$24.07
  • + $14.98 Delivery
In stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon US.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$42.37
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Shadow of What Was Lost Paperback – 15 May 2017

4.3 out of 5 stars 1,069 ratings

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
Paperback, 15 May 2017
$24.07
$24.07
US imports may differ from local products. Additional terms apply. Learn More.

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions.
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions.
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Shadow of What Was Lost
  • +
  • An Echo of Things to Come: Book Two of the Licanius trilogy
Total Price: $43.87
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Paperback: 736 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit; Reprint edition (15 May 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316274070
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316274074
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 5.7 x 23.2 cm
  • Boxed-product Weight: 730 g
  • Customer Reviews: 4.3 out of 5 stars1,069 customer ratings

Product description

Review

"A relentless juggernaut of a book . . . Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding."--The Daily Mail on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence...this is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak."--SciFiNow on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Ingeniously plotted...Islington's natural storytelling ability provides incessant plot twists and maintains a relentless pace...A promising page-turner from a poised newcomer."--Kirkus on The Shadow of What as Lost

"Islington has built a world with all the right genre elements: complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters whose motivations are seldom clear. Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed."--Publishers Weekly on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series."--B&N SF & Fantasy Blog on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire."--Guardian on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong world building."--Fantasy Faction on The Shadow of What Was Lost

The plot twists are unexpected, the world building is fascinating, and the fledgling love story is a charmer.... This sweeping and compelling epic is ripe for a sequel.--Booklist on The Shadow of What Was Lost

About the Author

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
1,069 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 28 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 26 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 5 July 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 8 January 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 23 May 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 4 February 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 22 December 2014
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 10 February 2019
Verified Purchase

Top international reviews

When Belief Dies
5.0 out of 5 stars Well - I really enjoyed that!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 March 2019
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Barry Mulvany
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 December 2018
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Timbertwig
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced and action-packed opener
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 June 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
DrFireFlower
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, great storytelling
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 September 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Fraser William Donaldson
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected gem
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 April 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
stephen ferguson
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing and ultimately boring
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
pCiaran
3.0 out of 5 stars Bounced hard at about 25%
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 August 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Nick Moz
4.0 out of 5 stars Sorcery and power games
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 October 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
singularly simple
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, good story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 December 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Robin Kendal
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting premise but got a little tiresome for me after a bit
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 January 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Harry Caudwell
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
BS5411
5.0 out of 5 stars Intrigued me enough to purchase the sequel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Martin H. Worboys
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 May 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
N16
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
anonymous
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 August 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse