style but great storytelling
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 May 2019
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Sam_S
3.0 out of 5 stars Too American to be English
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 August 2019
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse