You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $14.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
My Share of the Task: A Memoir by [Stanley McChrystal]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Authors

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


My Share of the Task: A Memoir Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 512 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$14.99
Length: 465 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $14.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English
Grade Level: 12 and up
  • Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download

Noise: The new book from the authors of ‘Thinking, Fast and Slow’ out now.
Order your copy today. Click to explore.

Product description

Review

General McChrystal is a legendary warrior with a fine eye for enduring lessons about leadership, courage, and consequence. He took me inside the command bunker, on nighttime raids, and through the fog of war, political and military. "My Share of the Task "is an important, riveting, and instructive account of the triumphs and trials of America s two longest wars. TOM BROKAW, author of "The Greatest Generation " Written in the tradition of Ulysses S. Grant, "My Share of the Task "is a clear, compelling, self-critical, and utterly unpretentious memoir. I know of no better book on the nature of modern military command. JOHN LEWIS GADDIS, author of "George F. Kennan: An American Life " This is a brilliant book about leadership wrapped inside a fascinating personal narrative. By describing his own life, and especially his command in Afghanistan, General McChrystal helps us understand the modern missions of the military. More than that, he provides lessons about leadership and values that are indispensable in our daily lives. It s a deeply inspiring tale. WALTER ISAACSON, author of "Steve Jobs "and "Benjamin Franklin " Stanley McChrystal has written the finest military memoir of his generation. Lucid, thoughtful, and steeped in military and strategic history, "My Share of the Task "is not just the story of one man s service; it is the story of the development of a new way of war. This book is not just for aficionados of military history or for students of American foreign policy; it s for anyone who wants to understand the challenges of leadership in America today. WALTER RUSSELL MEAD, author of "Special Providence "and "God and Gold " A remarkable memoir by one of the most exceptional and thoughtful leaders of his generation. RORY STEWART, author of "The Places in Between"" --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Book Description

In this illuminating memoir, McChrystal frankly explores the major episodes and controversies of his career. He describes the many outstanding leaders he served with and the handful of bad leaders he learned not to emulate.
--This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B007ZHCEN2
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Portfolio (7 January 2013)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 23748 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 465 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 512 ratings

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
512 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 4 January 2016
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Veritas
5.0 out of 5 stars A Leadership Masterpiece
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 June 2013
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Fiona James
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're interested in leadership, read this!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 November 2014
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but expected more
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 August 2017
Verified Purchase
Mr N McAllister
5.0 out of 5 stars well written biography and one I enjoyed and would recommend
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 October 2014
Verified Purchase
Mon cher colonel
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best and most inspiring books on leadership I've ever read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 February 2016
Verified Purchase