Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership
$73.49
Only 5 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by BuyGlobal.
<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Red Runs the Helmand Paperback – 28 April 2011

4.2 out of 5 stars 19 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$73.49
$42.50
FREE delivery: 6 - 14 April

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

Frequently bought together

  • Red Runs the Helmand
  • +
  • Dust And Steel
Total Price: $107.52
Buy the selected items together

AUDIBLE FREE TRIAL
Includes your first audiobook free, a bonus book selected by our editors, unlimited access to exclusive podcasts and more. $16.45/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime. Learn more >

Product details

  • Publisher : HarperCollins (28 April 2011)
  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 400 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0007302762
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0007302765
  • Dimensions : 15.3 x 2.7 x 23.4 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 19 ratings

Product description

Review

Praise for To Do and Die:

'A finely-drawn depiction of battle and the camaraderie of war' Daily Mail

‘Mercer's prose is muscular yet silky smooth. His depiction of the experience of battle is unsurpassed’
Saul David, author of Zulu Dawn

‘An excellent fiction debut. Any more please?’
Military Illustrated

‘Mercer creates colourful, believable characters that stay true to the dialect of the time, but remain recognisable to any modern soldier. Fans of Sharpe, Flashman or Matthew Hervey should enjoy this novel’
Soldier Magazine

About the Author

Born in 1956, Patrick Mercer read History at Oxford University before joining the Army. He commanded his battalion in Bosnia and Canada. Previously receiving a gallantry commendation, he was awarded the OBE in 1997. In 1999, Patrick Mercer accepted a post as the Defence Reporter for the Today Programme. In the 2001 election, he won the Tory seat in Newark. A respected historian, he has already published a non-fiction account of the Inkerman battle during the Crimean War.

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
19 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

A. Hunter
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate & highly evocative of the period
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 June 2013
Verified Purchase
Big Fella
4.0 out of 5 stars Handling weapons and inter-rank discipline.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 September 2012
Verified Purchase
Don't tell him your name Pike
4.0 out of 5 stars the Maiwand Heroes
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 September 2012
Verified Purchase
John Townsend
4.0 out of 5 stars Red runs the Helmund
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 August 2012
Verified Purchase
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine military book of the British in Afghanistan during Queen Victoria's reign
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 December 2013
Verified Purchase