You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $11.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Loading recommendations for you
Recommendations for you

Adding to Cart...

Added to Cart

Not Added

Item is in your Cart

View Cart

Not Added

There was a problem adding this item to Cart. Please try again later.
Sorry, we're having trouble showing recommendations right now. Please try again later.
Continue shopping
The Scarred Woman (Department Q Book 7) by [Adler-Olsen, Jussi]
Kindle App Ad

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Scarred Woman (Department Q Book 7) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$11.99
Digital

Length: 482 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $5.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

Praise for The Scarred Woman

"Scandinavian crime novels don't get much darker than Jussi Adler-Olsen's Department Q police procedurals."--Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review

"[S]atisfyingly dark, both in tone and content...an undeniable page-turner."--Publishers Weekly

"[R]iveting...All of the Department Q books contain dark humor, high satire, social commentary--not always politically correct--and grand villains, with The Scarred Woman being no exception."--BookReporter

"[M]esmerizing...The cleverly devised plot paints a fascinating tale of murder and mayhem with a touch of witty and subtle humor."--Fresh Fiction

"You'll be desperate to figure out the identity of the scarred woman as the suspense drives toward a deadly and at times comical conclusion."--Associated Press

"The novel is eerily timely...[and] the relationship and banter between Carl and his associate Assad, with Assad's 'linguistic blunders, ' continue to elicit chuckles. Adler-Olsen is deadly serious, though, and compassionate when it comes to poor, traumatized Rose. She may have emotional scars but her friends have got her back."--Shelf Awareness

"The legions of readers still enjoying the Millennium books will devour this seventh in a series starring the officers of Copenhagen's cold-case unit, Department Q."--Booklist

"Filled with dark humor and tight plotting....Highly recommended."--Spinetingler Magazine

"Highly recommended as dark literature written with beauty and class."--The Suspense Is Thrilling Me Blog

"[A] superbly constructed multi-layered mystery."--Murder, Mayhem, and More

Praise for Jussi Adler-Olsen's Department Q series

"It can be hard to distinguish Scandinavian crime writers--there are a lot of them, and their names have consonant clusters and umlauts and all that jazz--but Jussi Adler-Olsen is a name to know. In a crowded genre, Adler-Olsen is an outlier."--GQ.com

"If you like the dark humor, wisecracking, and layered betrayals of Raymond Chandler, then read Adler-Olsen's Department Q series."--Men's Journal

"Thrilling, clever, and driven by a rough-hewn protagonist."--Paste Magazine

"A tense, pleasurable read."--USA Today

"[A] sordid tale... inspired by actual events during a dark period of Danish history. Ah, but there is more, so much more in this frenzied thriller."--The New York Times Book Review

"Adler-Olsen merges story lines...with ingenious aplomb, effortlessly mixing hilarities with horrors...This crime fiction tour de force could only have been devised by an author who can even turn stomach flu into a belly laugh."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This series has enough twists to captivate contemporary mystery readers and enough substance and background to entertain readers with historical and literary tastes."--Library Journal (starred review)

"When your series relies on cold cases, it's not always easy to craft plots that have both historical interest and an air of urgency, but it's something Adler-Olsen is very good at."--Booklist

Product Description

A NO. 1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER
OVER 18 MILLION COPIES SOLD
WINNER OF THE GLASS KEY AWARD

Jussi Adler-Olsen returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet...

In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.

Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After a breakdown, their colleague Rose is struggling to deal with the ghosts of her past - a past seemingly connected to one of the division's most sinister case-files. It is up to Carl, Assad and Gordon to unearth the dark and violent truth plaguing Rose before it is too late.

Translated by William Frost

Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3390 KB
  • Print Length: 482 pages
  • Publisher: Quercus (19 September 2017)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01M8MAIXY
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #58,651 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
5 customer ratings
5 star
42%
4 star
58%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

5 customer reviews

28 December 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
13 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
13 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
29 October 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 50 REVIEWER
20 February 2019
Format: Kindle Edition

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?