Buy new:
$18.16
RRP: $22.99 Details

Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
Save: $4.83 (21%)
FREE delivery: Friday, 29 Oct on first order.
Fastest delivery: Tomorrow
Order within 18 hrs and 54 mins
In stock.
$$18.16 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$18.16
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
1-Click ordering is not available for this item.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$19.98
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Sold by: Book Depository UK
(33100 ratings)
92% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$24.43
+ $3.00 Delivery
Sold by: Rarewaves UK
Sold by: Rarewaves UK
(7793 ratings)
92% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$27.44
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: ShopAbroad
Sold by: ShopAbroad
(236 ratings)
81% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Son of the Storm Paperback – 11 May 2021

4.3 out of 5 stars 66 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$18.16
$18.16

Enhance your purchase

Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • Son of the Storm
  • +
  • A Master of Djinn: 1
  • +
  • Black Water Sister
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
These items are shipped from and sold by different sellers.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

I have to say that this is everything I love to see in a fantasy story: masterful, fully-realised worldbuilding, morally complex characters, thoughtful and piercing interrogations of power, privilege, and all the facets of human nature. Can't wait to see the next book in the series. Damn good stuff! ― Jenn Lyons

A mesmerising coming of age tale set against a thrilling, fantastical adventure that introduces an beguiling new world...and then rips apart everything you think you know ― S. A. Chakraborty

Okungbowa's world feels fully formed from the first pages, sweeping readers away into an elaborately plotted tale of ancient magics and world-shattering politics. I, like many others, will be impatiently waiting for the next installment! ― Andrea Stewart

A world so exquisitely observed in every detail, from the built environment to its social and political organization, that you can't help but tumble headlong into its vivid, captivating reality. Esheme is a standout: her unflinching subversion of motherhood to serve her own ends absolutely thrilled me ― Shelley Parker-Chan, author of She Who Became the Sun

An epic fantasy set apart by how deftly Okungbowa unfurls his intricate, richly imagined world. It's not often you get to read a fantasy novel that spans not only ancient magic, sinister machinations and monstrous forests but courthouses, college classes and hairdressers too, evoking the terrible and fascinating city-state of Bassa in living, breathing detail

A. K. Larkwood, author of The Unspoken Name

An original and fascinating epic fantasy full of bold characters, bloody action and brutal politics. I thoroughly enjoyed it! ― James Islington

Okungobwa's richly-drawn and ruthlessly strict world never provides its conflicted characters with easy answers. Fantastical beasts and forgotten magic propel a story about ambition, conspiracy, and the elusiveness of belonging. This is epic fantasy that will make you think and leave you unsettled ― Fonda Lee

Although set in a pre-industrialised world, the themes explored in Suyi Davies Okungbowa's Son of the Storm have a palpable contemporary resonance. Okungbowa weaves an intricate and irresistible plot around the tensions and contradictions of a corrupt, decadent society which is both dependent upon and resentful of its diverse migrant population. The result is a vibrant tale of betrayal, intrigue and revolution which benefits greatly from an original setting, a fresh take on magic and deftly executed characterisation ― Anthony Ryan

It's always refreshing to find fantasies that break with all the old conventions and tropes, and Son of the Storm delivers on this like a flash of lightning in the dark! Set in a deftly crafted world of forbidden sorcery, magical beasts and fractured polities, this tale follows three characters whose seemingly disparate journeys are set for a collision course that will rewrite the fate of whole peoples and empires. Suyi Davies Okungbowa has created an original and fully conceived new world of fantasy teeming with brilliant possibilities and demanding to be explored! ― P. Djèlí Clark

This sweeping and politically charged fantasy explores race, gender, and culture in a complex and compelling world ― Buzzfeed

Highly recommended for fans of epic fantasy based on non-European mythologies ― Library Journal (starred review)

A contender for best new fantasy series of the year ― SFX

Book Description

The start of a new blockbuster epic fantasy series, set in a world inspired by pre-Colonial West African empires, Son of the Storm is perfect for fans of Brent Weeks, Evan Winter and James Islington.

Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Orbit; 1st edition (11 May 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 480 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0356515826
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0356515823
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 12.6 x 3.6 x 19.6 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 66 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Suyi Davies Okungbowa is a Nigerian author of fantasy, science fiction and other speculative works inspired by his West-African origins. His latest novel, Son of the Storm (Orbit, May 2021) is first in the Nameless Republic epic fantasy trilogy. His debut, the godpunk fantasy novel David Mogo, Godhunter (Abaddon, 2019), won the 2020 Nommo Ilube Award for Best Speculative Fiction by an African, and was hailed by WIRED Magazine as “the subgenre’s platonic deific ideal.” His shorter fiction and essays have appeared internationally in several periodicals and anthologies including Black Panther: Tales of Wakanda and Year’s Best Science Fiction and Fantasy. He has taught writing at the University of Arizona as well as spoken and lectured at various venues in the US and beyond, including schools, conferences, conventions and other institutions. He currently lives in Arizona, US. Find him at @IAmSuyiDavies on Twitter, @suyidavies on Instagram, and learn more at suyidavies.com.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
66 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 2 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

S. Naomi Scott
4.0 out of 5 stars A truly remarkable story that stands head and shoulders above more traditional fantasy
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 June 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Dan Williams
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 June 2021
Verified Purchase
Kathrin F.
5.0 out of 5 stars Discover an epic new fantasy world!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 May 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Discover an epic new fantasy world!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 May 2021
I had the pleasure of reading a digital ARC via #netgalley and throughly enjoyed immersing myself in this new world inspired by African folklore. Son of the Storm has all the right elements, spun together into a rich and compelling story: brilliant and intricate world building, a cast of complex characters, a flawed political system, the stirring of a revolution and ancient powerful magic. I enjoyed following the three main characters, and watching their paths converge.

My physical copy of the book arrived today - testament to how much I enjoyed this first installment in The Nameless Republic series. I am already waiting for the next book...

#netgalley #sonofthestorm
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
NJK
3.0 out of 5 stars Sounded interesting from the blurb, but disappointing in its execution
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 July 2021
Verified Purchase
Cameron Alli
5.0 out of 5 stars Great African-inspired fantasy about racism, oppression and magic
Reviewed in the United States on 16 May 2021
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse