You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Digital List Price: $9.99
Kindle Price: $0.00

Save $9.99 (100%)

includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Rush (The Game Book 1) by [Silver, Eve]
Kindle App Ad

Rush (The Game Book 1) Kindle Edition


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$0.00

Length: 373 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

EOFY Sale
Save up to 70% on Kindle Books. Sale ends 30 June 2017 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Product Description

WINNER of the Forest of Reading White Pine Award! Shortlisted for the Monica Hughes Award in Science Fiction and Fantasy!

So what's the game now? This or the life I used to know?

Sixteen-year-old Miki Jones is pulled from her everyday life into an alternate reality game where she and a team of other teens battle the Drau—beautiful and deadly alien creatures bent on mankind's destruction. There are no dry runs, no boot camp, no time to acclimate to new weapons. There's only the mission: kill or be killed. Make it out alive, and Miki gets to respawn back in her real world . . . but only until she's pulled into the terror of the game again and again.

The team's mysterious leader insists it's every player for herself. Other players whisper about hit points and health bars and a way out of the game. Everyone has secrets. Everyone lies. And when the mission takes a deadly turn, Miki's only hope for survival depends on her figuring out who—and what—to trust.

Thrilling action and addictive romance—a mind-bending rush of a read!"—Pittacus Lore, New York Times bestselling author of the I Am Number Four series

"Smart and original, Rush is an action-packed ride with plenty of heart."
—Kelley Armstrong, #1 New York Times bestselling author—

"RUSH is an intense, pulse-pounding thrill-ride...you need to read this book!"
—Morgan Rhodes, New York Times bestselling author— 

"The battle scenes are visceral and taut. The intricate, multilayered plot is inventive…Mind candy for those teen readers who love the thrill of the game."
—Kirkus—

"Silver has produced a taut, exciting YA debut with believable dialogue, enticing characters, and a cliffhanger ending that will have readers waiting impatiently for the series’ next instalment."
—Quill & Quire, starred review—

"Whether teens read this for the romance or the science fiction, they’ll finish eager for the second installment of the Game series."
—Booklist—

"For readers of The Hunger Games and Divergent, Rush follows in a similar new tradition, with electric high-action scenes, a world in peril..."
—The Globe and Mail—

 "The stakes are high, the action is consistent, and there is never too much revealed at once; Silver has a wonderful talent with suspense. . . . Highly Recommended."
—CM Magazine—

 "The addictive plot, fresh setting and amazing characters create a novel you’ll stay up late to finish."
—RT BOOKreviews—

"RUSH is a thrill ride of a read with hot guys, aliens, and LOTS of action. Perfect for gamers AND romantics."
—Amy Christine Parker, author of Gated—

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2515 KB
  • Print Length: 373 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0062192132
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Eve Silver (9 August 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 098693576X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0986935763
  • ASIN: B00ML3V5PI
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #6,144 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

click to open popover

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.com.au.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars 107 reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Rush: The Game by Eve Silver 30 December 2013
By Madison W Fairbanks - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Rush: The Game by Eve Silver

Teen series with alternate reality that is deadly. Great premise and action. Miki Jones is impressive with her attitude yet has issues that you easily forgive.

Miki is pulled into the game, forced to protect herself, kill, and return to her unchanged home environment without discussing it with anyone. How is it possible to keep secrets so huge that have such an impact in your life? I don't think I could do that and totally understand why she needs to connect with the other players.

This book does deal with death and loss so is not for the younger readers of the genre.

It was a really good read. Intense, but frustrating for Miki.

Minor spoiler: I hate cliffhangers and unanswered questions. If I had known ahead of time I would have waited to read until the entire series is available.
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea but SLOW start! 13 August 2013
By Courtney @ Fuzzy.Coffee.Books - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
What I Liked: 1) I liked the parts of it that were described like a video game. I think if it hadn't taken that direction, I probably would have been lost. On the flip side, if you haven't really ever played a video game, you might not understand some of what they are talking about. But for me, and anyone else who knows gamer lingo (the easy stuff, like health bars and things like that), it made it easy to follow along, like something concrete in a story that bounces around a lot. 2) Action-packed. For the most part, the book was non-stop. It began with main character Miki being hit by a truck in the first chapter. I was glad to see how much of the book was dedicated to the action. 3) Miki was fairly well developed. I wanted to know where she was going and I did find myself hoping that everything was going to work out with her in the end! 4) The ending left me curious, so that's a bonus! Also, there are aliens. This is interesting.

What I Didn't Like: 1) First of all, while the book started with a bang, it slowed to a crawl for the first 6 or so chapters. After that the action picked up again, but I almost didn't make it to the "exciting part." I almost never leave a book unread, but the book just wasn't holding my focus until I hit chapter 7. 2) The overall plot was intriguing, but the secondary plots all fizzled and died somewhere in the middle of the story. It made the story two dimensional and a little flat. I don't think I ever realized the importance of secondary plot lines before, but I am officially a big fan of them. 3) Other than Miki being developed pretty well, I needed more from the others. Many parts of this story fell flat for me.

Overall Thoughts: Eve Silver's Rush was an action-packed story with an interesting plot line and peppered with gamer lingo, which was super fun. There were some plot and character problems, and if you don't stick with it in the beginning, you probably won't finish it, because the beginning moves too slow. But despite all of that, I'm probably going to pick up the second book when it comes out because I'm just curious about what's going to happen next.

My Rating: 3 shots
4.0 out of 5 stars Mindbending fun 31 December 2014
By Deana - Golden Yogini - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Miki, our teen heroine, rushes out to save a child from an oncoming car when she's struck. Lying among the remains of her broken body, however, she blacks out and wakes in "the lobby," perfectly whole and well, with other teens who inform her she is now part of a group chosen to fight aliens and save the world from extinction. Umm, whaaaa? Yep!

Alternate realities (I think) collide, over and over, as Miki, two guys from her school and other teens are pulled in from their day to day existence to fight for their, and everyone else's, lives. Days and weeks can pass in "the game," while only a moment passes in real life. The hitch, however, is that you definitely do not want to die in the game. If you do, well, you simply don't come back. Ever.

The characters are well rounded and likable, with accurate and age-appropriate dialogue. Great start to a fun and mindbending series.
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingggggg 17 November 2013
By Melissa - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
I really fell in love with this book! It is a fresh of breath air in the YA world!

Miki is one kickass character. Right form the beginning you fall in love, she puts herself before others. And when she wakes up in a different sort of world she has no idea what to do or think. She is completely lost and not in control! When Jackson and Luka start to explain what is about to happen, she thinks they are kidding. But no here she is thrown into the middle of some game where it is life or death!

When they switch back to real life, she is lost and a wee bit hysterical but she still stays put together. She is taking it in stride, well most of it and when Jackson enters her life he turns it upside down. He is just like her, he understands her like noone else. As she starts to fall, she realizes she doesn't know much about him, and when she does learn will she be able to see past it all to her true feelings?

This is a great, action packed, full of awesomeness book! The ending hints at another book and it can't come out soon enough. The characters are down to earth, and you just fall in love immediately!
3.0 out of 5 stars Gaming: Is it innocent fun or possible death? 25 August 2013
By Written Melodies - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
3.5/5 stars

Miki is one of many teenagers snatched unwillingly and drafted unknowingly into a war against the Drau. In a burst of light, these monstrous metallic-eyed beasts attack. With one look into their eyes, the extraterritorial beings kill...draining all life out of the body. Lacking a reset, revive, or multi-lives button, the outcome is detrimental to survival. For the actions in the game aren't sequestered in that realm alone, but transcends to the parallel dimension as well. Receiving a skimpy crash course, Miki must play, ready or not.

Rush is packed with action, adventure, and romance. Even though I'm not big on love triangles, Eve Silver does an excellent job in portraying Miki's conflicted emotions. It's believable and not full of angst. I found the reverse play on light and dark intriguing. The enemy draped in light avoids the dark weapon created to extinguish it. Despite understanding Miki's need for control, her compulsion for information grated on my nerves. Screaming "nooo!" at the dramatic conclusion, I could've thrown my laptop across the room. Hoping to connect with Miki in book two, I'm eager to read more about the Game.

Recommended for grades 9-12 due to language.

Look for similar items by category