Buy new:
$26.95
In stock.
US imports may differ from local products. Additional terms apply. Learn More.

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions, or plugs (you may require an adapter).
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store
$$26.95 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$26.95
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon US
Sold by
Ships from
Amazon US
Sold by
1-Click ordering is not available for this item.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$75.62
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Books Mela Aus
Sold by: Books Mela Aus
(177 ratings)
78% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Sorrowful Sanctuary: 5 Paperback – 25 September 2018

4.5 out of 5 stars 86 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$26.95
$26.95 $73.00

Enhance your purchase

View our curated selection of business and self improvement titles.
Explore best sellers Shop now.

Frequently bought together

  • Sorrowful Sanctuary: 5
  • +
  • Deceptive Devotion: 6
  • +
  • It Begins in Betrayal: 4
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

A Sorrowful Sanctuary (#5)

"An excellent mystery complemented by an appealingly down-to-earth look at life in postwar Western Canada." --Kirkus Reviews

Whishaw's intricately plotted fifth Lane Winslow mystery opens with a bang. . . . Whishaw brings all the narrative threads together for a satisfying finale. Progress in the often-fraught personal relationship between Lane and Darling will please series fans. --Publishers Weekly

"Engrossing and deftly plotted, the latest Lane Winslow Mystery is sure to enthral readers. Filled with rich history, clever intrigue, and subtle romance, this series is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Susan Elia MacNeal." --Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby Mysteries and the Verity Kent Mysteries

"If you've yet to meet Lane Winslow, erstwhile spy and reluctant detective, you're in for a treat. Iona Whishaw writes with an eye for the telling detail; she conjures a vanished British Columbia out of thin air. Complex, suspenseful, and deeply felt, this is a smart series for the ages." --Francine Mathews, author of the Nantucket Mysteries

There's no question you should read it--it's excellent . . . . While you could wait forever to read the series from the start (many books, little time, etc.), the taste offered by A Sorrowful Sanctuary of Lane Winslow and her companions pretty much guarantees you won't be waiting much longer to go back to the beginning and read everything about them. --Toronto Star

"Captures the tone and depth of a mystery entwined in a story about people taking painful steps forward with post-WWII life. Vivid plotting, inventive dialogue in a setting that puts you right in the action. This is one of the best series currently in print." --Don Graves, Canadian Mystery Reviews

An enthralling mystery. The plot intrigues and resonates, sadly, with current events, while the deepening relationships and evolving characters of all the main players add to the appeal of this book . . . Recommended. --Historical Novel Society

Praise for the Lane Winslow Mysteries

A Match Made for Murder (#7) is winner of the 2021 Bony Blithe Light Mystery Award

The 'find of the year', Iona Whishaw's Lane Winslow series is a real treat. Set after WWII, Lane has left England for Canada . . . settling in the small village of King's Cove. With a quaint cast of characters and the feel of Louise Penny's Three Pines, the independence and quick wit of Kerry Greenwood's Phryne Fisher and the intelligence of Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs, this mystery series has it all! --Murder by the Book, Texas

Relentlessly exciting from start to finish. --Kirkus Reviews

Whishaw deftly intertwines plot and psychology, giving readers insight not only into Lane's crime-solving strategies, but the perspectives and lives of her neighbors. The series also follows Lane's inner journey, from complicated family history to postwar trauma to the beginning of new love. Well plotted and laced with dry wit, Lane's adventures are entirely satisfying summer reading. --Shelf Awareness

Iona Whishaw is a writer to watch. --Globe and Mail

There's no question you should read it--it's excellent. --Toronto Star

"Iona Whishaw's writing is worthy of taking its place alongside the works of Agatha Christie and Dorothy L Sayers. . . deftly crafted and briskly paced." --Fiona Valpy, author of The Dressmaker's Gift

Another fantastic entry in the unique and compelling Lane Winslow series! --Anna Lee Huber, author of the Lady Darby Mysteries

"I absolutely love the modern sensibility of these novels, of their feminism, sense of justice, their anti-racism, their progressiveness, which somehow never seems out of place in a tiny BC hamlet in 1948. . . But it's never preachy or pedantic, and Whishaw continues to use her murder mysteries to explore the limitations on women's lives and freedom that were contemporary to the period, and which are not yet so far away in the rear view mirror." --Kerry Clare, author of Mitzi Bytes and Waiting for a Star to Fall

Complex, suspenseful, and deeply felt, this is a smart series for the ages. --Francine Mathews, author of the Nantucket Mysteries

Exquisitely written, psychologically deft. --Linda Svendsen, author of Sussex Drive

Iona Whishaw has again raised the bar . . . This is seriously good storytelling. --Don Graves, Canadian Mystery Reviews

In the vein of Louise Penny . . . a compelling series that combines a cozy setting, spy intrigue storylines, and police procedural elements--not an easy task, but one that Whishaw pulls off. --Reviewing the Evidence

The setting is fresh and the cast endearing. --CrimeReads

An enthralling mystery. --Historical Novel Society

This series . . . continues to get better and better. --Reviewing the Evidence

A simply riveting read by a master of the genre. --Wisconsin Bookwatch

A series that's guaranteed to please. --Mercer Island Books, Washington

Full of history, mystery, and a glorious BC setting . . . a wonderful series. --Sleuth of Baker Street, Ontario

About the Author

Iona Whishaw is a former educator and social worker whose mother and grandfather were both spies during their respective wars. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia with her husband. Visit her at ionawhishaw.com.


Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Touchwood Editions (25 September 2018)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 384 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 177151289X
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1771512893
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 12.7 x 2.54 x 19.05 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 86 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
86 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 2 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

ppsphil
4.0 out of 5 stars I Think This is The Best Book Yet inThis Great Series
Reviewed in Canada on 7 October 2018
Verified Purchase
Iamh
4.0 out of 5 stars A Bit of a Plateau in the Series ...?
Reviewed in Canada on 12 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Wendy Bingham
5.0 out of 5 stars It's best to read the books in order.
Reviewed in Canada on 31 March 2021
Verified Purchase
sue
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing again!
Reviewed in Canada on 3 December 2018
Verified Purchase
MBM
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
Reviewed in Canada on 25 August 2019
Verified Purchase