You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $19.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Shavetail: A Novel by [Thomas Cobb]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Shavetail: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 21 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$19.99

Length: 394 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

"The education to which Thomas Cobb's eager young soldier is forced to submit combines such wisdom, pain, suspense, and nasty good humor that I simply couldn't read this book fast enough. Of course I didn't know what a 'shavetail' was when I began, but learning that was only part of the education I was treated to. Guilt and innocence, blood and tenderness -- I can't imagine any reader who could resist."

-- Rosellen Brown, author of Civil Wars

"Shavetail is the story of the futility of war and is as immediate and brutal as daily news from Iraq or Afghanistan, although the year is 1871 and the place is southern Arizona and northern Mexico. Cobb presents the landscape, the characters, and the conflict with absolute authority, producing a magnificent story in the tradition of Stephen Crane's The Red Badge of Courage and Cormac McCarthy's Blood Meridian."

-- Richard Shelton, author of Going Back to Bisbee --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Thomas Cobb was born in Chicago, Illinois, and grew up in Tucson, Arizona. He is the author of Crazy Heart, a novel, and Acts of Contrition, a collection of short stories that won the 2002 George Garrett Fiction Prize. He lives in Rhode Island with his wife. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN : B001L8DSF4
  • Publisher : Scribner; 1st edition (12 February 2008)
  • Language : English
  • File size : 789 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Not Enabled
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 394 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN : 1416561196
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.0 out of 5 stars 21 ratings
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5
21 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Kindle Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read..............
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 November 2012
Verified Purchase
David W Putnam
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read
Reviewed in the United States on 1 April 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Richard L. Pangburn
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars as a western, and five stars as a literary novel
Reviewed in the United States on 22 February 2010
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Deadeye Dick
4.0 out of 5 stars This would make a great movie
Reviewed in the United States on 5 September 2013
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Chad M. Supp
4.0 out of 5 stars Too bad Sam isn't around to direct the film.
Reviewed in the United States on 16 October 2010
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse