$32.77 + $3.00 Delivery
In stock.
Ships from and sold by RarewavesUSA.
$32.77 + $3.00 Delivery
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$35.78
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Add to Cart
$37.03
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: BuyGlobal
Add to Cart
$29.36
+ $11.08 Delivery
Sold by: Amazon US
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The River: A Novel Hardcover – 5 Mar 2019


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, 5 Mar 2019
$32.77
$29.36
click to open popover

Product details

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: KNOPF US (5 March 2019)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0525521879
  • ISBN-13: 978-0525521877
  • Product Dimensions: 14.7 x 2.4 x 21.6 cm
  • Boxed-product Weight: 431 g
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 195,105 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product description

Review

"Utter joy... A suspenseful tale told with glorious drama and lyrical flair."
-Denise Mina, The New York Times Book Review

"Urgent, visceral writing--I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. A beautiful, heartrending exploration of male friendship."
-Clare Mackintosh, bestselling author of Let Me Lie

"[T]here is plenty of tension here, but where Heller really scores is the extraordinarily high quality of his writing about the natural world, which is lyrical and action-packed by turns."
-Laura Wilson, The Guardian

"A fiery tour de force... [The River] recalls his debut, The Dog Stars, with its poetic, staccato sentences and masterfully crafted prose... And what a story he tells... I could not put this book down. It truly was terrifying and unutterably beautiful."
-Alison Borden, The Denver Post

"[A] poetic and unnerving wilderness thriller... Full of rushing life and profound consequences. Every move Jack and Wynn make along the river has the chance to kill them or those they're trying to save, and the result is a novel that sweeps you away, each page filled with wonder and awe for a natural world we can quantify with science but can rarely predict with emotion."
-Tod Goldberg, USA Today

"Heller puts his knowledge of canoeing and currents to fascinating use. He has created indelible characters in Wynn and Jack, pals who are almost exact opposites: the former a bearish galoot who's convinced that people are basically good, and the latter a pessimist who's convinced that their only hope for salvation is to paddle as fast as they can."
-Ross Gray, Minneapolis Star Tribune

"Another superbly crafted adventure-action-mystery story... Reminiscent of James Dickey's classic Deliverance... The beat of Heller's novel builds to a furious pace."
-John Newlin, New York Journal of Books

"Engaging...satisfying... Terse and tight. Short, lyrical paragraphs are packed with action and keep the story moving along... Like a lot of backcountry missions, the most compelling parts of the story aren't necessarily the rapids or the high-risk moves. Instead they're the quiet moments where Wynn and Jack are coupling their rods together and wading slowly through vivid, tannic streams."
-Heather Hansman, Outside Magazine

"It is a rare literary feat when an author is able to marry plot and prose with the soaring majesty that Heller achieves in The River."
-Drew Gallagher, Fredericksburg Free Lance Star

Book Description

From the best-selling author of The Dog Stars, this is a masterful tale of wilderness survival in the vein of Into the Wild and The Call of the Wild. It is the story of two college friends on a wilderness canoe trip-a gripping tale of a friendship tested by fire, white water, and violence.

No customer reviews


Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars 281 reviews
Curtis G
5.0 out of 5 starsIf Peter Heller published a grocery list, I’d read it
26 January 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
75 people found this helpful.
Linda C.
4.0 out of 5 starsRemarkable book - one I will remember for a long time
20 March 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
29 people found this helpful.
Tony Hayden
5.0 out of 5 starsA Review of the Writer.
17 March 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
24 people found this helpful.
dustylee
5.0 out of 5 starsGreat writing, Compelling narrative
17 March 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
17 people found this helpful.
Rosalind Robb
2.0 out of 5 starsFeel duped by reviews.
20 April 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful.