Buy new:
$41.75
FREE delivery: 2 - 8 Dec
Only 2 left in stock.
$$41.75 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$41.75
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
AustraliaBooks4u
Sold by
Ships from
AustraliaBooks4u
1-Click ordering is not available for this item.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$28.65
+ $4.90 Delivery
Sold by: Amazon US

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Shadow of What Was Lost: 1 Paperback – 15 May 2017

4.4 out of 5 stars 2,425 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$517.00
Paperback, 9 May 2017
$41.75
$28.65 $71.00

Enhance your purchase

View our curated selection of business and self improvement titles.
Explore best sellers Shop now.

Frequently bought together

  • Shadow of What Was Lost: 1
  • +
  • An Echo of Things to Come: Book Two of the Licanius trilogy
  • +
  • The Light of All That Falls: Book 3 of the Licanius trilogy
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

A relentless juggernaut of a book . . . Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding.--The Daily Mail on The Shadow of What Was Lost

Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence...this is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak.--SciFiNow on The Shadow of What Was Lost

Ingeniously plotted...Islington's natural storytelling ability provides incessant plot twists and maintains a relentless pace...A promising page-turner from a poised newcomer.--Kirkus on The Shadow of What as Lost

Islington has built a world with all the right genre elements: complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters whose motivations are seldom clear. Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed.--Publishers Weekly on The Shadow of What Was Lost

Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series.--B&N SF & Fantasy Blog on The Shadow of What Was Lost

Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire.--Guardian on The Shadow of What Was Lost

The plot twists are unexpected, the world building is fascinating, and the fledgling love story is a charmer.... This sweeping and compelling epic is ripe for a sequel.--Booklist on The Shadow of What Was Lost

Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong world building.--Fantasy Faction on The Shadow of What Was Lost

About the Author

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. His influences growing up were the stories of Raymond E. Feist and Robert Jordan, but it wasn't until later, when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series -- followed soon after by Patrick Rothfuss' Name of the Wind -- that he was finally inspired to sit down and write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

AUDIBLE FREE TRIAL
Includes your first audiobook free, a bonus book selected by our editors, unlimited access to exclusive podcasts and more. $16.45/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime. Learn more >

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Orbit; Reprint edition (15 May 2017)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 736 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0316274070
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0316274074
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 15.24 x 5.72 x 23.24 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 2,425 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
2,425 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 28 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 26 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 5 July 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 8 January 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 23 May 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 22 December 2014
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 4 February 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 9 February 2017
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

When Belief Dies
5.0 out of 5 stars Well - I really enjoyed that!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 March 2019
Verified Purchase
20 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Paul T.
3.0 out of 5 stars Great title, but...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 May 2020
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Barry Mulvany
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 December 2018
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Sidrah Yasmin
1.0 out of 5 stars great ideas, but too slow!!!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 August 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
rob
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed... by a fussy reader
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 October 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse