Buying Options

Kindle Price: $4.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Shadow War (Tom Locke Thriller Book 1) by [Sean McFate, Bret Witter]

Follow the Authors

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Shadow War (Tom Locke Thriller Book 1) Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 158 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.99

New children's books bundles!
Book bundles for children's growth and development. Shop now

Product description

Review

"Shadow War has pace like a catapult, sudden and fierce, and it will hit readers straight between the eyes."--Ted Bell, New York Times Bestselling author of Patriot

"Wars produce warriors. Some, like special operator-turned mercenary Tom Locke, find it a curious calling that pulls them into the darkest of nights and most dangerous of places. Shadow War brings all of it to life in fascinating detail."--General Stanley A. McChrystal

"For Black Ops and lots of military action, join Tom Locke for an exciting, wild ride."--Catherine Coulter, author of
Nemesis

"Step aside, faux thriller writers and armchair warrior storytellers. Ex-mercenary Sean McFate has produced a first novel that's assured, authentic, timely, gritty, and most of all real... I enjoyed the hell out of it."--C.J. Box,
New York Times Best-selling Author of BADLANDS and OFF THE GRID

"With well-drawn and fascinating characters and ground level espionage and combat sure to please fans of Brad Thor, Tom Clancy, and Daniel Silva, Shadow War is simply one of the most entertaining and intriguing books I've read in quite some time."--Mark Greaney, #1
NYT Bestselling author of BACK BLAST

"Intelligent, funny, gritty, Ferrari-paced - at times even electric. Shadow War is in the running for best debut of 2016!"--Ben Coes,
New York Times Bestselling author of Eye for an Eye

"An American James Bond meets the twists and turns of "Homeland."--Adm James Stavridis, USN (Ret), Supreme Allied Commander at NATO

"A gripping journey inside the world of modern warfare and espionage, and those who enjoy a good military thriller will be hoping that more Tom Locke adventures will follow quickly."--Booklist

"McFate knows the world of his first thriller intimately... The novel provides plenty of drama and a realistic view of political intrigue, and McFate really shines with lines that ring with authenticity. . . . A promising debut from an author who clearly knows the realities of the mercenary's trade."--Kirkus Reviews

"[A] terrific debut... Resonance and depth [are] certain to make
Shadow War the book others... seek to replicate. A tour de force of form and function for a new geopolitical reality."--Providence Journal

"A full-tilt thriller... Full of tense moments, survival situations, gun fire, explosions, and even a romance (even if it is short lived).... I'm definitely looking forward to the next installment of the Tom Locke saga."--BlackDogSpeaks.com on
Shadow War

"[A] smart, exciting first novel and series launch.... Readers will look forward to seeing a lot more of Locke."--Publishers Weekly
(starred review) --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

From the Back Cover

From a paratrooper turned private military contractor comes a blistering-hot debut in the tradition of Brad Thor, Daniel Silva, and Tom Clancy about an elite American mercenary on a secret mission to rescue a businessman's family in Eastern Europe

Tom Locke is an elite warrior working for Apollo Outcomes, one of the world's most successful private contracting firms. Pulled out of a mission in Libya, he is tapped for an unusual and risky assignment: a top secret black op in Ukraine. He has one week to rescue an oligarch's family and to pull off a spectacular assault that could have long-lasting repercussions for this imperiled Eastern European nation and the world.

What Locke doesn't know is that the operation comes with a dangerous complication. Brad Winters, Locke's ambitious and enigmatic boss, is engaged in a secretive, high-stakes geopolitical chess game with influential power brokers in capitals around the world. One misstep could cost him--and Locke--everything. And that misstep may already have been committed by Locke's former love, war correspondent Alie MacFarlane, who impulsively makes a move that risks both their lives.

Locke has methodically planned the mission and handpicked a team of trusted operatives to pull it off--and to save his ass if things go south. He is an intelligent, iconoclastic soldier who specializes in achieving the impossible, but all his brilliant preparation can't prevent the backstabbing and recklessness that is getting in his way. Locke must move quickly to stay ahead of a looming betrayal that could lead to catastrophe . . . and tip the balance of power toward Putin's Russia.

With fascinating characters, nonstop action, and unparalleled authenticity, Sean McFate and Bret Witter's thrilling debut will captivate readers and reveal the terrifying power plays and treachery that determine the fate of the modern world.

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B01MT7CYVQ
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Canelo Action; Digital original edition (16 January 2017)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1840 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 437 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.9 out of 5 stars 158 ratings

About the authors

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5
158 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 5 November 2017
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 18 November 2017
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 23 September 2017
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Rob Roy
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and informative
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 March 2017
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Clark W Derbys
5.0 out of 5 stars Startling international strategic story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 October 2017
Verified Purchase
Robert Jordan
5.0 out of 5 stars Topical story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 August 2017
Verified Purchase
GeeG
3.0 out of 5 stars Shadow War
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 November 2017
Verified Purchase
Freddie
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 June 2017
Verified Purchase
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?