You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $9.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Red Runs the Helmand by [Patrick Mercer]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Red Runs the Helmand Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 19 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99
Length: 387 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Save up to 50% off RRP on select top books
PLUS, free expedited delivery. T&C's apply. See more

Product description

Review

Praise for To Do and Die:

'A finely-drawn depiction of battle and the camaraderie of war' Daily Mail

‘Mercer's prose is muscular yet silky smooth. His depiction of the experience of battle is unsurpassed’
Saul David, author of Zulu Dawn

‘An excellent fiction debut. Any more please?’
Military Illustrated

‘Mercer creates colourful, believable characters that stay true to the dialect of the time, but remain recognisable to any modern soldier. Fans of Sharpe, Flashman or Matthew Hervey should enjoy this novel’
Soldier Magazine

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Born in 1956, Patrick Mercer read History at Oxford University before joining the Army. He commanded his battalion in Bosnia and Canada. Previously receiving a gallantry commendation, he was awarded the OBE in 1997. In 1999, Patrick Mercer accepted a post as the Defence Reporter for the Today Programme. In the 2001 election, he won the Tory seat in Newark. A respected historian, he has already published a non-fiction account of the Inkerman battle during the Crimean War.

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN : B004VM64FS
  • Publisher : HarperCollins (28 April 2011)
  • Language : English
  • File size : 3268 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Not Enabled
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 387 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 19 ratings
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
19 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

A. Hunter
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate & highly evocative of the period
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 June 2013
Verified Purchase
Big Fella
4.0 out of 5 stars Handling weapons and inter-rank discipline.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 September 2012
Verified Purchase
Don't tell him your name Pike
4.0 out of 5 stars the Maiwand Heroes
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 September 2012
Verified Purchase
John Townsend
4.0 out of 5 stars Red runs the Helmund
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 August 2012
Verified Purchase
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine military book of the British in Afghanistan during Queen Victoria's reign
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 December 2013
Verified Purchase