You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $4.25
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Secrets of Filming Swallows & Amazons (1974) by [Neville, Sophie]
Kindle App Ad

The Secrets of Filming Swallows & Amazons (1974) Kindle Edition


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$4.25

Length: 329 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English
  • Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download

What's New in Kindle Unlimited
Discover this month's featured titles, now available to read for £0.00. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

A behind the scenes filmography of the family classic. In 1973, Sophie Neville was cast as Titty alongside Suzanna Hamilton and Virginia McKenna in the EMI/Theatre Projects movie of 'Swallows & Amazons' (1974). Made before the advent of CGI or digital technology, the young actors lived out Arthur Ransome's epic adventure, with all of its camaraderie and thrills, on location in the British Lake District.

As part of their schoolwork, the children were asked to keep diaries about their time spent filming. Meanwhile, the hip young crew from Elstree Studios were getting to grips with transforming 1970's Windermere in mid-holiday season into a 1929 idyll.

They never guessed that their happy 'Woodstock-on-wheels' experience would become such an enduring worldwide success, still screened on television and at festivals today.

This heart-warming true life memoir is illustrated with colour photographs, most of them taken at the time by Sophie's family, and contains links to behind-the-scenes 16mm cine footage for readers with browser-enabled tablets. It delivers a double helping of nostalgia for both fans of the era of Arthur Ransome, and the groovy times of the early Seventies.

Second edition revised and updated 2016.

‘A “treasure trunk” of insights into the making of the film.’ Arthur Ransome Trust

‘I could not put it down! …I think the maps are brilliant, right in character….IT'S LOVELY!!! I’m enjoying it too much.’ Roger Wardale, biographer of Arthur Ransome

‘…It is wonderfully entertaining.’ Richard Pilbrow, Producer, 'Swallows & Amazons' 1973

‘You write so well and have so much covered. I really, really laugh reading this! The missionary bit is superb. Moving. Quietly so.’ Suzanna Hamilton, Mate Susan in 'Swallows & Amazons'

'Sophie has reminded me of one of the happiest times I ever spent on a film. The fun that was had, the friendships forged, the challenges overcome, are all delightfully recalled with a freshness and sense of adventure that has made me smile all over again.' Virginia McKenna, OBE, actress and founder of Born Free Foundation

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 16033 KB
  • Print Length: 329 pages
  • Publisher: Ashton House Publishing; 2 edition (3 January 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00GNFYZJS
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #256,229 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
0
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.7 out of 5 stars 7 reviews
One person found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsReview for the Arthur Ransome Society Literary Journal "Mixed Moss"
on 9 May 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsFascinating for fans of Swallows and Amazons
on 5 May 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
4.0 out of 5 starsReal Secrets Make Fun Read
on 8 April 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 starsA wonderful book about the wonderful film
on 17 February 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 starsBrilliant Read
on 20 November 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?