You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $4.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Prince Who Loved Me: Princes of Oxenburg 1 by [Hawkins, Karen]
Kindle App Ad

The Prince Who Loved Me: Princes of Oxenburg 1 Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$4.99

Length: 378 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English
  • Similar books to The Prince Who Loved Me: Princes of Oxenburg 1

Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite
The best device for reading, full stop. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

Meet the Princes of Oxenburg... Fairytales with a sizzling, Scottish, and delightfully sparkling twist from New York Times bestseller Karen Hawkins. Fans of Julia Quinn, Monica McCarty and Julie Garwood will fall under the spell of this enchanting romance.

Once upon a time a rakish prince who didn't believe in true love met a stubborn fair lady who wouldn't settle for anything less...

Prince Alexsey Romanovin revels in his life of carefree flirtation. So when his grandmother insists it's time for him to wed and whisks him away to Scotland, Alexsey vows to foil her plans. And when he stumbles upon Bronwyn Murdoch, the prince thinks he's found his answer.

Bookish Bronwyn has no time for a handsome flirt - no matter how intoxicating his kisses are. And she knows full well that a spoiled, arrogant prince wouldn't be seriously interested in such a firm-minded female. But if Alexsey is foolish enough to play such a game, then Bronwyn is determined to turn it upside down, and prove that an ordinary woman can bring a prince to his knees...

For more fun, flirty and dazzling romance, look out for Book Two in Karen Hawkin's Princes of Oxenburg series, The Prince And I, and The Princess Wore Plaid enovella. And catch her fabulous Duchess Diaries series.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2578 KB
  • Print Length: 378 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1472229010
  • Publisher: Headline Eternal (12 March 2015)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00S53JGFY
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #124,702 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
this is the first Karen Hawkins book that I have read and I really like her style of writing. The story is set in scotland between Alexsey and Bronwyn and has a few laugh out loud moments with a few small surprises at the end.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars 175 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 glass slipper stars! 5 September 2015
By Casey - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Okay I think we just need to stop an evaluate this for a second. A Cinderella fairytale retelling! I kinda freaked out when I saw that in the title. No lie, I think I actually preferred this over the real Cinderella! It was so heartfelt and swoon worthy that I just couldn’t help but love it.

Bronwyn (who’s name I still can’t pronounce correctly in my head) is the eldest daughter of a suitable, albeit no very wealthy family, nobleman who does everything she can to avoid social gatherings and instead wishes to immerse herself in her books. After her disastrous introduction into the world of fine balls and gowns, Bronwyn is convinced she will never fit in with the socialites because of her love for knowledge and her lack of knowledge of fashion and dancing. She has deigned herself to simply living at home helping her father and her family while forever reading her books or so she thought…
Prince Alexsey has always enjoyed his carefree, flirting lifestyle but when his grandmother, the Grand Duchess, decides it is time for her grandson to wed, she has Alexsey accompany her to Scotland in the hopes she can find him a suitable match. Determined to thwart her plans, Alexsey does everything to avoid his grandmother and runs into a beautiful, stubborn lass that not only challenges his every words but is a women who finally interests him. He seeks to court her, if only to sastify his own desires and to get his grandmother off his back, but to their society Bronwan is not a suitable wife (because she’s 24 years “OLD”).

Bronwyn has no time for the flirtatious nature of the Prince as she must help her younger sisters prepare for their own introductions in order to secure them wealthy husbands. However, what Bronwyn wasn’t prepared for was the desire the Alexsey stirs within her. Though both agree neither wishes to marry and this is to be strictly a flirtatious bout of happiness, neither can deny the ultimate attraction and pull towards each other.

It is the battle of whims between these two as they both devised plans to want the other to want them and it is a constant battle to see who will cave first. It is without a doubt a light hearted but beautiful romance watching those two come together. Especially when both Bronwan and Alexsey finally realized how they felt about one another when everyone else already knew!

For Bronwan’s part, I loved how book smart she was but she was an absolute disaster when it came to anything socially related. She was blunt, improper and sarcastic yet she was fooling around with non other than the prince. It was endearing to watch her grow more and more bolder when it came to sneaking out late and even trysting with the prince! Naughty little minx…

I have to say I think the reason I enjoyed this book more than the fairy tale was because of the stepmother and the stepsisters. Unlike the original Disney version, they were not the evil mean step sibling or mother that we have all come to depose. Surprisingly enough they were just as kind as our heroine and it made the book that much better!

My final thought was how much I enjoyed the Prince and Bronwan’s constant humorous discussions and banter that lasted til the very,
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read 14 May 2015
By Barbara - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Ms. Hawkins has written a lovely romantic series
Snout the romantic lives of the 4 Oxenburg Princes. In Book two the handsome Alexsey, finds himself in Scotland with his stubborn grandmother who is determined to find him a proper lady to be his princess. Trouble is, Alexsey has no desire to marry and if he ever does, it will be a bride of his choice. So he plots to outwit his grandmother.

Does it work? Who will this battle of wills! Great book and looking forward to #3!
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of her better efforts 14 April 2015
By Carol A. Strickland - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This plodded along for the full first third until something finally happened. The characters are set up with potential, but the author never explores them. We are told what a hard-worker Our Heroine is, but we only see her reading books (everyone reads books in this) or mooning over the hero. Our Hero is an unlikeable sort, full of bluster about himself and what he'll do in the world, without giving a solid example of what he's doing now. Oh, but he's handsome and a prince.

Amazon said this was a Cinderella remix, but you could have fooled me. Yes, step-mother, step-sisters and prince—but that's it. The story is set in Scotland, which means that the serving folk have accents but no one else does, except the Romany prince and his grandmother. (When I see "Scot" in a Regency/Victorian romance, I usually run, and if I see "Romany" I do so as well, but here I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. These are overused tropes, and really aren't exploited here except to be used as keywords.)

I would have liked to have seen Our Heroine working with her dad so we could see what keen stuff he was involved with, maybe see that she had a mind and was inventive as well. I would have liked to have seen her working in a robust manner. You know: Cinderella. It would have been great if Our Hero had had redeeming characteristics, or if the "twist" ending hadn't been something that had me saying, "huh?" Exactly what happened? And why would it make sense on both sides? Nope, it didn't.

Too pat, too cardboard, too slow, too lacking in effort. Karen does MUCH better than this in some of her other books. I'd suggest you look for those.

Nice cover.
4.0 out of 5 stars A Sweet Read 14 May 2016
By Heather E. Fowler - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
I've never read Karen Hawkins before, so I didn't know what to expect. It was a sweet and romantic story with two strong characters in a classic romantic plot (a very loose Cinderella story). I enjoyed watching Bronwyn and Alexey fall in love, and the meddlesome stepmother and grandmother were fun additions to the cast. How they worked to bring the two together while "breaking them up" was priceless. The surprise with Sorcha and Stroth was pleasant if not really a surprise. Throughout the whole story they couldn't stand each other and was always very tense. The love scenes were sweet and tame; which I won't lie, was a bit disappointing. I wanted more passion and that was the only thing lacking with this story.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're not already a Karen Hawkins fan, this book will make you one 31 January 2016
By A. Lazarus - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
There's something about Bronwyn, the heroine of this tale that I really fell in love with. She has a certain forthright yet innocent charm about her that I found irresistible and apparently so did Prince Alexsey! This is a fun read with lots of witty banter. There is one scene at a party that literally had me laughing out loud and of course the romance that blossoms between Bronwyn and Alexsey is divine. If you're a Karen Hawkins fan, you won't be disappointed. If you're not, start with this book and you'll become one.

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?