Buying Options

Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $6.95
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon book clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join or find a club that’s right for you for free.
One Small Sacrifice (Shadows of New York Book 1) by [Hilary Davidson]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


One Small Sacrifice (Shadows of New York Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 1,742 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$6.95

Length: 352 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

From the Editor

I’m thrilled about Hilary Davidson’s new series. Her writing is so fresh and engaging. Harlan Coben says One Small Sacrifice is Hilary’s “best work yet,” and I couldn’t agree more.

NYPD detective Sheryn Sterling knows there’s more to an old case that was ruled a suicide. She can’t shake the feeling that there’s more to Alex Traynor, the dead girl’s friend, than meets the eye. There is something about him that sparks a deep intuition—intuition she’s come to trust on the job. Now Traynor’s fiancée has gone missing, and Sterling won’t rest until she uncovers the truth about him and finds the missing woman. But the more Sterling digs into the investigation, the more she realizes nothing is what it seems. She’ll have to look past everything she thinks she knows to see the reality.

One Small Sacrifice grabs you from page one and won’t let go. Detective Sheryn Sterling is the kind of character you root for and admire—ruthless in her fight against New York City crime. I was propelled through the pages, following the twists and turns as Sterling unearthed secret after secret.

- Megha Parekh, Editor

Product description

Review

A Crime Reads Best Crime Novels of 2019 Notable Selection

"Fans of Karin Slaughter, Tana French, and Lisa Gardner will devour this new police procedural, which boasts a strong female detective and an intriguing antagonist. Sheryn will draw in readers, and Davidson's complex storytelling will keep them wanting more." --Library Journal (starred review)

"A thoughtfully plotted and skillfully characterized procedural mystery...It's easy to get drawn deeply into the various motives and secrets of each character because it's so perfectly human for all of us to keep things hidden, even from those we love." --Kirkus Reviews

"[A] taut series launch...Davidson's ability to maintain the suspense bodes well for future installments." --Publishers Weekly

"The story line veers between alternate points of view...[while] perspectives on the same information provide different results. Writing the novel in this fashion amps up the suspense while also giving the narrative a complex and compelling flair. In addition, Davidson does an admirable job of making a complicated issue such as PTSD relatable. With an unpredictable ending and evidence that this is the start of a series, definitely check out One Small Sacrifice." --Associated Press

"One Small Sacrifice is a complex and engaging psychological thriller with fully realized characters. The plot throws light on the darker areas of human nature, of the fallibility of memory, and leaves the reader guessing until the very end." --Authorlink

"A thriller, of the filled-with-dread-but-I-have-to-finish-it variety." --New York Journal of Books

"Told from multiple points of view, Davidson has crafted a compelling police procedural..." --Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel

"This thriller, told from alternating points of view, will keep readers glued to their seats." --National Examiner

"Davidson's stealthily plotted, rapidly deployed, multi-stranded mystery encompasses the most intimate of brutalities--including domestic abuse and post-battlefield PTSD, a solid handful of dodgy characters, and, in the most humane of touches, a dog named Sid." --The Seattle Review of Books

"Davidson's plotting is tight and complex, a slow build of twists and reversals that keeps characters and readers guessing until the final pages. The resolution is well supported and natural, while simultaneously surprising." --Quill & Quire

"One Small Sacrifice is an intense page-turner with twists to the very end." --Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine (5 stars)

"Davidson's latest novel is her best work yet. One Small Sacrifice is a fast-paced winner. Highly recommended." --Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Run Away

"Davidson has crafted a tightly woven mystery. Each thread of the intricate plot draws you toward one surprising revelation after another." --Sandra Brown, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Tailspin

"Hilary Davidson's One Small Sacrifice is both a heart-pounding procedural and a rich, mesmerizing tale of the weight of trauma and the elusive nature of memory. Twisty, absorbing, and deeply humane, it's a thriller you won't want to miss." --Megan Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of Give Me Your Hand

"Packed with secrets, lies, and surprises, One Small Sacrifice kept me guessing to the very end. A gritty kaleidoscope of a thriller." --Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of Final Girls

"A taut, compelling narrative with a nerve-tingling climax. Davidson turns clichés of the contemporary novel on their heads to create a wholly believable cast of characters. I hope we'll see more of Detective Sheryn Sterling." --Sara Paretsky, New York Times bestselling author of Shell Game

"One Small Sacrifice is a terrific thriller with a big heart. A smart, compelling examination of guilt, blame, and responsibility that will keep you turning the pages. Hilary Davidson is a rising star of suspense." --Jeff Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of The Three Beths

"Hilary Davidson is one of the best crime writers on the planet. This novel is a dazzling work by a master operating at the height of her abilities. Dark, twisty, and psychologically complex, One Small Sacrifice kept me guessing and gasping until the final page. I couldn't put it down, even though I didn't want it to end." --Chris Holm, Anthony Award-winning author of The Killing Kind

"One Small Sacrifice hooked me hard. Hilary Davidson has written a riveting and beautifully layered thriller that satisfies on every level. The characters surprise, the plot twists, and the pages turn themselves." --Lou Berney, Edgar Award-winning author of November Road

"I tore through this book! Hilary Davidson is at the top of her game with this masterful and twisty new novel that's jam-packed with suspense. Filled with wonderfully diverse characters, breakneck pacing, and surprises at every turn, this modern mystery will thrill even the most old-school crime fiction lovers. This book satisfied me on so many levels." --Jennifer Hillier, author of Jar of Hearts

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

Hilary Davidson is the author of the Anthony Award-winning Lily Moore series--which includes The Damage Done, The Next One to Fall, and Evil in All Its Disguises--and the hard-boiled thriller Blood Always Tells. Her widely acclaimed short stories have won numerous awards and have been featured in Ellery Queen, Thuglit, and other dark places, as well as in her collection The Black Widow Club. A Toronto-born travel journalist who has lived in New York City since October 2001, Davidson is also the author of eighteen nonfiction books. Visit her online at www.HilaryDavidson.com.

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • File size : 3912 KB
  • Print length : 352 pages
  • Publisher : Thomas & Mercer (1 June 2019)
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • ASIN : B07GR4NWFQ
  • Language: : English
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 1,742 ratings
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
1,742 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

#1 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 2 May 2019
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 14 June 2019
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Lynda Kelly
2.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't For Me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 May 2019
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad by any means, but it didn't really grip me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 May 2019
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
McDroll
5.0 out of 5 stars kept me guessing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 May 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Simon A
4.0 out of 5 stars A good story.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 May 2019
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Christina McDonald
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent start to a much-anticipated series!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 July 2019
Verified Purchase