Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

In Shock: How Nearly Dying Made Me a Better Intensive Care Doctor Hardcover – 30 Oct 2017

4.7 out of 5 stars 291 ratings

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, 30 Oct 2017
$26.18
click to open popover

Product details


Product description

Review

Outstanding... What marks it out is not the scale or urgency of the trauma, although I read the first chapters at such a pace that I almost had to remind myself to breathe. It is the writing. It sparks and crackles with a dark energy... The writing is not just intense, but intelligent... In Shock stands above other patient memoirs. -- James McConnachie, The Sunday Times

Tense, powerful and gripping... her writing style is often nothing short of beautiful - evocative and emotional. -- Adam Kay, The Observer

In Shock is both an enthralling page-turner and a haunting call to arms for the medical profession to practice with greater kindness, compassion and humility. Awdish captures beautifully how and why doctors, against our best selves, can lose sight of our patients in furious pursuit of the diagnosis, the save, the cure. Anyone – doctor or otherwise – whose life has been touched by illness will be transfixed by this deeply moving tale of catastrophic illness and everything it teaches us. -- Rachel Clarke, author of Your Life in My Hands: A Junior Doctor's Story

Awdish looks at the way we practice medicine with a combination of love and outrage. She writes beautifully about the secret, shameful feelings many doctors feel they have to hide and she shows us how we might do better. After reading this book, I feel like a different doctor. -- Gabriel Weston, author of Direct Red: A Surgeon's Story

A brave, powerful memoir about what it is like to be both a doctor and a patient... There is a widsom that literally comes from suffering., The Times

There are few recent books to compare it to. Paul Kalanithi’s When Breath Becomes Air, another physician’s account of illness, ended with his death. Awdish lives to tell the tale, but her cascade of medical problems is appallingly severe. Like [Adam] Kay’s, her writing is motivated by trauma, both her own and that of her medical colleagues…The dramatic story of her illness and recovery alone would make the book compelling, but in the growing genre of medical non-fiction, it is her reflections on medical practice that really stand out. -- Dr Alexander Van Tulleken, TLS

Compelling and insightful, this story of what a doctor learns through coming close to death is packed with both action and reflection., Cathy Rentzenbrink, bestselling author of The Last Act of Love

Urgent and supremely eloquent... In Shock is a book to set alongside the likes of Being Mortal by Atul Gawande, Direct Red by Gabriel Weston and, of course, Paul Kalanithi's When Breath Becomes Air. -- Caroline Sanderson, The Bookseller

An extraordinary memoir., Daily Mail

Awdish describes her experiences powerfully... In Shock is a reminder that the sick are not subhuman, doctors are not superhuman, and that medicine needs to be human in order to truly heal. -- Sarah Ditum, Mail on Sunday

Book Description

For readers of Atul Gawande and Paul Kalanithi, an intensive care doctor becomes a dying patient in her own hospital in this gripping memoir of unbearable loss, which calls for medical professionals to see patients as human beings, not just as a diagnosis.

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
291 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
Reviewed in Australia on 31 January 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Top international reviews

Leitir
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that creates a sacred space for sparks to gather and hope to rise
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 August 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Sue Scott
5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful and sympathis book about doctors and patients
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 April 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Despite being book seeming to relate only to medicine, its not. Very informative for all!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 December 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
mrs kathleen mckirkle
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but more fof the medical fraternity
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 March 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
GeordieReader
5.0 out of 5 stars An important book by someone uniquely qualified to understand the issues
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 August 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 August 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
A. Todd
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncorrected proof copy
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 July 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
David Bartlett
3.0 out of 5 stars A devastating account of what it means to be on ...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 April 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
florida2011
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 March 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
ode79
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 October 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
CLAIR LEWIS
4.0 out of 5 stars In Shock
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 June 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Andreased
5.0 out of 5 stars Immensely valuable read,excellent for both doctors and patients,and nurses .Amazing insight for all,should be compulsory reading, as reassurance to patients is often the best medicines. A thoroughly interesting read.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 March 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Rhodie_Rick
5.0 out of 5 stars Physicians Perspective as a Patient
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 July 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Med Doc
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly inspirational. Provides insightful resource for me to provide ...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 March 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
lauren
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping first chapter!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 July 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse