$11.63
  • RRP: $14.99 Details

    Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

    The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
  • You Save: $3.36 (22%)
FREE delivery: Wednesday, 19 May on first order.
Fastest delivery: Tuesday, 18 May
In stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Storm Keeper’s Island: Storm Keeper Trilogy 1 Paperback – 1 August 2018

4.7 out of 5 stars 341 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$11.63
$11.63

Enhance your purchase


Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • The Storm Keeper’s Island: Storm Keeper Trilogy 1
  • +
  • The Lost Tide Warriors: Storm Keeper Trilogy 2
Total Price: $24.83
Buy the selected items together

Noise: The new book from the authors of ‘Thinking, Fast and Slow’ releases on May 19.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Pre-order now.

Product details

  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Children's Books (1 August 2018)
  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1408896885
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1408896884
  • Reading age : 9 - 12 years
  • Dimensions : 19.8 x 2.1 x 13.1 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 341 ratings

Product description

Review

Wise, warm and wonderfulEoin Colfer, author of the Artemis Fowl series

Like being swept away by the sea Katherine Rundell, author of The Explorer

Funny, dark and blazingly beautifulKiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Girl of Ink & Stars

Destined to become a modern classicLouise O'Neill, author of The Surface Breaks

Flickers with a rare and wonderful magicAbi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song

An enchanting bookMarian Keyes

I miss Fionn and his grandfather and their island as if they were realLauren Wolk, author of Wolf Hollow

A stunning story of courage and hopeCerrie Burnell, author of Harper and the Scarlet Umbrella

The love and hope communicated is perhaps the greatest magic of allHilary McKay, author of The Skylarks' War

I'm on tenterhooks for the next book. Lauren James, author of The Loneliest Girl in the Universe

A warm-hearted tale full of magic, friendship and humour. I could practically smell the ocean salt and feel the glow of the candles whilst turning the pages ― Alex Bell, author of The Polar Bear Explorers' Club

A magical rush of an adventure story about family, bravery, and harnessing the storm within that is thoughtful, funny and exciting all at the same time ... Fionn is a hero to really root forAnna James, author of Pages & Co.

The Storm Keeper's Island will sweep you not just off your feet, but far away across the sea to a sparkling, magical land of classic adventure Piers Torday

An incredible book as full of heart as it is of adventure ... An unforgettable, very special book that you'll want to share with everyone you know ― Katie Tsang, author of Sam Wu Is Not Afraid of Ghosts

Imaginative and exhilarating, The Storm Keeper's Island is a beautiful story that promises more to come ― Rebecca Stead, author of Liar and Spy

This story weaves ancient Celtic magic with a modern-day tale of family bonds, memory, and sibling rivalry ... Fans of Harry Potter or Percy Jackson can add Fionn Boyle as a generous and brave hero from the Emerald Isle ― School Library Connection, starred review

Book Description

The first book in the spellbinding, thrilling Storm Keeper Trilogy by bestselling Catherine Doyle. This magical adventure is already an instant classic - perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Cooper and Katherine Rundell

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
341 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 5 April 2020

Top reviews from other countries

Hollie Anne
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect book to curl up with while the wind is howling outside!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 April 2019
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Miss Joanne E Davies
1.0 out of 5 stars Scary, obtusely written, hard to follow - you CAN have too many metaphors!!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 February 2019
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Merry Bookworm
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical, breathtaking read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 August 2018
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
@ImaginELLA
5.0 out of 5 stars A Marvellous Story full of Magic and Myth...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 July 2019
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars A Marvellous Story full of Magic and Myth...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 July 2019
What a wonderful story. The Storm Keeper’s Island follows Fionn, sent to the island of Arranmore with his sister Tara when his mother becomes too ill to care for him, into the care of his grandfather. Fionn’s grandfather is the Storm Keeper of Arranmore. The maker of storms and wielder of elemental magic that protects against the darkness of ancient sorcery. With Fionn’s arrival, this darkness starts to awaken, leading Fionn to face his fears and protect the people he loves the most. The characters are so full of life and vigour, and really help to propel the story forward by making you care about them. Fionn and Tara have a typical sibling relationship full of bickering and fighting that’s only heightened by Tara’s teenage love for Fionn’s island enemy Bartley. It’s obvious they love each other however, and the sibling bond comes into full effect as the story progresses. It was the relationship between Fionn and his grandfather that really stood out for me the most. It’s a relationship full of joy and a love for each other that’s also tinged with sadness and sentimentality as it develops. It’s a passing of knowledge and stories about the island and their family from a master to the apprentice, told with a sprinkling of magic and mystery. Add to this Fionn’s desperate longing to hear stories about his father, a man who died a hero before he was born, and you get a real sense of love between these characters. Fionn’s desire to see his father Cormac is built upon to create a wonderful bittersweet moment that is both subtle and elegantly done to such an extent that it took me by surprise, yet was also so obviously meant to happen. The writing really is outstanding. The secondary characters we meet throughout the story help support and encourage a feeling of community spirit amongst the islanders. You get the feeling that everyone of the island has a strong familial connection to the area, and will do anything to protect it and their ancient traditions. Any outsider would have a hard time integrating into the island life without a host of eyes casting suspicious glances. The island itself could also be said to be a character in its own right. Descriptions are vivid, and really big to mind a feral and wild environment that’s filled with hidden beauty. It has a personality all of its own that welcomes and calls to Fionn and his desire to be free from his familial responsibilities. The descriptions of the weather also add to this overall atmospheric feel, and allow the reader to become deeply involved in the island. The plot is full of mystery and magic. It’s well paced and the world building is well explored and explained properly. It’s simple, to the point, yet also compelling and believable while retaining a uniqueness about it. The writing contains a hint of folktale about it, you could almost imagine it being told over an open fire like tales of the past. Magical, funny, heart-rending, terrifying - and with plenty more adventures still to come, I’m on tenterhooks for the next book. A superb 5⭐️ read.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Mary McC
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a brilliant start to our summer reading
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 July 2018
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse