$18.33 + FREE Delivery
In stock.
Ships from and sold by BuyGlobal.
$18.33 + FREE Delivery
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$18.84
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Wordery AU
Add to Cart
$15.85
+ $3.00 delivery
Sold by: Rarewaves UK
Add to Cart
$18.91
& Free Delivery on eligible orders See details and conditions
Sold by: Amazon AU
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Pursuit of Happiness Paperback – 3 Jan 2017


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$18.33
$15.85
click to open popover

Product details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: WINDMILL BOOKS (3 January 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9780099592556
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099592556
  • ASIN: 009959255X
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 1.8 x 19.8 cm
  • Boxed-product Weight: 118 g
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 244,290 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product description

Review

"I LOVED this book. I found it SO WELL WRITTEN, so witty and funny and reading it I was often envious of Ruth Whippman’s facility with language. It is a hugely engaging read, accessible and so relevant ... I really, really, really, really enjoyed it and am quite evangelical about it." (Marian Keyes, author of THE WOMAN WHO STOLE MY LIFE)

"Like Bill Bryson, Whippman has a willingness to play up cultural differences to comic effect … She also has Bryson’s sharp ear for language ... With warm wit and chilling logic, The Pursuit of Happiness shows that the human desire for contentment can be manipulated and distorted until it is barely recognisable ... A whip-smart British Bill Bryson." (Sunday Times)

"[Ruth Whippman] writes with sharpness and wit" (Evening Standard)

"Ruth Whippman is my new favorite cultural critic, and her book was such a joy to read that I temporarily forgot about all my neuroses. It’s a shrewd, hilarious analysis of why a country obsessed with happiness is so darn unhappy." (Adam Grant, author of GIVE AND TAKE, ORIGINALS, and OPTION B (coauthored with Sheryl Sandberg))

"A smart, insightful and at times hilarious critique of America's booking "Happiness industry" ... You might not end up happy but you'll be glad you read it." (Lauren Laverne The Pool)

"Those wanting to understand the complex reality of our personal quest for happiness might usefully turn to Ruth Whippman’s The Pursuit of Happiness – the lively memoir of a British journalist in California, on the hunt for that elusive but, as she sees it, increasingly sought-after, American ideal of happiness … Whippman – whose narrative voice is an unlikely mix of Kathy Lette’s and Louis Theroux’s – has followed her husband to Silicon Valley to start a new life … Whippman argues persuasively that happiness is something that emerges from the quality of relationships we have with others … The Pursuit of Happiness also sheds light on the link between religion and happiness." (Times Literary Supplement)

"She writes with a light touch ... Her conclusions are amusing and offer a useful commentary on this age of materialism and gloating." (The Times)

"Wry and often hilarious … Whippman takes readers on an engaging and perceptive personal romp through the $10 billion happiness industry, and, along the way, shreds much of the 'science' that happiness is both an individual responsibility and a solo endeavour. A great - and important – read." (Brigid Schulte, author of New York Times Bestseller OVERWHELMED: WORK, LOVE & PLAY WHEN NO ONE HAS THE TIME)

Book Description

A very funny debunking of our obsession with achieving happiness, which will appeal to readers of Bill Bryson, Louis Theroux and Pamela Duckerman.

No customer reviews


Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.6 out of 5 stars 4 reviews
Tabitha
5.0 out of 5 starsDo yourself a favour - you will feel happy if you read this intelligent and amusing book!
2 September 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
5 people found this helpful
Sharon T
3.0 out of 5 starsThis is the British edition of America the Anxious
28 June 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
One person found this helpful
Markku Ojanen
5.0 out of 5 starsPursuit of happiness may backfire
4 October 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
2 people found this helpful
Oleg T
2.0 out of 5 starsNot funny, mildly interesting
16 July 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
3 people found this helpful