You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $15.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
My Share of the Task: A Memoir by [McChrystal, General Stanley]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

My Share of the Task: A Memoir Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$15.99

Length: 465 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $14.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English
  • Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download

Browse our most popular books based on sales
Find your next great read. Shop best selling books

Product description

Review

General McChrystal is a legendary warrior with a fine eye for enduring lessons about leadership, courage, and consequence. He took me inside the command bunker, on nighttime raids, and through the fog of war, political and military. "My Share of the Task "is an important, riveting, and instructive account of the triumphs and trials of America s two longest wars. TOM BROKAW, author of "The Greatest Generation " Written in the tradition of Ulysses S. Grant, "My Share of the Task "is a clear, compelling, self-critical, and utterly unpretentious memoir. I know of no better book on the nature of modern military command. JOHN LEWIS GADDIS, author of "George F. Kennan: An American Life " This is a brilliant book about leadership wrapped inside a fascinating personal narrative. By describing his own life, and especially his command in Afghanistan, General McChrystal helps us understand the modern missions of the military. More than that, he provides lessons about leadership and values that are indispensable in our daily lives. It s a deeply inspiring tale. WALTER ISAACSON, author of "Steve Jobs "and "Benjamin Franklin " Stanley McChrystal has written the finest military memoir of his generation. Lucid, thoughtful, and steeped in military and strategic history, "My Share of the Task "is not just the story of one man s service; it is the story of the development of a new way of war. This book is not just for aficionados of military history or for students of American foreign policy; it s for anyone who wants to understand the challenges of leadership in America today. WALTER RUSSELL MEAD, author of "Special Providence "and "God and Gold " A remarkable memoir by one of the most exceptional and thoughtful leaders of his generation. RORY STEWART, author of "The Places in Between""

Book Description


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 23748 KB
  • Print Length: 465 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1591844754
  • Publisher: Portfolio (7 January 2013)
  • Sold by: Penguin US
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007ZHCEN2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #65,754 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

1 customer review

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

4 January 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.4 out of 5 stars 401 reviews
anupamifs
5.0 out of 5 starsA classic
4 March 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful.
Ron
5.0 out of 5 starsA Truly Great Leadership Tutorial
15 December 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 people found this helpful.
Edwin Handley
5.0 out of 5 starsThe most amazing perspective on the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan
14 March 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
Soup Sandwich
2.0 out of 5 starsThis is just another ra-ra "I love me" book written by a bureaucrat general so typical ...
19 May 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
Sassan31
5.0 out of 5 stars*Highly Recommended*
17 July 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.