$26.01 + FREE Delivery
In stock.
Ships from and sold by BuyGlobal.
$26.01 + FREE Delivery
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$25.97
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Add to Cart
$28.84
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Ria_Christie_Collections
Add to Cart
$27.25
+ $3.00 delivery
Sold by: Rarewaves UK
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Spellslinger Hardcover – 4 May 2017

3.9 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$26.01
$20.12

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Product details


Product description

Review

It has cliff hangers, pace, humour, life lessons, and a memorably feisty squirrel cat * Sunday Times * 'There's room for wit and playfulness amid the high-stakes duels and death matches, and Kellen's career is likely to run and run.' * The Observer * Magic with a wild west flavour, served with flair * Financial Times * On the basis of this first instalment, which introduces a fascinating society, some strong themes and a bunch of characters we want to spend more time with, we can confidently say that De Castell's new series has hit the ground running. Or perhaps we should say that it's quick on the draw? * Starburst Magazine * Hugely enjoyable - fast-paced, compassionate, wise and with terrific characters... I love the humour and the thoughtfulness as well as the plot -- Amanda Craig This is one of the best young-adult novels I've seen in a long time - larky, clever and slick. * The Literary Review * 'packed with wise cracking humour, larger than life colourful characters and non-stop action, this is the first in a highly enjoyable new fantasy series. A very promising beginning' * School Library Journal * Spellslinger is a unique YA book, there's a complex layer of magic, mystery and mythology all wrapped up in this fantastic story. I also must say how much I love that cover, it's absolutely stunning. The world building in this book is superb, and I really felt sucked into the story. My only complaint is that now I have to wait so long to find out what happens to Kellen next. Spellslinger is one fantastic book, and is already one of the front runners for my favourite book of 2017. * The Bibliophile Chronicles * Excellent, page-turnery reading * Blue Book Balloon * Spellslinger was an enjoyable read, perhaps particularly good for male readers who enjoy Pratchett or Stephen King's The Dark Tower books. * Adventures With Words * This story is so unique, the writing is so superb, and the message of this story is so very important. Accepting who you are is sometimes the hardest battle we will fight in this life, and seeing Kellen become who he is and not what others expect him to, whether it's his family or the world, is something so beautiful that I don't have words for. * Mel to the Any * an enjoyable read, with magic, mayhem, myth and intrigue...and a very cocky talking squirrel cat. * Askews * the first book in a beautifully refreshing young adult series...Sebastien de Castell treats the reader to short punchy chapters that make it easy to read 'just one more' time after time...there is a clever message here which hopefully will strike a chord. * SciFiNow * I really, really enjoyed this book. I really enjoyed the variety and depth of not only characters, but also their reactions to situations and the moral and ethical dilemmas they faced. A vicious, sardonic, bloodthirsty talking squirrel cat with a filthy mouth and a resentful debt to pay, he is my aboslute favourite thing about this book. By turns funny and tragic, his exasperated and violent advice is almost never helpful but almost always adds nuance and humour to the book. My main complaint is that a) it hasn't even been published yet, which means b) it's going to be ages until Shadowblack, the second in the series, comes out! Five Stars and highly recommended. * Much Ado about Books * 'compelling, filmic storytelling in the first of a new fantasy series' * The Bookseller * The first in an entertaining Pratchett-type fantasy series * INIS Reading Guide * Sebastien de Castell's Spellslinger is a roister-doistering tale of a magical world navigated by a boy who, alas, has no magic; full of memorable characters (including a red-haired lady card sharp), this is one of the year's standouts * Books For Keeps * An intoxicating mix of weird magic and high adventure, and populated by an extraordinary cast of characters, both human and furred. The world de Castell conjures is strange and fascinating, but he laces it through with genuine emotional power. Exotic, original and gripping from the get-go, Spellslinger is a must-read * Jonathan Stroud *

About the Author

Sebastien de Castell had just finished a degree in Archaeology when he started work on his first dig. Four hours later he realized how much he actually hated archaeology and left to pursue a very focused career as a musician, ombudsman, interaction designer, fight choreographer, teacher, project manager, actor and product strategist. His only defence against the charge of unbridled dilettantism is that he genuinely likes doing these things and that, in one way or another, each of these fields plays a role in his writing. He sternly resists the accusation of being a Renaissance Man in the hopes that more people will label him that way. Sebastien lives in Vancouver with his lovely wife and two belligerent cats. Follow Sebastien www.decastell.com or on Twitter: @decastell

4 customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

28 June 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
24 August 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
17 November 2018
Format: Audible AudiobookVerified Purchase
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
18 May 2017
Format: Kindle Edition

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars 72 reviews
Mary Soon Lee
3.0 out of 5 starsA fun opening to a fantasy series, complete with likable hero and humor.
20 August 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
25 people found this helpful
LadyMcBeath
5.0 out of 5 starsExcellent!
1 November 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Fantasy Reader
3.0 out of 5 starsPretty good, but also unrealistic
11 June 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Kindle Customer
3.0 out of 5 starsThree and a half stars
2 September 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsde Castell finds his stride
7 January 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful