You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Digital List Price: $27.26
Kindle Price: $12.34

Save $14.92 (55%)

includes tax, if applicable
Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

She's Having Her Baby by [Sams, Lauren]
Kindle App Ad

She's Having Her Baby Kindle Edition

3.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$12.34

Length: 444 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite
The best device for reading, full stop. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

Georgie Henderson doesn’t want to have kids, but her best friend, Nina Doherty, has wanted to have a baby for as long as she can remember. Sadly, Nina’s uterus refuses to cooperate. One drunken evening, Nina asks Georgie for the ultimate favour: would she carry a baby for her? Georgie says yes – and spends the next nine months wondering why!

With intense bacon-and-egg roll cravings and distant memories of what her feet look like, Georgie tries to keep it all together in her dream job as the editor of Jolie magazine. Her love life’s a mess – and sauvignon blanc’s off the menu – leaving Georgie to deal with twists in her life she never expected.

“Honest and sassy, She's Having Her Baby deals with the joys, heartbreaks and messiness of fertility, babies and friendship. You'll want to remember the one-liners and wish the main characters were your friends.” – Kasey Edwards, author of Thirty-Something and Over It and Daily Life columnist.

She's Having Her Baby is a fun, fast-paced, wonderfully clever and observant novel that should be required reading for the non-pregnant and the pregnant alike.” – Sloane Crosley, author of I Was Told There'd Be Cake and How Did You Get This Number.

She's Having Her Baby is the perfect novel for women in our generation. It portrays besties, pregnancy and motherhood better than any book I've ever read.” – Summer Land, author of Summerlandish.

“Fresh, funny and heart-warming, Sams’ novel is a testament to true love and friendship. I couldn’t put it down!” – Dilvan Yasa, author of Good Enough and Things My Daughter Needs to Know.

“Such an enjoyable read it ought to come with a free pool lounger and frozen margarita. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Lauren Weisberger and Zoë Foster Blake will adore Sams’ novel. Like chick-lit, only smarter, cooler and LOLzier.” – Meg Mason, author of Say It Again in a Nice Voice.

Lauren Sams began her career at Cosmopolitan, before moving to Girlfriend as Deputy Editor. She’s now back at Cosmo as Associate Editor. She writes for ELLE, marie claire, Sunday Style and Daily Life. She lives in Sydney with her husband, daughter and two dogs.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1854 KB
  • Print Length: 444 pages
  • Publisher: Nero (25 February 2015)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00O4TK28S
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #48,374 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
She’s Having Her Baby is a funny and bittersweet debut chick lit novel from Lauren Sams.

“This is it. She’s going to ask me to be her surrogate. No, she won’t. Surely she won’t. That only happens in Katherine Heigl movies, Jesus f** Christ, what if she asks? What am I going to say? There’s only one answer, right? Jesus f**”

Thirty something magazine editor, Georgie Henderson, has never wanted kids but her best friend, Nina Doherty, wants nothing more than to be a mother and when her latest IVF attempt fails, she asks Georgie for the ultimate favour. Reluctantly Georgie agrees to become Nina’s surrogate, willing to help Nina’s dream come true, but Georgie is wholly unprepared for what comes next…

Life doesn’t always go to plan and in She’s Having Her Baby the plot doesn’t quite develop as the reader may expect. Sharply observed, the author explores the themes of infertility, surrogacy, motherhood and friendship in a manner that is funny, poignant and compassionate.

I found Georgie to be an interesting character, she definitely has her flaws, being somewhat inflexible and self absorbed, but she is amusing, feisty and loyal in her own way. I admired Georgia for deciding to help Nina, though I think choosing not to have children for whatever reason is a perfectly valid decision, and though Georgia doesn’t cope particularly well when things don’t work out as expected, including with her relationship and career, she eventually pulls it together.

I’ve witnessed the toll infertility can take on the soul, and relationships, and I really felt for Nina, her desperation is authentic and moving. I laughed out loud at the passages describing the parenting styles of Ellie and the mothers at the playground.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Very disappointed with this book it started out with a lot of interest but soon got bogged down with flash backs and repeats and at the end left you up in the air
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars 4 reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Story 3 February 2016
By Simone - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
Georgie and Nina are best friends with one major difference. Georgie has long known she never wants kids and relishes the freedom that life choice brings. Nina on the other hand wants nothing more than to be a mother. Married for several years she and her husband have endured the rollercoaster of IVF with no success and it has taken its toll on their relationship. Deciding that she can't go through the torturous process again Nina and Georgie go out drinking one night and with her inhibitions lowered Nina asks her friend if she will be her surrogate.

Nobody is more surprised than Georgie herself when she reluctantly agrees to do the ultimate favour for her best friend. But as often happens in life things don't go quite as smoothly as planned, leading the two women on a journey that tests their friendship and teaches them surprising things about themselves. Georgie is hard to like at times and I can't say I really grew to enjoy her character. I don't know that she was as fully developed as she could have been, although she was realistic enough.

Although She's Having Her Baby explores the heartbreaking theme of infertility it does so in a way that includes many light hearted and humorous moments. Those who have been through pregnancy will relate to the cravings and unwelcome changes it brings to your body and those who haven't will gain some insight into what it is all about. The description of some of the mothers in the playground is funny but perhaps a little cliched.

All in all this is an enjoyable story with some surprising plot twists that kept it more interesting than the blurb suggests. I will say I enjoyed it more as it went along. The writing is good with an engaging style and the dialogue is natural and authentic for the characters. I also enjoyed the contemporary Australian setting. It is a promising debut for Lauren Sams and will no doubt appeal to those who enjoy an engaging chick lit novel.
5.0 out of 5 stars funny and heartwarming 18 January 2016
By Lucie Clark - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Such a fab debut novel, funny and heartwarming. Ms Sam deals with a heart rending topic with a deft, light touch, the dialogue and characters fairly spring to life on the pages. Look forward to reading more from this clever new voice.
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! I came across this book on Instagram and ... 1 April 2015
By Billie Ann McGregor - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
Fantastic! I came across this book on Instagram and liked th cover. I downloaded it and tore through it in two nights! Great holiday reading, lots of laugh-out-lod bits. Reminded me a bit of Jennifer Weiner or Rainbow Rowell.
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars 8 April 2015
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This was a fun read. Though, I must admit that it ended a bit abruptly.