<Embed>
$70.12
  • + $3.90 Delivery
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon US.
Sorcerer to the Crown has been added to your Cart
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Sorcerer to the Crown Hardcover – 1 September 2015

4.2 out of 5 stars 220 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$70.12
$70.12
Arrives: 19 - 23 Nov
Fastest delivery: 6 - 10 Nov
US imports may differ from local products. Additional terms apply. Learn More.

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions.
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store

Pre-order Books. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Shop now

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions.
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Sorcerer to the Crown
  • +
  • The True Queen: Sorcerer Royal 2
Total Price: $81.62
Buy the selected items together

Pre-order Books. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Shop now

Product details

  • ISBN-10 : 0425283372
  • Hardcover : 371 pages
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0425283370
  • Product Dimensions : 16.51 x 3.51 x 23.5 cm
  • Publisher : Ace Books (1 September 2015)
  • Reading level : 18 and up
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 220 ratings

Product description

Review

"An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susanna Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide."--Naomi Novik, "New York Times" bestselling author of the Temeraire novels
"A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it!" --Kate Elliott, author of the Spiritwalker series
"A deliciously true tale of politics and power in a charming, cruel world--it demands and deserves to be read again and again. Cho has humor and flair to match Pratchett and Heyer plus her own marvelous style."--Karen Lord, author of "The Best of All Possible Worlds "

"Inventive, dangerous, brilliant, unsettling, and adorable, all at the same time. It shatters as many rules as its characters do. Historical Britain will never be the same again, and I can't wait for the next book."--Courtney Milan, "New York Times" and "USA Today" bestselling author

An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susanna Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide. Naomi Novik, "New York Times" bestselling author of the Temeraire novels
A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it! Kate Elliott, author of the Spiritwalker series
A deliciously true tale of politics and power in a charming, cruel world it demands and deserves to be read again and again. Cho has humor and flair to match Pratchett and Heyer plus her own marvelous style. Karen Lord, author of "The Best of All Possible Worlds"

Inventive, dangerous, brilliant, unsettling, and adorable, all at the same time. It shatters as many rules as its characters do. Historical Britain will never be the same again, and I can't wait for the next book. Courtney Milan, "New York Times" and "USA Today" bestselling author
Fast-paced and witty...Should appeal to fans of Mary Robinette Kowal and Gail Carriger. Elizabeth Bear, author of "Steles of the Sky
" Fun, smart, great characters, ...excellent magic...Adelight of a book. Kat Howard, author of "Roses & Rot"
Set in an alternate, magical England during the Napoleonic Wars, Cho s debut novel is at once a comedy of manners and a sharp metacomment concerning racism and misogyny in the fantasy genre...A classic, gently barbed upper-crust comedy mixed with magical thrills, modern social consciousness, and a hint of political intrigue. A decidedly promising start. "Kirkus Reviews"
Cho weaves drama and humor together seamlessly in this tale of a magic-drenched Napoleonic-era Britain..."Sorcerer to the Crown" establishes Cho as a superior novelist of note. "RT Book Reviews "(Top Pick)
Cho s delightful debut novel skillfully blends fantasy and intrigue with issues of race and gender politics...[Cho] knits together a dizzying array of taut story lines populated by complex characters with interesting backstories. "Publishers Weekly "(starred review)"

An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susanna Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide. Naomi Novik, "New York Times"bestselling author of the Temeraire novels
There are several ways in which Zen Cho s "Sorcerer to the Crown" invites comparison with Susanna Clarke s bestselling, BBC-adapted "Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell" Absolutely everything about this book is delightful Witty, wise and wonderful, "Sorcerer to the Crown" is an admirable achievement and a deep delight. NPR.org
A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it! Kate Elliott, author of the Spiritwalker series
A deliciously true tale of politics and power in a charming, cruel world it demands and deserves to be read again and again. Cho has humor and flair to match Pratchett and Heyer plus her own marvelous style. Karen Lord, author of "The Best of All Possible Worlds
"
Inventive, dangerous, brilliant, unsettling, and adorable, all at the same time. It shatters as many rules as its characters do. Historical Britain will never be the same again, and I can't wait for the next book. Courtney Milan, "New York Times "and"USA Today"bestselling author
"Sorcerer to the Crown" felt like "Pride and Prejudice" but with magic and race, which makes Zen Cho Austen crossed with Susanna Clarke and Ignatius Sancho I am utterly in love. Tor.com
Set in an alternate, magical England during the Napoleonic Wars, Cho s debut novel is at once a comedy of manners and a sharp metacomment concerning racism and misogyny in the fantasy genre...A classic, gently barbed upper-crust comedy mixed with magical thrills, modern social consciousness, and a hint of political intrigue. A decidedly promising start. "Kirkus Reviews"
Cho weaves drama and humor together seamlessly in this tale of a magic-drenched Napoleonic-era Britain..."Sorcerer to the Crown"establishes Cho as a superior novelist of note. "RT Book Reviews"(Top Pick)
Cho's delightful debut novel skillfully blends fantasy and intrigue with issues of race and gender politics...Cho's tale knits together a dizzying array of taut story lines populated by complex characters with interesting backstories. Zacharias brings to mind another orphaned young wizard whose combination of grit and melancholy captured readers' hearts, and ingenious, gutsy Prunella simply shines. "Publishers Weekly" (starred review)
Acaptivating debut that, aside from examining both gender and racial prejudice, tells an entertaining story with wit and consummate skill. "The Guardian"(UK)"

About the Author

Zen Cho was born and raised in Malaysia, and currently lives in London. She was a finalist for the Campbell Award for Best New Writer, a nominee for the Pushcart Prize, and her short story collection Spirits Abroad was a joint winner of the Crawford Fantasy Award. Sorcerer to the Crown is her first novel.



Zen Cho was a 2013 finalist for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer and has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize. She lives in London.

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
220 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Federhirn
4.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoy Doctor Who and like the setting of Strange & Norrell, you'll probably love Sorcerer to the Crown
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 September 2015
Verified Purchase
27 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Andrew Wallace
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely delightful, totally gripping, very funny and totally relevant
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 December 2016
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Nichola F
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm, witty, wonderfully inventive and diverse AF. An absolute gem.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 August 2017
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Lee Hulme
5.0 out of 5 stars Great first book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 September 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Chris Lovegrove
4.0 out of 5 stars Hexes, murder and politicking
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 August 2020
Verified Purchase