Buy new:
$21.25
RRP: $24.99 Details

Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
Save: $3.74 (15%)
FREE delivery: 14 July - 18 Aug on first order.
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon AU
Sold by Amazon AU
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Queen of Hearts Paperback – 16 April 2019

4.4 out of 5 stars 628 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$29.13
Paperback
$21.25
$18.16

Enhance your purchase

Save on selected Bestselling Big Idea books.
View our curated selection of books. Click to explore.

Frequently bought together

  • The Queen of Hearts
  • +
  • The Antidote for Everything
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
One of these items is shipped sooner than the other.
Choose items to buy together.

AUDIBLE FREE TRIAL
Includes your first audiobook free, a bonus book selected by our editors, unlimited access to exclusive podcasts and more. $16.45/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime. Learn more >

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Berkley; 1st edition (16 April 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 368 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0399585893
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0399585890
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.87 x 2.46 x 20.9 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 628 ratings

Product description

Review

Praise for The Queen of Hearts
One of Real Simple's "Best Books of 2018"
Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2018 by Southern Living, Elite Daily, and Writer's Digest

"Martin leverages her own background as a doctor to great effect throughout...[she] is equally insightful about many aspects of long-term female friendships, especially the blind spots that they often contain by necessity."--The New York Times

"A gripping and emotional novel perfect for fans of Meredith and Christina's iconic friendship, The Queen of Hearts is the perfect book for fall."--Bustle

"Martin's extraordinary sensitivity and empathy shines through during moments of crisis, which draw out the subtle, complex shades of her characters...the beautifully rendered characters and compelling, rhythmic storyline make The Queen of Hearts a thrilling read, and a fascinating look into the medical world. It's an impressive debut, full of warmth and excitement."--The Harvard Crimson

"Fans of Grey's Anatomy are sure to enjoy this new release, a novel about friendship, success, and secrets set amid the day-to-day drama of a hospital in Charlotte, North Carolina."--Southern Living

"Kimmery Martin's excellent debut novel serves up an irresistible mix of romance, ER drama, friendship and betrayal. Martin, a physician herself, writes in a clear and lively way....In her hands, dramatic hospital scenes and routine kitchen conversations are equally compelling."--BookPage

"A secret from two doctors' pasts may put what they cherish most under the knife: their friendship. A book about female friendships that unapologetically wears its heart on its sleeve."--Kirkus Reviews

"Martin's debut novel, about pediatric cardiologist Zadie Anson and trauma surgeon Emma Colley, is a medical drama executed with just the right balance of intensity, plot twists, tragedy, and humor...A remarkably absorbing read."--Booklist

"Whip-smart and full of heart, Martin expertly weaves the threads of friendship, love and betrayal into a story that crackles with humor and compassion. A brilliant debut."--Lisa Duffy, author of The Salt House

"In The Queen of Hearts, debut author Kimmery Martin brings humor and insight into this exploration of friendships and secrets set in the fascinating world of practicing doctors. She effortlessly weaves the past and the present to bring you all sides of this nuanced story. Part mystery and part exploration of the human heart, Martin has a cure for what ails both her characters and their relatable problems. Sure to be a hit with fans of JoJo Moyes and Liane Moriarty."--Catherine McKenzie, bestselling author of Hidden and The Good Liar

"In The Queen of Hearts, Kimmery Martin deftly weaves a tale of friendship and betrayal, family and lost love, the choices that define us and the secrets that keep us. Brimming with wit, intelligence, humor, and warmth, this dazzling debut teaches us about the heart's surprising resilience. Kimmery Martin is a new voice to watch."--Sarah Domet, author of The Guineveres

Full of wit, subtext, and (of course) heart. Martin's writing is smart, compassionate, and just plain entertaining. I can't wait to see what she comes up with next!--Jessica Strawser, author of Almost Missed You

"Martin's voice is sharp and authentic in this captivating debut about two old friends and the scorching secret that nearly destroys them. Your heart will be thumping until the final page."--Emily Liebert, author of Some Women

"Intense, vivid and sometimes surprisingly funny, The Queen of Hearts gives readers a behind-the-scenes look at the world of female physicians. Martin moves effortlessly between the women's highly relatable suburban lives and the literally cutting-edge drama of their work."--Kim Wright, author of Last Ride to Graceland, 2017 winner of the Willie Morris Award for Southern Fiction

"Tragedy and secrets refuse to stay buried in this fast-paced and clever exploration of the storied connection between Emma and Zadie. As wives, mothers, and physicians, they are just as susceptible to life and its multicolored traumas as any of the souls they care for."--Nadia Hashimi, international bestselling author of The Pearl that Broke Its Shell

"If you love Big Little Lies and medical dramas such as Grey's Anatomy and ER, there is no better book for you than The Queen of Hearts."--Hypable

Book Description

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2018 by Southern Living, Elite Daily, and Writer's Digest A debut novel set against a background of hospital rounds and life-or-death decisions that pulses with humor and empathy and explores the heart's capacity for forgiveness . . .

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
628 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 1 rating from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

anjali s
4.0 out of 5 stars For the fans of medical drama!
Reviewed in India on 21 June 2018
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Dorothyanne Brown
5.0 out of 5 stars The Queen of first time novels...
Reviewed in Canada on 24 April 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
silvia D
2.0 out of 5 stars Meh
Reviewed in Mexico on 21 May 2020
Verified Purchase
Anny
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product
Reviewed in India on 7 January 2019
Verified Purchase
Ann Grace
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read !
Reviewed in Canada on 26 March 2018
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse