Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Poppy Wife by [Scott, Caroline]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Poppy Wife Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 ratings

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 512 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $10.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

"Masterfully-wrought, with patiently crafted characters, this World War I narrative enthralls from start to finish...Sheer brilliance."

--"Teresa Messineo, author of The Fire by Night"

Product Description

**A BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK**
Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and 1917

If someone you loved went missing, would you ever stop searching for them?


‘This excellent debut is a melancholic reminder of the rippling after-effects of war’ The Times
'[An] impressive debut… a touching novel of love and loss' Sunday Times

1921. The Great War is over and while many survivors have been reunited with their loved ones, Edie’s husband Francis has not come home. He has been declared ‘missing, believed killed’, but when Edie receives a mysterious photograph in the post, taken by Francis, hope flares. And so she begins to search.

Francis’s brother, Harry, is also searching. Hired by grieving families to photograph gravesites, he has returned to the Western Front. He too longs for Francis to be alive, so they can forgive each other for the last conversation they ever had. 

And as Harry and Edie’s paths converge, they begin to get closer to a startling truth.

An incredibly moving account of an often-forgotten moment in history, The Photographer of the Lost is an epic novel of forbidden love, loss and the shattered hearts left behind in the wake of the First World War.

Caroline Scott is a freelance writer and historian specializing in WWI and women’s history. The Photographer of the Lost is partially inspired by her family history.

Praise for The Photographer of the Lost:
'There's only one word for this novel… and that's epic… A beautifully written must-read' heat
'A gripping, devastating novel about the lost and the ones they left behind' Sarra Manning, RED
‘The pain of not knowing where a son, brother or husband lies, and the guilt and psychological dissonance that torment survivors, are movingly conveyed in this terrific first novel’ Daily Mail
‘Scott has done an amazing job of drawing on real stories to craft a powerful novel’ Good Housekeeping
‘A deeply poignant and immersive novel . . .  told in beautiful, elevated prose. I was completely caught up in these characters’ stories’ Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child
'What a wonderful debut novel. So accomplished. It grabs you from page one with such immediacy, such urgency. With a mystery at its heart and a moving, but page turning hook, I couldn’t stop reading' Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village
‘A poignant hymn to those who gave up their lives for their country and to those who were left behind’ Fanny Blake, author of A Summer Reunion
'I was utterly captivated by this novel, which swept me away, broke my heart, then shone wonderful light through all the pieces' Isabelle Broom, author of One Winter Morning
‘Beautiful, unflinching: The Photographer of the Lost is going to be on an awful lot of Best Books of the Year lists, mine included… unforgettable’ Iona Grey, author of The Glittering Hour
‘Had me spellbound from the first page to the last’ Hazel Gaynor, author of The Lighthouse Keeper’s Daughter
'An amazing debut. It captivated me from start to finish and I can't recommend it highly enough' NB Magazine

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 4103 KB
  • Print Length: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (31 October 2019)
  • Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07RGLX6CN
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Customer Reviews: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #3,723 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

click to open popover

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
2 customer ratings
5 star
100%
4 star 0% (0%) 0%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

2 customer reviews

7 January 2020
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
9 November 2019
Format: Kindle Edition

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.4 out of 5 stars 16 reviews
kt
5.0 out of 5 stars Freedom won by others for us to enjoy
1 January 2020 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Elaine Schroller
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw grief in the first years after WWI
30 January 2020 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
P.B.Reader
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-Written Post-WWI Historical
6 November 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
9 people found this helpful
Zoe (whatsbetterthanbooks)
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, insightful, and profoundly moving!
8 November 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
6 people found this helpful
kathleen g
5.0 out of 5 stars powerful
5 November 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
3 people found this helpful