You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $5.05
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Political Justice (A Marc Kadella Legal Mystery Book 7) by [Carstens, Dennis]
Kindle App Ad

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Political Justice (A Marc Kadella Legal Mystery Book 7) Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$5.05

Length: 356 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English
  • Similar books to Political Justice (A Marc Kadella Legal Mystery Book 7)

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Product Description

THE MACBETHS TAKE WASHINGTON—and leave a pile of bodies in their wake.

In searing political commentary laced with a gripping murder mystery that hits disturbingly close to home, Dennis Carstens tackles financial misconduct, scandalous cover-up, treason, and murder in the 7th installment of the Marc Kadella legal thriller series—a scathing imagining of an American White House nobody’s ever seen before, and yet one that is all too familiar…

"A shot in the dark, right in the gut, that’s what Carstens is good at … Carstens aims to be realistic about the law and its enforcers, and he hits it right ... The plot is as full of surprises as a Minneapolis Jucy Lucy and ultimately just as satisfying." -Tony Dunbar, Anthony- and Edgar-nominated author of the Tubby Dubonnet legal thriller series.

It’s four days after the latest presidential election, and Marc Kadella has the post-election blues. Sure, his guy didn’t win, but there’s more to it than that: the defeated incumbent was a decent man. Too bad you can’t say the same for his Machiavellian opponent—or his photogenic partner-in-crime.

Thomas Jefferson Carver is charming and energetic, with a former beauty queen for a wife—and a name for the job to boot. Together they’re the package deal: young, modern, forward-thinking, and successful. That Mr. Carver was often accused of womanizing and that the couple used political clout to line their own pockets didn’t seem to matter to the American electorate.

But Marc Kadella’s got a more specific axe to grind. Back when Carver was governor, a fundraising stop in Minneapolis resulted in the accidental overdose—and death—of a 19-year-old girl. A Carver campaign aide’s in prison on a plea deal for manslaughter—against his lawyer Marc Kadella’s express recommendation. But when the campaign worker turns up hanged in his Colorado cell just days after the election, Kadella senses his mistrust of the Carvers is just the tip of the iceberg.

Tyranny, cover-up, and all-out Shakespearian bloodbath haunt these pages, making House of Cards look like a Barbara Walters special. Author Dennis Carstens hits political corruption and smarmy-politician caricature right on the head, in a compelling sociological hypothetical melded with a captivating murder mystery that explores just how far American politicians will go for money—and power.

House of Cards meets the Land of Trump” –Amazon 5-star reviewer

Fans of Nelson Demille, John Grisham, Richard North Patterson, and of course the most beloved lawyer sleuth of all time, Erle Stanley Gardner’s Perry Mason, will gobble up this one up. As will devotees of political thrillers like novels by Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, David Baldacci—and HOUSE OF CARDS fans in particular.



About the Author

Dennis Carstens was born Worthington, MN a small town in the Southwestern corner of the state near South Dakota. He has lived most of his life in the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul. As such he is a member of the long-suffering fraternity of Vikings, Twins, Wild and Timberwolf fans. He received a BA from the University of Minnesota and his J.D. from a highly respected private law school, William Mitchell, in St. Paul. He is also a veteran of the USAF having served during the Vietnam war but was among those fortunate not to have been sent to Vietnam itself. I try to create a story that is entertaining, interesting and most importantly, thought provoking. I want to create something that gives the reader a legal, moral or ethical dilemma to think about. In doing so, as in real life, I may not have every little detail wrapped in a nice, neat bow at the end. However, I do believe the reading experience is well worth the ride. I, myself, am a big fan of the mystery/legal courtroom drama genre. I have read almost all of the "big name" authors and most of them, not all, leave me wondering if they have ever been in a courtroom. Ever actually represented a live human client and most importantly, ever tried to make a living as a lawyer. I was a practicing defense lawyer for almost twenty years and as such, I have a lot of experience to share in my books. The main stories are fictional but a lot of the anecdotal cases Marc Kadella handles are real life cases and added for comic relief. I have received numerous reviews in which the reviewer praises my work for educating them on the reality of trials and what goes on in and behind the scenes of trial work. The reviews for my books score in the very good to excellent range. If you like the genre you should like mine and the more realistic approach I bring to my stories.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2552 KB
  • Print Length: 356 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1548270245
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B073Q7NG69
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #85,622 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

5 customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

TOP 1000 REVIEWER
14 June 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
13 October 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
21 May 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
12 August 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
25 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?