You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Digital List Price: $9.99
Kindle Price: $7.25

Save $2.74 (27%)

includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Red Ribbon by [Adlington, Lucy]
Kindle App Ad

The Red Ribbon Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$7.25

Length: 292 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Countdown to Christmas Sale
Save up to 70% on Kindle Books. Sale ends 24 December 2017 at 11:59 pm AEDT. Shop now

Product description

Review

The Red Ribbon is the best YA novel about the Holocaust I have read. The story it threads together is gripping, moving and important. The book is deeply-researched, but the wears its learning so lightly that the history is woven seamlessly into the fabric of the colourful story. I was especially struck by its sophisticated handling of the moral questions that the camps ask. More honest (and much more historically accurate) than the overly-simplistic fable The Boy in Striped Pyjamas, The Red Ribbon deserves to be very widely appreciated indeed, and I urge teachers and Holocaust educators especially to read it. -- Holocaust Research Institute, Royal Holloway, University of London * Robert Eaglestone, Professor of Contemporary Literature and Thought * Lucy Adlington's 'The Red Ribbon' is a very worthy addition to the canon of young adult Holocaust novels and it well deserves its place alongside 'The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas', 'The Book Thief' and the Morris Gleitzman trilogy. I had heard of the musicians of Auschwitz before but not the clothiers although as someone who has visited the concentration camp it is poignantly ironic to contrast the mounds of clothing there with the thin striped outfits the inmates were forced to wear and as the novel shows that some were able to prolong their survival because of their dressmaking skills. Adlington does not shirk from conveying the horrors of such a place but portrays them in a sensitive manner never forgetting her target audience. She also manages to show that even in the darkest of situations compassion, friendship and humanity can never be totally extinguished. Her characters are well drawn, the prose skips along and the novel is cleverly divided into sections represented by a colour. I was particularly moved by the final part with its emphasis on hope and looking to the future without ever forgetting the past rather than on despair and retribution. This is a finely written novel about a delicate subject and one that like two of the aforementioned novels would I have no doubt translate well to the screen. * Benjamin Peel, Skegness Library * A Real Weepie * My Weekly * Lucy Adlington's read is a tear jerker. Bookworms are calling it a cross between 'The Diary of Anne Frank' and 'The Boy in the Striped Pyjama' and it's a reading list essential * Maximum Pop * In Auschwitz, teenagers Ella and Rose survive because they create clothes for the Commandant's wife. Despite the dark situation, the friends' compassion, friendship and humanity win out * Candis Magazine * A terrific read and a great story of endurance and survival * School Librarian * A sensitive and brilliantly-written look at the Holocaust * Book Murmuration * compelling, illuminating, ... and female * Notes On Paper * an engaging read * I Wuv Books * My thoughts as I finished reading the book were that I had just read an amazing book. The author has written a fictional version based on the extremely real facts that took place at the horrific prisoner of war camp that is better known as Auschwitz. This is the sort of history that should be taught about in schools so the atrocities and those who died are never ever forgotten * Jeanz Books Read and Review * For a moment, I was wondering how such a deeply harrowing time in history could be conveyed as a Young Adult story, but Lucy does this with care, sensitivity and raw emotion that is suitable and readable for any reader from the early tween years. Overall, I just can't stop thinking about The Red Ribbon ever since I closed the last page. I am truly in awe of the effort, truth and pure brilliance that Lucy Adlington has put into this novel, with these fragile and broken, yet strong and kind, characters bound together in a time where they were forced apart. This is a truly mesmerising tale of hope, sacrifice and friendship and I loved it! * Pretty little Memoirs * an affecting and enlightening read * Black Plume *

Product Description

Rose, Ella, Marta and Carla.

In another life we might all have been friends together.

But this was Birchwood.

For readers of The Diary of Anne Frank and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.

As fourteen-year-old Ella begins her first day at work she steps into a world of silks, seams, scissors, pins, hems and trimmings. She is a dressmaker, but this is no ordinary sewing workshop. Hers are no ordinary clients.

Ella has joined the seamstresses of Birkenau-Auschwitz, as readers may recognise it. Every dress she makes could mean the difference between life and death. And this place is all about survival.

Ella seeks refuge from this reality, and from haunting memories, in her work and in the world of fashion and fabrics. She is faced with painful decisions about how far she is prepared to go to survive. Is her love of clothes and creativity nothing more than collaboration with her captors, or is it a means of staying alive? Will she fight for herself alone, or will she trust the importance of an ever-deepening friendship with Rose?

One thing weaves through the colours of couture gowns and camp mud - a red ribbon, given to Ella as a symbol of hope.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 592 KB
  • Print Length: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Hot Key Books (21 September 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06XT46294
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #60,565 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 1 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 21 November 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.6 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
5.0 out of 5 starsLoved it!!
on 21 September 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
4.0 out of 5 starsThe Red Ribbon follows 14-year-old Ella as she gets a job as a seamstress in Auschwitz and does her best to survive
on 7 October 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
5.0 out of 5 starsThe YA Bookshelf
on 10 October 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
5.0 out of 5 starsOne of my favourite reads of the year!
on 5 November 2017 - Published on Amazon.com

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?